Chevron Left
Back to A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment by Indian School of Business

4.8
stars
4,961 ratings
1,795 reviews

About the Course

What are the determinants of a happy and fulfilling life? This is surely one of life’s biggest questions, and a question that has interested many of our ancestors. Buddha famously gave up his kingdom in search of happiness. Several Greek philosophers (from Aristotle to Epicurus and Plato to Socrates) had their own views on what it takes to be happy. And of course, we all have our own theories about happiness too. How valid are our theories? Until recently, if you wished for an answer to this question, you would've been forced to base it on discussions with spiritual leaders. Or, if you were lucky, you could've based it on late-night (and perhaps intoxicant-fueled) conversations with friends and family. Happily, all that has changed now. Over the past decade-and-a-half, scientists have gotten into the act big time. We now have a pretty good idea of what it takes to lead a happy and fulfilling life. This course, based on the award-winning class offered both at the Indian School of Business and at the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin, developed by Prof. Raj Raghunathan (aka "Dr. Happy-smarts") draws content from a variety of fields, including psychology, neuroscience, and behavioral decision theory to offer a tested and practical recipe for leading a life of happiness and fulfillment. Although not mandatory, reading Prof. Raj's forthcoming book, titled If you're so smart, why aren't you happy? can help you review and assimilate the material covered in this book at your leisure. For Coursera learners alone, the hardcover version of the book is available for a deep discount of 50%, plus shipping and handling. You can order the hardcover for 50% off by writing to Aaron at: Aaron@800ceoread.com. Please mention that you are a student of the "coursera happiness course" in your email. The course will feature guest appearances by several well-known thought leaders, including: - Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational and, soon to be released, Irrationally Yours), - Ed Diener (“Dr. Happiness”), - Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (author of Flow), By taking this course, you will discover the answers to questions such as: - Why aren’t the smart-and-the-successful as happy as they could—or should—be - What are the “7 Deadly Happiness Sins” that even the smart and the successful commit?, and - What are the “7 Habits of the Highly Happy” and how can you implement them in your life? By the end of the course, I expect students who have been diligent with the lectures and exercises to not just gain a deeper understanding of the science of happiness, but to also be significantly happier....

Top reviews

CR
Apr 23, 2018

Excellent course, Professor Raj is great. I found it very helpful to see what types of personality traits I have that may contribute to my happiness level and possible approaches to dealing with them.

LS
Jan 23, 2017

This course is a joy! I cannot recommend it highly enough. Practical advice based on long-term research, interviews with worldwide experts on the topics discussed, and a fabulous professor. So great!

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,768 Reviews for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

By Ivan P

May 23, 2020

Great course. It gathers all the scientific research behind the highly interesting but ambigue topic of happiness in one learning material. The exercises help to make you realize and see for yourself the theory explained.

By SaSe

Aug 28, 2020

absolutely worth it! you will get such a boost of happiness, learn a lot about common misconceptions we have about happiness and establish happiness enhancing habits in your daily life! I would do it again! thank you :D

By Karen L B S

Jul 14, 2020

I really enjoyed the course! And ti gave me so much material to apply in my daily life. The ideas and findings shared in this course truly changed my mind about happiness. It made a huge impact on me and my life itself.

By Frank f

Jun 18, 2020

Great great course! It is interesting, dynamic, and extremely useful. Professor Raj really transmits the sensation that he wants you to learn and cares about the students fully understanding the course. You will love it

By T S P

Aug 2, 2017

It was a nice course. Though everything is within us, we forget to bring those things outside. this course makes me to bring my inner happiness outside. Thanks to Prof. Raj.

I shared with my colleagues about this course.

By Sylvia S M

Mar 16, 2016

In just 4 weeks...my own happiness levels have increased. I am enjoying life more. my health is improving. wonderful course. love the exercises and format this course has been presented in. Prof. Raj, awesome person!

By Linda V

Oct 9, 2015

The best synthesis of material on emotional well-being anywhere, and presented in a delightful entertaining manner, Better than years of therapy. I say this as a former clinical social worker with psychologist friends.

