Chevron Left
Back to Chinese Characters for beginner 汉字

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese Characters for beginner 汉字 by Peking University

4.7
stars
522 ratings
162 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to "Chinese Characters for beginner"! This is an elementary course on learning Chinese characters. Together, we will start from the basic element of Chinese characters-- Strokes. Then we will learn 1,200 basic Chinese words composed of 240 commonly used Chinese characters, which begin with “一”(one), including pronunciation, shape and meaning, so that to improve the learning effect. ① Each Chinese character is with pinyin; ② Each Chinese character is shown in the form of animation in the process of writing, namely strokes; ③ English translation is used on the Chinese character can be a word itself. Other Chinese characters can not be independent of words are the characters of. The English translation of this kind of characters is marked in parentheses; ④ Each Chinese word is accompanied by Pinyin, English translation and picture, which is easy to understand; ⑤ There are proper exercises at the end of each lesson. Good luck !...
Filter by:

126 - 150 of 162 Reviews for Chinese Characters for beginner 汉字

By natchaya y

May 9, 2020

-

By Alice M L

Jun 18, 2020

I self-learned Chinese by watching a lot of shows and listening to music. So, I am pretty fluent in listening and can speak a little. But I could not read or write, so this was the perfect course for me. I enjoyed the material and the pace it was going. I've noticed that I'm beginning to recognize more Chinese characters as I sometimes need to research Chinese companies for work, and I can read them when I am watching tv shows. The only thing I wish it taught was the different sounds because it does get confusing when the words are the same characters but different sounds.

By Tigest A

Jul 25, 2020

Overall, this course is VERY rigorous and comprehensive! You learn SO MANY words/characters! Not 5 stars because some of the videos drag on a little too long, this class is a little on the difficult side, and sometimes there are questions on a quiz for content that has not been taught yet. I would definitely recommend this course if you are a hard worker, have the time, and have the interest in learning the Chinese language. Also, make sure you take paper notes in order to keep track of all of the characters :)

By jamie h

Sep 14, 2020

Great for vocabulary building. Sometimes new vocabulary was included in the test questions, and translation wasn't given. If the test review showed pinyin and English translation of the questions I would have given 5 stars. Overall very good for elementary level learners of Chinese, thank you.

By Sheue L Y

Dec 18, 2020

Very informative especially explanation on the ancient Chinese form, however not all are easily relatable. Certain individual character means the same as after being added to the second character eg mei (beautiful) and mei li (beautiful) - non-chinese may be puzzled by this.

By Anna G L

Feb 18, 2017

La cantidad de caracteres que se deben aprender semanalmente es demasiado grande. Está muy bien explicado todo, pero en el caso de los tests, sería positivo poder contar con la traducción de las frases al inglés, para poder comprobar que hemos entendido bien su significado.

By Marios M

Mar 19, 2017

Great step-by-step introduction to Chinese Characters! Filled with historical background to help understand the underlying meaning of the characters and not just the image.

It would be nice to have a complete vocabulary for the whole class that we can download and use!

By Juergen S

May 17, 2017

It is a good starting course if you already understand some basic Chinese and its structure, however it is still difficult to remember and recognize characters, revise, practice and more practice then it all becomes clearer

By Phạm L

Jun 19, 2017

great course for beginner.

i'm from VietNam , too be interested in this course

it's too useful for me to repair step by step learn China like native language.

thank you very much who conduct this course

By Wanvipa P

Jan 8, 2017

This course is good for someone who has the basic knowledge about Chinese language and wants to study more. It should be better when there are the sentences examples of using each word.

By Pedro H d J B G

Oct 23, 2020

Very cool course. At my university, we didn't have such introctory notes on the names of the strokes, so it was quite helpful for the understanding of some advanced characters.

By Lucía P

Mar 16, 2019

It's a great course. You will have to do a big efford to understand all but finally you will learn a lot, and you will see Chinese characters in other perspective.

By Kate S

Aug 9, 2019

Extremely useful especially in conjunction with "Chinese for Beginners" and "More Chinese for Beginners". There were just a few errors in videos and in the tests.

By Kavita T

Jan 16, 2020

It is a very good course but sometimes the sound in the video is very low and it is difficult to hear things and Chinese is all about listening to the tones

By Shaunda

Oct 8, 2018

This course video is slower but longer then the other courses. But I like that the book came with the course. Now I have a reference to keep with me.

By Andreo V R d S

Dec 28, 2016

It was easy to learn several chinese characters. But some grammar was demanded in the exercises, although it was not taught during the course.

By luisray

Jul 19, 2019

esta bien diseñado el curso, con tiempo, pero el idioma chino es complicado en aprender, me costo mucho llegar hasta acá, gracias

By Luis M

Apr 17, 2020

Very interesting. It's also quite helpful in making you learn characters. You need some previous knowledge of Chinese, though.

By Lee F K

Oct 16, 2020

Overall is good but the pictures were not drawn properly, can be confusing.

By Berry

Nov 6, 2020

I THINK IT HELPS PRETTY MUCH! ^ __ ^

it is fun but could be a little better

By Virginia W

May 17, 2019

Challenging for a first timer, but well set out and good pace.

By K S S d S

Jul 17, 2019

very intersting and fun introduction to chinese characters ..

By Polpipat P

May 14, 2020

Some videos sound quality isn't good.

By Herschel

Oct 7, 2019

很有用,我很喜欢!谢谢您们!我很爱这个course.