Chevron Left
Back to Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Hadoop Platform and Application Framework by University of California San Diego

4.0
stars
3,202 ratings
750 reviews

About the Course

This course is for novice programmers or business people who would like to understand the core tools used to wrangle and analyze big data. With no prior experience, you will have the opportunity to walk through hands-on examples with Hadoop and Spark frameworks, two of the most common in the industry. You will be comfortable explaining the specific components and basic processes of the Hadoop architecture, software stack, and execution environment. In the assignments you will be guided in how data scientists apply the important concepts and techniques such as Map-Reduce that are used to solve fundamental problems in big data. You'll feel empowered to have conversations about big data and the data analysis process....

Top reviews

GM
Jan 31, 2016

I'm forced to give 5 stars. I don't want to have a certification on a poor quality course (another coursera mistake). This material needs tremendous amount of work to get finished and revised.

NP
May 15, 2020

Learned about Hadoop Ecosystem, limitations of map-reduce approach and Spark as a solution to overcome some of limitations.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to participate in this MOOC.

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 732 Reviews for Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

By Mikael J

Dec 30, 2015

Bad sound quality. Uneven volume settings. Some teachers have a pronunciation that is hard to understand.

By Matt T

Jan 30, 2016

Pretty simplistic treatment, practical excersises not very practical or challenging. Glad I didn't pay.

By Marcelo T

Jan 11, 2016

The exercises/assignments were much more complex or confusing comparing with the presentations/classes.

By Vaishnavi P

May 24, 2019

Lot can be improved in teaching the course in an effective way. This is from the week 1 course

By Özgün O

Feb 19, 2017

The worst class I've taken from Coursera yet. Still it must be a lot of effort. So thank you.

By Dario R

Dec 6, 2015

Bad explanations (a lot of repetitions), poor slide quality in general, quizes often useless.

By Mao D

Dec 4, 2015

poorly organized and poorly presented, terms are constantly thrown out without explanations.

By Hanqiao L

Feb 28, 2016

I would rather go through PPT than watching video clips. It makes me sleepy.

By Chen S

Nov 28, 2015

The explanations aren't clear enough, and the quizzes questions isn't clear

By Tarun C

Jan 9, 2018

This course was below my expectation. I gained pretty basic knowledge.

By Vinicius C d D

Dec 6, 2015

Just an overview course, not going deep in development issues.

By Delong Z

Sep 21, 2017

Not enough support from the community. Forum is not managed.

By Anne-Sophie L

Dec 23, 2015

Explanations are not always very clear and understandable

By Digvijay S

Dec 20, 2015

I can also read from slides.

2* -- Because free content.

By Brian Y

Aug 30, 2016

Too much technical jargon even in the first lesson!!!!

By Piotr M

Jan 31, 2016

Confusing assignments, low quality teaching materials

By Dmitry G

Jan 4, 2016

The course was not well-prepared, it was superficial.

By Dina B

Jun 4, 2016

Badly teached course, very monotonic and superficial

By ammar n

Dec 24, 2015

Material quality was not good . It was too basic .

By Stephen G

Dec 6, 2015

Superficial coverage of the topics. poor delivery

By Melanie D

Dec 23, 2015

Instuctions for assignments are not very clear

By Arturo M N

Apr 20, 2016

step learning curve, lectures too long

By Aninda C

Dec 9, 2017

Lecture quality needs to be improved

By CHENGXIN S

Sep 3, 2017

2 Star for good VM, good assignment.

By Viacheslav K

Jan 10, 2016

Part about Spark isn't good