Chevron Left
Back to Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities by Lund University

4.7
stars
2,109 ratings
702 reviews

About the Course

How can we shape our urban development towards sustainable and prosperous futures? This course explores sustainable cities as engines for greening the economy in Europe and around the world. We place cities in the context of sustainable urban transformation and climate change. We connect the key trends of urbanization, decarbonisation and sustainability. We examine how visions, experiments and innovations can transform urban areas. And we look at practices (what is happening in cities at present) and opportunities (what are the possibilities for cities going forwards into the future). This course was launched in January 2016, and it will be updated in September 2021 with new podcasts, films and publications. The course is produced by Lund University in cooperation with WWF and ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability who work with creating sustainable cities. The course features researchers, practitioners and entrepreneurs from a range organisations....

Top reviews

SV
Sep 28, 2019

This course has been approached not just for academic purpose but also it is a moral oligation to carry forward what has been taught. I thank the authorities and faculties who have made presentations.

MB
Mar 14, 2019

Really interesting course. I recommend it for all people who want to now how are cities need to act for sustainable development of our cities, how to prevent earth from fast increasing c02 footprint.

Filter by:

676 - 693 of 693 Reviews for Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

By Aldo M B

Apr 11, 2018

Its an okey course, I think it doesnt go deep enough in topics and its more like a pinch of everything.

By Antonina P

Nov 17, 2019

The videos are a bit chaotic, taken from different sources, within different context.

By Hossein N

Jan 29, 2021

i think that it was more an advertisement rather than teaching and analyzing.

By Luke H

Oct 24, 2017

a good introduction. the compendium was a good document.

By Luca M

Aug 10, 2017

interesting, not all but yes the part about mobility

By Juan R H

Apr 26, 2020

Really good course. A bit general

By Carolina F M

Feb 12, 2017

Interesting but too theoretic.

By Nina L

Apr 22, 2020

Good class! Learned a lot

By Monja E

Jan 30, 2021

A very basic course. I expected more, even if it is Introductory. Furthermore, it focuses too much content on the concepts of the Shared Economy and Smart Cities. Not sufficient focus on tying this in to Sustainability. Where are the concepts of Climate Change planning, green procurement, awareness raising, economic development & improving the quality of life of the poor whilst balancing environmental needs, climate risk management - direct economic & financial sustainability bearing, etc.?

By Sharlene N

Mar 1, 2018

Little new information is presented. As a basic survey course, that would be find except for ---> The quiz questions are irrelevant. Nobody should memorize these useless facts designed to check if the videos were watched or reading completed. e.g. Does it matter what in order bicycle riders cite their reasons for choosing said mode of transport in Copenhagen?

By C G

Mar 18, 2021

La seule activité réellement intéressante est l'exercice sur les solutions vertes dans les villes. On apprend peu de choses, les documents proposés sont des brochures publicitaires de WWF et des programmes européens vulgarisés à travers des notions marketing. Pas de techniques concrètes d'aménagement et de planification. C'est dommage

By Zee K

Nov 9, 2019

Information was very high level, not very detailed. Quizzes were more about just memorizing statements that were opinions or frameworks or statements by specific people, rather than true facts.

By Andrew C

May 14, 2021

Many of the test questions were poorly worded and/or referenced obscure points from the videos. The course material seemed scattered and only superficially curated.

By Maximilian H

Aug 17, 2020

Seems a bit like too much talk about irrelevant things. Let´s not beat around the bush

By daniel z

Jan 31, 2017

broad overview on

By Manchot P

Jun 4, 2016

Hi,

I'm sorry to say that this course wasn't really useful. I had the impression to see dozens of INTRODUCTION videos about sustainables cities. Because:

1. In 5 weeks you have time to cover in details all the aspects of sustainable cities: energy, transport, waste, building, sharing economy. The condition is to focus each week to a topic.

2. It is too much based on powerpoint presentation and not at all on example. Concepts stay concepts: we didn't visit one single town, a connected building, an innovative waste management system. You quote 300 living labs, let's go !

3. Pictures from the powerpoint are at least for half of them taken from pictures bank. Synthetic images, not concrete. Desapointing.

4.. Always the same example: Malmo, Copenhagen... What about the rest of the world ?

5. Videos from WWH and ICLEI are clearly revolting. Is it some publicity for them ??? This is not the place for that.

In contrast, congratulations to Yuliya Voytenko, for her speech about sharing economy: it was clear, precise, focused.

Please do your best to improve your courses: you have the knowledge, let's spread it.

By Steve P

Jan 30, 2017

Mostly fluff with little substance. The videos seemed loosely tied around a common subject, but it might as well have been a YouTube playlist on overall concepts of cities needing to be aware of climate change. The week 4 videos were the same as the week 1 with very vague statements about cities needing to experiment with sustainability to approach the challenges of the 21st century. Only the week 2 video on Copenhagen was actually educational beyond the most superficial concepts.

By Munévar F W N

Aug 18, 2020

The platform and the course may be very bad, but the platform fails a lot, they assign me very distant dates, I pay to study now, immediately, and I have to wait two months, they postpone me two months and the platform does not respond and Neither does the university, they blame each other and nobody answers, very bad investment, lack of seriousness, nobody answers, bad experience,