Chevron Left
Back to A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment by Indian School of Business

4.8
stars
5,298 ratings
1,911 reviews

About the Course

What are the determinants of a happy and fulfilling life? This is surely one of life’s biggest questions, and a question that has interested many of our ancestors. Buddha famously gave up his kingdom in search of happiness. Several Greek philosophers (from Aristotle to Epicurus and Plato to Socrates) had their own views on what it takes to be happy. And of course, we all have our own theories about happiness too. How valid are our theories? Until recently, if you wished for an answer to this question, you would've been forced to base it on discussions with spiritual leaders. Or, if you were lucky, you could've based it on late-night (and perhaps intoxicant-fueled) conversations with friends and family. Happily, all that has changed now. Over the past decade-and-a-half, scientists have gotten into the act big time. We now have a pretty good idea of what it takes to lead a happy and fulfilling life. This course, based on the award-winning class offered both at the Indian School of Business and at the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin, developed by Prof. Raj Raghunathan (aka "Dr. Happy-smarts") draws content from a variety of fields, including psychology, neuroscience, and behavioral decision theory to offer a tested and practical recipe for leading a life of happiness and fulfillment. Although not mandatory, reading Prof. Raj's forthcoming book, titled If you're so smart, why aren't you happy? can help you review and assimilate the material covered in this book at your leisure. For Coursera learners alone, the hardcover version of the book is available for a deep discount of 50%, plus shipping and handling. You can order the hardcover for 50% off by writing to Aaron at: Aaron@800ceoread.com. Please mention that you are a student of the "coursera happiness course" in your email. The course will feature guest appearances by several well-known thought leaders, including: - Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational and, soon to be released, Irrationally Yours), - Ed Diener (“Dr. Happiness”), - Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (author of Flow), By taking this course, you will discover the answers to questions such as: - Why aren’t the smart-and-the-successful as happy as they could—or should—be - What are the “7 Deadly Happiness Sins” that even the smart and the successful commit?, and - What are the “7 Habits of the Highly Happy” and how can you implement them in your life? By the end of the course, I expect students who have been diligent with the lectures and exercises to not just gain a deeper understanding of the science of happiness, but to also be significantly happier....

Top reviews

CR
Apr 23, 2018

Excellent course, Professor Raj is great. I found it very helpful to see what types of personality traits I have that may contribute to my happiness level and possible approaches to dealing with them.

LS
Jan 23, 2017

This course is a joy! I cannot recommend it highly enough. Practical advice based on long-term research, interviews with worldwide experts on the topics discussed, and a fabulous professor. So great!

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 1,893 Reviews for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

By Denise S M

Mar 6, 2017

I can not wait to continue a Life of Happiness and fulfillment with more tools to utilize helps us to train ourselves to be more content

By Dr H K

Sep 13, 2020

Perfectly designed course, Prof Raj has worked very hard to make it interesting and thorough. Thanks a lot to the whole team involved.

By Euge N

Jul 3, 2017

Intellectualize a simple thing happiness, but for high rational people is an excellent way to learn how to be happy (detailed receipt).

By Andrea A

Aug 12, 2019

Excelente curso. Me ha enseñado lecciones valiosas que cumplen con el objetivo que plasma el curso en su título: felicidad y plenitud.

By Pavel S

May 26, 2018

Отличный курс. Прежде всего позволяется познакомиться с собой и подготовиться к ответственному и взвешенному выбору своего дела жизни.

By Mireille C

Oct 19, 2016

Fabulous course and such an happiness inspiring teacher Dr Raj is!!! I truly recommend this mindset changing and life changing course.

By Manoj W

Dec 15, 2020

Great efforts by Prof Raj! The course is really useful and helps to increase my happiness level and change my views about real world.

By Aleksey P

Jul 19, 2020

Thank you so much. I learned a lot about happiness research and possible methods for achieving it. Very scientific and easy to serve.

By Aridnei O d C

Jul 19, 2017

Great course! I learned a lot about happiness and about myself. Thank you to Prof. Raj and all people that made this course possible.

By Yagnesh N D

Sep 4, 2015

This a life changing course. I urge to all students and working people -- no matter at which management level, to t take this course.

By Zivile V

Jan 11, 2021

It's really great, interesting and useful course! The prof. Raj is very charismatic.

Really enjoyed this course, highly recommended.

By Basel

Mar 22, 2016

This is a nice interactive course, whit a quite hilarious guy (but you've gotta love his style, won't be to anyones taste I reckon).

By Yeimi P O L

Jun 21, 2021

Maravillo, muy divertidas las actividades, cada uno de los videos capturan al observador, mucho material para aprender y compartir.

By Solange R C L

May 30, 2021

Excelente! Conteúdo aprofundado, didática maravilhosa. Tudo feito com muito amor, pensando em despertar o melhor em cada um de nós.

By Fatemeh D C

Feb 23, 2021

I had a really great time with you and I sincerely wish to have another impressive course with you soon. thank you from miles away.

By MEENAKSHI D

Jul 22, 2020

indepth explanation of concepts

latest research shared

videos are fun to watch- instructor, Prof Raj Ragunathan is an awesome teacher

By David F S R

Feb 5, 2016

A must! I'm sure EVERYBODY can benefit inmensly from taking this course! Excellent content, excellent quality, excellent proffesor!

By Manoj K M

Aug 4, 2020

I personally enjoyed the course, Thanks to professor Raj, I will definitely miss the classes. Thank you everyone behind the scene.

By sweta k s

Jun 30, 2020

I am too much satisfied with the course undertaken.Thanks for making me understand simple basics of life with positive approaches

By Carolyn H

Apr 21, 2019

Professor was inspiring and entertaining as he taught a lot of top scientific content. Very engaging. Would take the course again!

By Marinka V

Apr 12, 2018

This course puts a smile on your face every week. It is so much fun. Two great teachers. I really found this course life changing.

By Monica Z

Mar 3, 2017

I would apply for this course again and again. Wonderful experience. The best course ever taken! Congratulations to all the team!

By Laura D

Mar 29, 2016

This course really is amazing. It is helping me to understand a lot of thing and giving me a new perspective to make things better

By Dina S P

Jun 5, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Videos were very clear and very informative, and Dr. Raj made every chapter fun to watch and read.

By Mariam A P

Sep 18, 2019

Very useful and never thought there where so many cientific studies to back everything you learn in this course. 100% recommended