Chevron Left
Back to Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities by Lund University

4.7
stars
2,137 ratings
711 reviews

About the Course

How can we shape our urban development towards sustainable and prosperous futures? This course explores sustainable cities as engines for greening the economy in Europe and around the world. We place cities in the context of sustainable urban transformation and climate change. We connect the key trends of urbanization, decarbonisation and sustainability. We examine how visions, experiments and innovations can transform urban areas. And we look at practices (what is happening in cities at present) and opportunities (what are the possibilities for cities going forwards into the future). This course was launched in January 2016, and it was updated in September 2021 with new podcasts, films and publications. The course is produced by Lund University in cooperation with WWF and ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability who work with creating sustainable cities. The course features researchers, practitioners and entrepreneurs from a range organisations....

Top reviews

SV
Sep 28, 2019

This course has been approached not just for academic purpose but also it is a moral oligation to carry forward what has been taught. I thank the authorities and faculties who have made presentations.

MB
Mar 14, 2019

Really interesting course. I recommend it for all people who want to now how are cities need to act for sustainable development of our cities, how to prevent earth from fast increasing c02 footprint.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 704 Reviews for Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

By Basavaraj H

Sep 4, 2018

Contents, Reading materials and videos are very much relevant and useful. Will refer the learning in my regular works. steps and process followed for the course is user friendly.

By Deleted A

Feb 25, 2016

Comprehensive. You get a firm idea about the direction about the upcoming green urban wave. However, could do with more practical specifics rather than just ideas and guidelines.

By Debora S

Oct 13, 2016

It was a good informative course, but at times it gave me the impression that it was more concerned in showcase the research done at Lund than exploring of the subject at hand.

By Andrew R

Feb 18, 2019

Although the case studies and topics were very interesting, some of the short videos briefly describing one thing seemed unnecessary. Course also needs better organization.

By Muhammad S

Jan 29, 2019

A nice and informative course regarding Sustainable Cities. The course is very useful for scholars or students interested about Urban Planning ,Ecology, and Sustainability.

By M.R.DEEPAK

Apr 22, 2020

Most educational & enjoyed through out. Hope these initiatives are adopted in the third world also ,where its most needed. Looking to implement in my day to day routine.

By Luis T

Dec 12, 2018

Muy buen curso, principalmente el hecho de mostrar tantas iniciativas que se estan realizando a nivel mundial me parece muy interesante y sobre todo motivador!

By Paul S

Sep 6, 2016

Lots of great material. Very much enjoyed the course. One challenge, keeping current with all of the new programs and projects around the world. Thanks!

By Chloé C

Apr 30, 2019

Very good course! I have got more information about the current state of environmental development in cities worldwide and the challenges they are facing.

By Tadhg M

Dec 10, 2017

Overall I learnt a lot, however I felt some parts were too abstract or light on specifics and I enjoyed the parts focusing on concrete examples much more.

By Maximiliano M

May 3, 2020

It was a very helpful course in order to approach the state of the art in economical and urban development with an ecological and community perspective!

By Isha S

Sep 4, 2018

Few chapters pretty much had the same content. The content could have been more inclusive of different examples from various cities around the world

By Bijoy J

Oct 12, 2016

Good understanding on energing concepts, experiences from Scandanavian countries and gets me exploring possibilities in our environment/ cities.

By Chaim D M

Aug 29, 2019

Very good course, nice overview of what sustainability in an urban context can mean, and what tools are available to increase sustainability.

By Janina W

Sep 12, 2020

Great course that shows the potential that cities have and that introduces some powerful projects and initatives that are already happening.

By RICARDO A S M

May 20, 2016

It is a good introductory course, but I think it should go deeper each week content. Being slightly more technical. I recommend this course.

By Lexie X L

Apr 14, 2019

The abundance of city initiatives shared in the course are informative and helpful. I would be happy to see more cases analysed in-depth.

By Béatrice N

Dec 20, 2020

Interesting introduction, but rather promotional...it is obvious there are sponsors backing the course so it focuses too much on them.

By Afif A F

May 17, 2020

It would be very good if this course would've registered me for any such initiative or voluntary work which is related to this course.

By Léa N

Oct 15, 2017

I really enjoyed these 5 weeks and learned a great deal about sustainability processes and mechanisms in cities all over the world.

By vivek r a

Sep 4, 2020

i would like to thank coursera for providing the financial aid, through this initative you are helping many needy students.

By Duncan M

Feb 29, 2020

A very worthwhile course to attend. My first course on coursera, I plan to take many more. A great learning initiative.

By Ryan V L

Aug 10, 2019

Very good material that covers a range of topics. A great starting point for anyone keen to learn more on this topic.

By Maria P V P

May 4, 2020

The course gives a wider view of the issue of cities, how they impact in the climate and what can be done about it.