Chevron Left
Back to Guitar for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Guitar for Beginners by Berklee College of Music

4.8
stars
2,014 ratings
576 reviews

About the Course

Grasp the essentials needed to begin playing acoustic or electric guitar. You'll learn an easy approach to get you playing quickly, through a combination of exploring the instrument, performance technique, and basic music theory. For students who have long thought about picking up the acoustic or electric guitar, this course will provide an easy-access foundation that will get you playing. When first learning guitar, it is important to have the material presented in stages, in an enjoyable way that allows you to grasp the basics of the instrument and music. The course begins simply with the parts of the guitar, the names of the strings, tuning, and technique—whether finger-style or pick. It then explores the basics of music theory with such topics as scales, triads, power chords, and fingering and shapes. At the end of this course, students will understand the structure, parts, and accessories of the instrument, in addition to an understanding of its basic maintenance. Electric guitar players will learn the operation of their instrument along with basic options for amplification, effect pedals, and sounds. Students will also learn to develop correct technique and apply theory concepts to their playing. They will have the foundational knowledge necessary to pursue most intermediate guitar courses....

Top reviews

SM
Sep 11, 2020

If you want to learn guitar no matter which guitar you want to learn acoustic or electric if you are a beginner then quickly join this course it will really help you to upgrade your skills in guitar.

MH
Apr 4, 2020

This course was a brilliant experience. My special thanks to Thadeus Hoggart for his patient and well organized course. Highly recommended for all those who are planning to start playing the Guitar.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 572 Reviews for Guitar for Beginners

By Cory H

Aug 20, 2015

Good introduction to basic guitar and musical concepts such as chord diagrams, tabs, musical notation. Good video lectures and challenging (for beginners) exercises after each lesson. Recording device of some type is required, even if as simple as a computer microphone and audacity.

By Adriana J G G

Mar 11, 2020

It´s a good course, of course we need more material and more practice to learn deeper. But I think it´s a good start to know the instrument. One thing to analyse is, this is a process and the patient is a great ingredient. We don´t learn in a few hours.

By George I

Apr 23, 2016

I have been playing for many years but there is always things to learn or re-learn. I did both during this excellent course. Hogarth goes at a moderate speed. Especially helpful was the fact Mr. Hogarth speaks slowly and clearly. How nice!

By Anup

Jan 29, 2016

good course and deadlines to keep us in track,

but barre chords must be given more time to learn,

and the course materials many are in just videos , please try to formulate all all the tab notations in pdfs as few were just in videos

By Darrin S

Jan 12, 2020

Grate beginner course. Gives you an understanding of basic music theory to help understand how to solo over scales as well as basic strumming and picking. Better than any YouTube video I have tried.

By Ubirajara d O C J

Dec 8, 2015

Very good! This course give you a solid introduction to the world of guitar. Easy to follow, clear explanations and examples. I strongly recommend it (and look forward hearing from the next one!)

By Anand H

Nov 16, 2017

This is a very simple to understand course and Thaddeus H instruction style is easy to follow and practice. I really enjoyed learning a lot of new things about the Guitar in this course.

By Carlos E M C

Nov 11, 2015

UN curso con la calidad y calidez humana magnifico, con calidad y profesionalismo excelente, gracias.

Con un poco más de esfuerzo hablado en español estaría completo, felicitaciones.

By Tim M

Dec 6, 2015

This is a good beginner's course, with clear instructions guiding the student along a progressive path. I'm not convinced that the peer review system is of much use at this level.

By Sagar R

May 23, 2020

Really a good course for beginners. Helps you swim in the vastness of music and guides you gently towards the deep end. I'll advise every aspiring guitarist to do this course.

By Marília Z

Dec 25, 2015

The course is very good! Amazing how the elements are covered and explained. The only thing I missed was more exercises, more scales to practice.

By Donna N

Sep 18, 2015

Thadeus is very patient sounding and doesn't rush and explains things completely. Practicing really helps you keep up with the class.

By Nicolas C

Dec 27, 2015

I really enjoyed the course. I felt some quizzes were too hard for the material previously covered and required several attempts.

By David S P

Jan 13, 2020

Happy with the experience, the teacher and the course. I found several lessons a bit difficult for my guitar level though.

By Kale M G

May 7, 2020

I had fun and learned a lot of things during this course and will wish to continue further. Thank you!

By LeeAnn P

Oct 4, 2016

Had a great time participating in the class. I am happy I was able to upload samples and get feedback.

By Nicolás S

Mar 28, 2016

Buen curso, el compadre medio desanimado no mas, pero aprendí algunas cosas interesantes. Recomendable

By 罗昱

Dec 20, 2015

It is good to get started through this course. But the material could have been more clear.

By Cyril R

Jan 7, 2016

Un cours très simple, sobre et efficace pour s'initier à la musique et à la guitare.

By vaishnavi c

Dec 20, 2015

this is the best class to lear guitar i have got lear guitar rally nicely thanx

By Marko I

Dec 1, 2016

Good course, but a bit too fast. Deadlines are too soon for the real begginers

By Aditya G

Jun 21, 2020

Good Course for beginners. The content is a bit too much for a beginner.

By Pulkit P

Jun 12, 2020

Great course to learn the basics of guitar and incur music sense.

By Asefeoluwa A

Apr 26, 2017

it is amazing for learning the very fundamentals of the guitar.

By Fausto M A F

Mar 21, 2016

This course is great, I learned a player, I never had played.