Chevron Left
Back to A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment by Indian School of Business

4.8
stars
5,047 ratings
1,824 reviews

About the Course

What are the determinants of a happy and fulfilling life? This is surely one of life’s biggest questions, and a question that has interested many of our ancestors. Buddha famously gave up his kingdom in search of happiness. Several Greek philosophers (from Aristotle to Epicurus and Plato to Socrates) had their own views on what it takes to be happy. And of course, we all have our own theories about happiness too. How valid are our theories? Until recently, if you wished for an answer to this question, you would've been forced to base it on discussions with spiritual leaders. Or, if you were lucky, you could've based it on late-night (and perhaps intoxicant-fueled) conversations with friends and family. Happily, all that has changed now. Over the past decade-and-a-half, scientists have gotten into the act big time. We now have a pretty good idea of what it takes to lead a happy and fulfilling life. This course, based on the award-winning class offered both at the Indian School of Business and at the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin, developed by Prof. Raj Raghunathan (aka "Dr. Happy-smarts") draws content from a variety of fields, including psychology, neuroscience, and behavioral decision theory to offer a tested and practical recipe for leading a life of happiness and fulfillment. Although not mandatory, reading Prof. Raj's forthcoming book, titled If you're so smart, why aren't you happy? can help you review and assimilate the material covered in this book at your leisure. For Coursera learners alone, the hardcover version of the book is available for a deep discount of 50%, plus shipping and handling. You can order the hardcover for 50% off by writing to Aaron at: Aaron@800ceoread.com. Please mention that you are a student of the "coursera happiness course" in your email. The course will feature guest appearances by several well-known thought leaders, including: - Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational and, soon to be released, Irrationally Yours), - Ed Diener (“Dr. Happiness”), - Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (author of Flow), By taking this course, you will discover the answers to questions such as: - Why aren’t the smart-and-the-successful as happy as they could—or should—be - What are the “7 Deadly Happiness Sins” that even the smart and the successful commit?, and - What are the “7 Habits of the Highly Happy” and how can you implement them in your life? By the end of the course, I expect students who have been diligent with the lectures and exercises to not just gain a deeper understanding of the science of happiness, but to also be significantly happier....

Top reviews

CR
Apr 23, 2018

Excellent course, Professor Raj is great. I found it very helpful to see what types of personality traits I have that may contribute to my happiness level and possible approaches to dealing with them.

LS
Jan 23, 2017

This course is a joy! I cannot recommend it highly enough. Practical advice based on long-term research, interviews with worldwide experts on the topics discussed, and a fabulous professor. So great!

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 1,797 Reviews for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

By Saurav K D

May 24, 2020

This is an amazing Course and is highly recommended. Prof. Raj has amazing energy while delivering the course and a great sense of connect with his students even while we are learning virtually.

By Yael A

Oct 22, 2015

Great! Dr Raj is so wonderful! His happiness course is really smart, intelligent, funny, powerful, really well-explained, thanks to him and his team also - you've done a huge job here, really :)

By Magaly l

May 11, 2020

Excellent course, I enjoyed every bit of it. I will be recommending it to everyone.

It has a very professional, objective information that changes lives.

I feel very grateful it was a true gift!

By Tong D

Oct 22, 2020

This course is very helpful. Dr. Raj is very entertaining. The six weeks or so just flew by. Highly recommended for those who want to learn about Happiness and help other people become happy.

By Catherine T

May 14, 2020

It's a wonderful course, in a funny manner serious things, researches, etc. Very important things are necessary for everyday life. Very useful information easy to practice. Higher recommended.

By Gustavo Z

May 17, 2020

Amazing class. Among the best online courses ever taken. Thanks so much for all the hard work. It was the best company to have during the Covid crisis. Much gratitude! Great work Proff Raj!!!

By Olga d V P

Mar 21, 2020

Es un curso maravilloso, no solo por el aprendizaaje sino porque ha superado mis expectativas y será un complemento perfecto en mi propósito personal y profesional!! Gracias gracias gracias!!

By Lionel L

Oct 7, 2015

This course is a whirlwind of joy and good humor. The main recipes for happiness and fulfillment are exposed in a structured manner. The main speakers are not taking themselves too seriously.

By Rajani M

Jul 31, 2020

Great course. Loved the way Prof Raj would greet in different languages in each video. There is a significant change in the approach towards life and happiness after completing the course.

By Manuel

Nov 11, 2017

I knew some of the topics but other were new to me, I found particularly interesting the primer to mindfulness and meditation.

Prof. Raj style is really good and the course is nicely crafted

By Alejandra

Nov 5, 2017

Really great course with solid scientific information but also fun to do to understand more about happiness, about ourselves and to better understand others and things that happen around us

By Sophie A

Feb 7, 2016

A highly scientific and engaging course. I have learned many useful, practical tips and will be referring back to many of the videos at a later date to keep myself on track to happiness :-)

By Susanne L

Dec 23, 2015

i am a much happier person.

This class helped me tremendously

to see the glass half full

(maybe even more than half full)

rather than half empty.

Thank you Dr. Happy Smarts

and the Happiness Team

By Julia a

May 16, 2020

It is an excellent course and professor Raj makes it very simple and clear. It gave me a lot of tools to become a happier person. I enjoyed the course very much and recommend to everyone!

By Lisa Z

Aug 27, 2016

I have enjoyed this class so much - it has given me skills to be a happier person! can a person ask for anything more than that? the professor and course content was awesome! well done!

By Henry T

May 18, 2020

The presentation and course material are the best among all the coursera courses i have taken so far! Raj very passionate in the topic and certainly shared the essence of how to be happy!

By Laurent B

Apr 17, 2020

Absolutely worth it - I am so happy I did it. Valuable informations and a source of inspiration.

"Happiness is a choice. Chose it everyday"

Keep the abundance flowing.

Huge thank you!

Laurent

By Hugo L

Feb 1, 2016

A very well structured course. I really, really, enjoyed it. I'm grateful to Prof. Raj and Coursera, for providing this incredible experience. What I've learned is priceless. Thank you!

By Betty-Fleur P

Aug 9, 2016

Raj, is super pleasant it was so nice to spend some time in his happiness univers. He spot our bad habits and recommend simple change of mindset to get back on track to happiness path.

By Karen R L

Feb 3, 2016

Very Practical stuff. Definitely not woo woo. Already things I have learned have changed my way of looking at experiences. As a bonus, the material makes great family conversations.

By Mayur G N

Jul 18, 2020

The course was excellent. I love the way the instructors in the course have guided and explained through this course. I also have to mention the quiz and activities was very good too.

By Ray T

Jun 22, 2020

An interesting course which opened up doors for me to learn more about the habits that can help improve happiness levels and why I should prioritize Happiness instead of pursuing it.

By Lena M

Sep 17, 2015

I was skeptical about the concept. But once you get into the course, it becomes addictive and certainly makes a lot of sense and positive impact on the way we look/consider happiness

By Laura S

May 14, 2020

I enjoyed the course very much, it is super interesting and I appreciated the scientific approach to happiness that really helps to understand how to pursue it. Thank you Prof. Raj!

By THITIRAT B L

Oct 23, 2015

Please take this course! :) I recommended to everybody.

A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment or "life appreciation" which is very useful for everybody to live in the social world. :)