Chevron Left
Back to Guitar for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Guitar for Beginners by Berklee College of Music

4.8
1,492 ratings
414 reviews

About the Course

Grasp the essentials needed to begin playing acoustic or electric guitar. You'll learn an easy approach to get you playing quickly, through a combination of exploring the instrument, performance technique, and basic music theory. For students who have long thought about picking up the acoustic or electric guitar, this course will provide an easy-access foundation that will get you playing. When first learning guitar, it is important to have the material presented in stages, in an enjoyable way that allows you to grasp the basics of the instrument and music. The course begins simply with the parts of the guitar, the names of the strings, tuning, and technique—whether finger-style or pick. It then explores the basics of music theory with such topics as scales, triads, power chords, and fingering and shapes. At the end of this course, students will understand the structure, parts, and accessories of the instrument, in addition to an understanding of its basic maintenance. Electric guitar players will learn the operation of their instrument along with basic options for amplification, effect pedals, and sounds. Students will also learn to develop correct technique and apply theory concepts to their playing. They will have the foundational knowledge necessary to pursue most intermediate guitar courses....

Top reviews

RR

Oct 12, 2015

Dear Friends,\n\nI really enjoyed this course, specially the way "Thaddeus Hogarth" teach the course, It is unbelievably strong and master piece.\n\nThanks a lot "Thaddeus Hogarth"\n\nGod bless you

MG

Aug 09, 2017

Amazing course for a beginner and someone who want to pick it up after a long break. I would suggest this for people who has sufficient experience with the instrument. The tutor is really amazing.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 409 Reviews for Guitar for Beginners

By Bob L

Jul 29, 2016

Wonderful class.

By cristian.menajovsky@gmail.com

Nov 11, 2015

Excelent pace, depth and... rithm! :-)

By Michał W

Oct 14, 2015

Great course!

By Luca S

Sep 13, 2015

Excellent course for beginners with ambitions.

By Tsena S K

Sep 21, 2015

It is incredibly interesting! I enjoy it a lot!

By 张惠淳

Sep 30, 2015

love this course give a basic understanding of Guitar

By gideon o

May 03, 2016

As a recent electrical engineer graduate in search of something different from my life's work, picking up the guitar was more than worth while, and this course was more than supplementary to that decision. Thaddeous young was great at introducing me to chords

By Deleted A

Sep 07, 2015

Excelente

By Francisco L G

May 03, 2018

Excellent class.

By Sandeep H

Aug 24, 2015

Excellent precision. Great teacher...! Not the one who rushes through to complete the lessons in a hurry but he really takes it slow and makes it very understanding for slow learners and beginners.

I love coursera...! Great innovation. Awesome work! Keep it up guys..!

Also Berklee college of music, thank you for making thousands of distressed and unlucky students(for various reasons) be a part of your great culture of music and valuable teaching.

Hats off!!!

By edirico45@gmail.com

Sep 21, 2015

muy completo

By Yong L

Sep 01, 2015

sample to learn,very good!

By Mervyn F

Nov 19, 2015

Great course for those whose to start learning guitar. Its all the basics you need (Chords, Scales etc.)

By Emilio T

Apr 30, 2016

I love this course

By Greta F

Mar 15, 2017

I really enjoyed this course! Nice structure and excellent lessons by Professor Hogarth.

By WILLMAN S F G

Nov 10, 2015

Excellent aproach to the Guitar!!!

By Soham S

Nov 14, 2015

epic course

By Bankole-Ojo,Tolulope

Nov 16, 2015

great course,very enlightening and educational and fun as well

By José R d O S F

Jan 31, 2017

Very good course!

By Omkar L

Dec 28, 2015

One of the best courses by Berklee College of Music

By Humberto V

Jan 11, 2016

Excelente curso, aprendi muchas cosas que desconocia, muy recomendable y sobre todo porque es necesario realizar los ejercicios

By George G

Feb 19, 2016

I found this course very Informative and it took me from knowing nothing to having a knowledge that can be built on. T Hogarth presented the course in a way even I could understand .

All in all a course well worth taking

By Ajay C

Nov 21, 2017

A good way to learn the basics of guitar

By Camilo C M

Oct 27, 2015

Great teacher, excellent videos and great topics.

By 黄鑫润

Oct 11, 2015

i love this course