By Meruyet A

Jan 25, 2021

WOW, this is an amazing course! Thank you for the professor! It's a dedication to prepare for this course! A million thank you for the education! It's really worth it to take this course and put time into education!!!

By Xiu P L

Apr 18, 2018

Excellent course! Had lots of fun doing it. Dr. Raj is awesome. Gave simple, practical and beneficial advice on habits that are scientifically proven to increase happiness. Great ongoing support beyond the course too!

By Sairam P

Nov 9, 2017

This is an amazing course. Words are not sufficient to describe the joy of taking this course. I am recommending this course to many of my friends and colleagues. Thanks to Prof. Raj and ISB for offering this course.

By Serra

Aug 3, 2017

Very enlightening course. The ideas behind were not very far from my beliefs; however it reinforced my perspectives. It is nice to know that the happiness idea can be converted to a course. Recommended to everyone.

By Sathish J

Jul 16, 2017

I loved this course. The concept of smart trust, controlling behaviour, getting and establishing a flow and finally the information about mindfulness was awesome. It is very motivating to finish the first MooC ever.

By Aleksandra W

Oct 14, 2015

It's an open-minding experience! A lot of studies, researches, examples - a lot of fun too! I recommend it everyone - unhappy and happy and everyone in between as I was happy before the course but now I know WHY. ;p

By Atush B

Jan 12, 2016

One of the best courses I have undertaken till now.

Prof. Raj is very charismatic and the exercises/assignments involve a lot of fun, innovation and creativity and helps to spread happiness in our and other's lives.

By Amin M a K a A M G

Dec 16, 2020

The professor Dr.Ragunathan was instrumental in me learning so much. I really liked his introductory jokes. Of course he covered the topic superbly and I wouldn’t hesitate recommending anyone to take this course.

By rachel d

Aug 22, 2015

Life changing.... Excellent, well thought out, and entertaining. But most of all, this course backs up some intuitive "opinions" with research that makes it a much more persuasive and powerful message.

Thank you!!!

By Percy N

Mar 27, 2020

It’s a very great and joyful learning opportunity. professor Raj full of passion and a lot of interaction with students. A lot of studies and reference for continue reading.

great to have this learning journey !

By Camila G

Oct 1, 2015

Such an entertaining and happy course!!! i am on week 2 but i feel so much better now and i totally like the course and the profesor is awesome... he makes us feel happy because of his happiness!! keep it up! :)

By Ian T

Sep 23, 2015

This has been my favorite Coursera course thus far! Not only is the material interesting, but the presentation is also great. Love the topic! I would definitely agree that this course has changed me as a person.

By Sandra M T G L

Nov 25, 2019

It was very enriching both personally and professionally. The final work requires some of our time, could be rethinking and contain fewer open questions and some closed questions. Thanks. I enjoyed and learned.

By Eliza B

Apr 25, 2018

This course changed my life.

I know the phrase is used more often than it should and it does not have much meaning now but really, for me it was something that literally changed the way I live and view my way.

By Kathryn

Mar 9, 2016

This course was EXCELLENT! Great information and it was presented in a fun, engaging way.

I wish the last week's information and assignments were chunked into two weeks as it was a lot to get done in one week.

By PRASAD B K

Aug 17, 2020

Excellent Course. Well Designed and nicely executed. Enjoyed it very much. I will recommend it to my colleagues and students. Appreciation to the entire team and Prof.Raj for enlightening me about happiness.

By Raúl M G

Jun 17, 2017

Es un curso no solo para tomarlo una vez, vale mucho la pena repasarlo nuevamente, pues se sigue aprendiendo en cada ocasión, nos hace enfocarnos en lo verdaderamente importante y nos enfoca a ser felices!!!

By Angela M

Nov 20, 2020

Aterriza en forma practica el ideal de felicidad un tanto distorsionada que es tan generalizado y nos ayuda a reconocernos responsables de nuestra felicidad desde el agradecimiento y la confianza en el otro