Chevron Left
Back to A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment by Indian School of Business

4.8
stars
5,307 ratings
1,914 reviews

About the Course

What are the determinants of a happy and fulfilling life? This is surely one of life’s biggest questions, and a question that has interested many of our ancestors. Buddha famously gave up his kingdom in search of happiness. Several Greek philosophers (from Aristotle to Epicurus and Plato to Socrates) had their own views on what it takes to be happy. And of course, we all have our own theories about happiness too. How valid are our theories? Until recently, if you wished for an answer to this question, you would've been forced to base it on discussions with spiritual leaders. Or, if you were lucky, you could've based it on late-night (and perhaps intoxicant-fueled) conversations with friends and family. Happily, all that has changed now. Over the past decade-and-a-half, scientists have gotten into the act big time. We now have a pretty good idea of what it takes to lead a happy and fulfilling life. This course, based on the award-winning class offered both at the Indian School of Business and at the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin, developed by Prof. Raj Raghunathan (aka "Dr. Happy-smarts") draws content from a variety of fields, including psychology, neuroscience, and behavioral decision theory to offer a tested and practical recipe for leading a life of happiness and fulfillment. Although not mandatory, reading Prof. Raj's forthcoming book, titled If you're so smart, why aren't you happy? can help you review and assimilate the material covered in this book at your leisure. For Coursera learners alone, the hardcover version of the book is available for a deep discount of 50%, plus shipping and handling. You can order the hardcover for 50% off by writing to Aaron at: Aaron@800ceoread.com. Please mention that you are a student of the "coursera happiness course" in your email. The course will feature guest appearances by several well-known thought leaders, including: - Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational and, soon to be released, Irrationally Yours), - Ed Diener (“Dr. Happiness”), - Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (author of Flow), By taking this course, you will discover the answers to questions such as: - Why aren’t the smart-and-the-successful as happy as they could—or should—be - What are the “7 Deadly Happiness Sins” that even the smart and the successful commit?, and - What are the “7 Habits of the Highly Happy” and how can you implement them in your life? By the end of the course, I expect students who have been diligent with the lectures and exercises to not just gain a deeper understanding of the science of happiness, but to also be significantly happier....

Top reviews

CR
Apr 23, 2018

Excellent course, Professor Raj is great. I found it very helpful to see what types of personality traits I have that may contribute to my happiness level and possible approaches to dealing with them.

AG
May 23, 2021

This course is a joy! I cannot recommend it highly enough. Practical advice based on long-term research, interviews with worldwide experts on the topics discussed, and a fabulous professor. So great!

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 1,898 Reviews for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

By Алёна К

Aug 26, 2020

Мне очень понравился курс. По нему можно сделать целый, как это сейчас модно, "Марафон счастливой жизни". Очень интересно и понятно. Много интересных эспериментов нам показывают. Профессор душка!))

By Juana L M

Apr 28, 2021

It is a nice course but the numbers of assignments to review are too much (5) should be 2 or 3, sometimes you have to wait days for others students assignments or for your assignment to be review.

By 110 J S

Sep 7, 2020

It's amazing!! Professor raj teaches in a so simplest way and he gave lesson with fun & lots of joy.way of teaching with emojis & all are so creative and it attracts the students towards learning.

By Isabelle S

Jul 27, 2019

A lot of teachings on this course have already increased my happiness level on a daily basis. The discussions on trust and on positive negative outcomes has been especially eye-opening: Thank you!

By David Y

Jul 10, 2018

Abundant, holistic, and, above all, enlightening material all packed into a single course. Makes a great impact on life if can follow through, but that's the hard part. Nonetheless a great course.

By Olga N B I

Aug 28, 2016

Es un curso muy divertido, me hizo reflexionar mucho acerca de cuales eran mis objetivos de vida, si en realidad mis preocupaciones cotidianas correspondían a mi ideal de felicidad. muchas gracias

By Benjamin V

Sep 5, 2015

A very professionally made course on positive psychology. It is concise, based on many scientific articles, well organized and explained in an enternaining way. Best I've seen in the field so far.

By Abir M

Jun 17, 2021

This course should be opted by everyone, even if you are not a student and in the working field. This will help you understand happiness with the help of scientific experiments and research data.

By Saurav K D

May 24, 2020

This is an amazing Course and is highly recommended. Prof. Raj has amazing energy while delivering the course and a great sense of connect with his students even while we are learning virtually.

By Yael L B

Oct 22, 2015

Great! Dr Raj is so wonderful! His happiness course is really smart, intelligent, funny, powerful, really well-explained, thanks to him and his team also - you've done a huge job here, really :)

By Magaly l

May 11, 2020

Excellent course, I enjoyed every bit of it. I will be recommending it to everyone.

It has a very professional, objective information that changes lives.

I feel very grateful it was a true gift!

By Tong D

Oct 22, 2020

This course is very helpful. Dr. Raj is very entertaining. The six weeks or so just flew by. Highly recommended for those who want to learn about Happiness and help other people become happy.

By Catherine T

May 14, 2020

It's a wonderful course, in a funny manner serious things, researches, etc. Very important things are necessary for everyday life. Very useful information easy to practice. Higher recommended.

By Gustavo Z

May 17, 2020

Amazing class. Among the best online courses ever taken. Thanks so much for all the hard work. It was the best company to have during the Covid crisis. Much gratitude! Great work Proff Raj!!!

By Olga d V P

Mar 21, 2020

Es un curso maravilloso, no solo por el aprendizaaje sino porque ha superado mis expectativas y será un complemento perfecto en mi propósito personal y profesional!! Gracias gracias gracias!!

By Lionel L

Oct 7, 2015

This course is a whirlwind of joy and good humor. The main recipes for happiness and fulfillment are exposed in a structured manner. The main speakers are not taking themselves too seriously.

By Rajani M

Jul 31, 2020

Great course. Loved the way Prof Raj would greet in different languages in each video. There is a significant change in the approach towards life and happiness after completing the course.

By Manuel

Nov 11, 2017

I knew some of the topics but other were new to me, I found particularly interesting the primer to mindfulness and meditation.

Prof. Raj style is really good and the course is nicely crafted

By Alejandra

Nov 5, 2017

Really great course with solid scientific information but also fun to do to understand more about happiness, about ourselves and to better understand others and things that happen around us

By Sophie A

Feb 7, 2016

A highly scientific and engaging course. I have learned many useful, practical tips and will be referring back to many of the videos at a later date to keep myself on track to happiness :-)

By Susanne L

Dec 23, 2015

i am a much happier person.

This class helped me tremendously

to see the glass half full

(maybe even more than half full)

rather than half empty.

Thank you Dr. Happy Smarts

and the Happiness Team

By Julia a

May 16, 2020

It is an excellent course and professor Raj makes it very simple and clear. It gave me a lot of tools to become a happier person. I enjoyed the course very much and recommend to everyone!

By Lisa Z

Aug 27, 2016

I have enjoyed this class so much - it has given me skills to be a happier person! can a person ask for anything more than that? the professor and course content was awesome! well done!

By Henry T

May 18, 2020

The presentation and course material are the best among all the coursera courses i have taken so far! Raj very passionate in the topic and certainly shared the essence of how to be happy!

By Laurent B

Apr 17, 2020

Absolutely worth it - I am so happy I did it. Valuable informations and a source of inspiration.

"Happiness is a choice. Chose it everyday"

Keep the abundance flowing.

Huge thank you!

Laurent