Chevron Left
Back to A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment by Indian School of Business

4.8
stars
5,601 ratings

About the Course

What are the determinants of a happy and fulfilling life? This is surely one of life’s biggest questions, and a question that has interested many of our ancestors. Buddha famously gave up his kingdom in search of happiness. Several Greek philosophers (from Aristotle to Epicurus and Plato to Socrates) had their own views on what it takes to be happy. And of course, we all have our own theories about happiness too. How valid are our theories? Until recently, if you wished for an answer to this question, you would've been forced to base it on discussions with spiritual leaders. Or, if you were lucky, you could've based it on late-night (and perhaps intoxicant-fueled) conversations with friends and family. Happily, all that has changed now. Over the past decade-and-a-half, scientists have gotten into the act big time. We now have a pretty good idea of what it takes to lead a happy and fulfilling life. This course, based on the award-winning class offered both at the Indian School of Business and at the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin, developed by Prof. Raj Raghunathan (aka "Dr. Happy-smarts") draws content from a variety of fields, including psychology, neuroscience, and behavioral decision theory to offer a tested and practical recipe for leading a life of happiness and fulfillment. Although not mandatory, reading Prof. Raj's forthcoming book, titled If you're so smart, why aren't you happy? can help you review and assimilate the material covered in this book at your leisure. For Coursera learners alone, the hardcover version of the book is available for a deep discount of 50%, plus shipping and handling. You can order the hardcover for 50% off by writing to Aaron at: Aaron@800ceoread.com. Please mention that you are a student of the "coursera happiness course" in your email. The course will feature guest appearances by several well-known thought leaders, including: - Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational and, soon to be released, Irrationally Yours), - Ed Diener (“Dr. Happiness”), - Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (author of Flow), By taking this course, you will discover the answers to questions such as: - Why aren’t the smart-and-the-successful as happy as they could—or should—be - What are the “7 Deadly Happiness Sins” that even the smart and the successful commit?, and - What are the “7 Habits of the Highly Happy” and how can you implement them in your life? By the end of the course, I expect students who have been diligent with the lectures and exercises to not just gain a deeper understanding of the science of happiness, but to also be significantly happier....

Top reviews

CR

Apr 23, 2018

Excellent course, Professor Raj is great. I found it very helpful to see what types of personality traits I have that may contribute to my happiness level and possible approaches to dealing with them.

AG

May 23, 2021

This course is a joy! I cannot recommend it highly enough. Practical advice based on long-term research, interviews with worldwide experts on the topics discussed, and a fabulous professor. So great!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,991 Reviews for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

By Lisa A

Nov 13, 2020

I really liked this course and it really helped me achieve more happiness in my life. The instructor is likable and smart. The only thing I didn't like was the use of old animal experiments in some of the videos. I don't like seeing things like that and I don't think it was necessary for the course. It's time to end animal research.

By EMMANUEL S H

Jun 11, 2016

I am still a student under this course but i am all starting to get happy and happy about myself and my life day by day, this course is the best and i recommend it to everyone who want to lead a happy and lovely life , we all have problems in our life ,buts its always good to be happy from small things that gives us happiness everyday.

By Nguyen T T

Sep 20, 2020

This course was change my life. Before i join this course, i am not really happy, i alway disapointed with anything i can't control, but now i think it's so ok. Thank you very much Dr.Rajagopal Raghunathan for knowledge about happy you teach, it's so wonderful. I'm highly recommend you should join this course for your happy and joyful.

By Jeff S

Oct 23, 2015

A beautiful combining of statistical data from psychological studies, simple examples to try in our own lives and a hammering home of the idea that "Happiness" is a concrete and desirable state of mind that people may want to prioritze and work at to achieve that elusive something that life hasn't "accidentally" had them stumble into.

By Daniele M

Aug 28, 2017

Simply brilliant, an eye-opener on many levels, which will surely leave you with quite some takeaways that you will carry forward with you.

The professor has a perfect balance between a humorous, almost silly style, which he can amazingly pull off, and the scientific rigour that is required to be credible.

Clearly thumbs up for ALOHAF!

By Elza d

Sep 14, 2016

I am extremely happy to have participated in this course. Kudos to Prof. Raj and ISB Team for addressing a fundamental human concern. I am sure that this course will continue to help lots of people clear up misconceptions on Happiness and live a Life of Fulfillment. It certainly helped me a lot. Thank you Prof. Raj, ISB and Coursera

By Jennifer H

May 17, 2017

amazing course! I learned so much that I've been practicing not just in my personal life, but also with my clients. As a therapist, I've been challenging my clients to identify what makes them happy and what is keeping them from giving themselves permission to be happy. Course was great, very well planned, assignments gave me a s

By AKHIL S

May 31, 2020

Awesome course , This course explains scientific findings of happiness and by providing engaging assignments where we can experience happiness. This course also deals with sins of happiness and to counter those sins habits are described as well . I thank prof Raj for this fantastic course . Reaaly loved it ..... :) :) :) :) :) :)

By Deniss S

Jan 11, 2021

Aloha! This is an amazing course, which really can help to become happier by understanding what happy people do and what others do what bring their happiness down. The course is based on great research in happiness area. I would definitely recommend this course to everyone, who wants to to understand what leads to a happy life.

