Chevron Left
Back to Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
1,207 ratings
234 reviews

About the Course

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required....

Top reviews

PD

Nov 27, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD

Dec 05, 2016

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 228 Reviews for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

By Assel N

Sep 10, 2016

This course gave me a lot of important information about the birth and rise of the Graphic Design as a stand alone profession. It was a great opportunity to fulfil my knowledge.

By Rinson J

Aug 19, 2016

its really an awesome course for all.

By Peter S

Aug 07, 2016

Love the class a lot of great information and history.

By Kyle L

Aug 10, 2016

Really great and thorough content. A wonderful introduction to the dense and exciting history of design.

By Julia P G

Jul 23, 2018

very clear and concise videos+explanations. It gave me a good (but brief and that's ok) overview graphic design history. I feel like I learned a lot of things

By Madinova Y

Jul 29, 2018

Very interesting course

By Tudor C G

Apr 17, 2019

Useful information and a guide to further reading

By Guthrie A

May 13, 2019

Great course!

By Eularia S

May 21, 2019

Amazing course.

By Tatiana M

Jun 16, 2019

A very informative course with plenty of great examples.

By Oleksandra S

Jun 21, 2019

Very good course!

By Doaa M M

Aug 03, 2019

جيد جدا

By Iskra D

May 21, 2019

The course gives good basics on the design development throughout the years.

By Maya R

May 20, 2019

Very nice overview over the history of graphic design!

By Konstantinos A

Aug 08, 2019

one of the most interesting courses I have ever took part!!

By Austin B

Aug 24, 2019

Broadened my vision of GD

By Justyna B

Sep 05, 2019

Very interesting and informative course!

By Anna S

Sep 08, 2019

Amazing course, which helped me to understand the philosophy of graphic design and be open minded.

By Christopher J

May 27, 2019

the whole course is great. i learned i didn't know much about graphic design. and i know now i need to continue to practice.

By Aleksandar J

Jun 10, 2019

Completely satisfied with this course. I learned a lot about history of graphic design and its influence in modern graphic design. Would recommend this course to anybody!

By Hay C Y

Sep 19, 2019

I think learning from the history is really important for graphic designers, as inspirations or reference! This course does a great job covering different styles and schools of graphic design!

By Salem F A

Sep 22, 2019

this is the pest part of Graphic design previous courses, I love it because i see much more about designing in diffrent eras, really this is helpful course for everyone.

By Salem F A

Sep 28, 2019

I get a lot of information from this part of graphic design specialization courses, very highly recommended .

By Vikram

Oct 01, 2019

REALLY HELPFUL AND ENLIGHTENING COURSE

By Amy B K

Oct 06, 2019

Insightful overview of history and development of design concepts. A must have foundation course.