By Praveen K

May 11, 2020

Superb Course Material and Excellent teaching by Prof. Raj

I am very thankful to Prof. Raj for making course so interesting as a person I understand and like to study through attending physical class but this is wonderful preparation where enjoyed Online.

Thanks to whole Coursera and ISB Team

My Warm gratitude to Guru Prof. Raj.

By LMartin

Jan 25, 2016

Fresh, insightful, entertaining ... and profound. This is like a vacation for the psyche, a chance to hear about spirituality and self compassion and gratitude and joy without feeling like you're engaged in "heavy philosophy" or religious zealotry. The messages are on-point, Professor Raj's delivery is perfect and engaging.

By Ed K

Sep 8, 2015

This is truly one of the best courses I've ever taken: smart and intelligent in how "Dr. Raj" reviews the material and yet very fun. The course makes me want to go from week to week and makes me want to apply the lessens and make them my own. Strongly suggest this for anyone who needs some concrete ways to stay and be happy.

By Shravani G

Aug 23, 2020

Firstly,I thank coursera for providing such a wonderful platform for learning and Secondly, I thank Prof. Raj for such an interesting course which the world was in need of,this course provides an insightful picture to our life and it was truly enlightening one and finally I thank the whole team who worked behind the scene.

By Eva K

Oct 28, 2016

This course was very useful for me. At first in every week we learned the theory but not too much, then we received very useful, practicak exercises. I learned many things about myself, i use many pratices in my life reguraly since i finished this course. Based on the recommended authors, readings i can continue "the work"

By Stella K

Oct 17, 2020

Excellent, interesting and really helpful course (especially for these times we are going through)

i really enjoyed to be part of this great teem, i found the videos, readings and exercises really interesting and i had a really great time participating. I already recommend this course to many friends!

Happy learning!

Stella

By Abhimanyu D

Mar 16, 2018

Awesome course, the instructor taught everything that he knew with a lot of joy and commitment. He made it interesting by giving assignments, getting in guest lecturers, and providing insights to a lot o studies conducted. Overall a great course, i would recommend my friends to do this course and know that being happy is.

By dewanshi m

Jul 13, 2020

to be honest when i first started the course i didn't think i will enjoy this course so much.. i really want to watch all the videos again to brush up my memory and I can proudly say that i have a different perspective now towards life and i love it. Professor Raj was amazing and made this course more interesting and fun

By A

May 24, 2016

The course is very effective, helpful and motivating! It teaches to look at things from different perspective and makes you to be more optimistic and mindful. A Great Big Thank-You to everyone involved into making this course and, especially, to its organizators. Recomended to all, even those who are already happy! )))

By Santiago C

Jul 1, 2016

This is an excellent course that teaches you all those things that you do not learn at school. Even if you are an academic interested in studying these kind of stuff or if you are just a person who wants to know how to have a life of happiness and fulfillment , this course will increase your levels of conciousness.

By Roman C

Feb 25, 2016

Even though I disagree with some of the ideas (for example, I don`t think that dietary instructions belong to this course, since every case is different and some of the suggestions can be harmful), this is the course that should be revisited regularly to remind yourself of many useful things described in lectures.

By Deepak

Jun 23, 2022

Thank you professor Raj and Team for making this course avaialbe for us. i must say it's one of its kind and going to help me a lot both at personal and professional levels. Though i had known some of the things, it was great to know a few more in details and with supported studies and global touch. Best of luck!

By Dinara S

Sep 19, 2020

This is a great course! It will be useful to everyone! Thank you to everyone who participated in the creation of this course! Special thanks to Professor Raj for the knowledge, the opportunity to see different points of view and research from all over the world, positive, useful resources and books! Be happy!))

By MIGUEL Á R M

Jun 19, 2017

I never thought that this course could be so interesting and enjoyable, I really found it excellent. My congratulations to Professor Raj, because, from my point of view, he knows how to reach the students and make them interested in the subject. My congratulations to you teacher and to the entire Coursera team.

By Julian B

Jan 30, 2017

An exceptional course that is appropriate for anyone that wishes to be happier (or, I guess, anyone who is interested in the academic work on happiness).

It's not an easy course to complete. Intellectually, it's not too difficult but it will take longer than 2-3 hours per week to complete.

Strongly recommended

By Chitra R

Dec 16, 2020

An awesome course by Prof Rajagopal raghunathan and team. It was really a million dollar worth course to be shared to most of the people. Thanks a lot to Coursera and happy smart team of the UT Austin and ISB Hyderabad.Expecting more courses from the same team; The most meaningful activity during the pandemic