Chevron Left
Back to Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Health Across the Gender Spectrum by Stanford University

4.8
stars
2,120 ratings

About the Course

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Top reviews

PB

May 10, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

CM

May 17, 2020

I love how concise and easy to understand the videos were. They all get straight to the point and it was really a mind-blowing experience to learn about the differences and what we can do to support.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 656 Reviews for Health Across the Gender Spectrum

By Francisco A B R

Jun 27, 2023

It is such a good course! It is well-designed and easy to follow to complete it. It gives you broaden views about Gender Identity and the whole spectrum.

By Margherita G

Sep 9, 2018

This course is very informative and gives a very good basis to understand what transgender means and why it is important to support transgender children.

By Maria G S E

Oct 20, 2022

excelente información, curso de primera calidad, enseñanza de primera categoria, pero como hago para que se me emita un certificado por haberlo aprobado

By Preeti S

Feb 17, 2022

This course covered a lot of important stuff regarding creating more gender-inclusive healthcare settings that medical curriculum heavily misses out on.

By Karen R

Sep 20, 2021

I felt very honored to have participated in this course. Very engaging, human, loving, everything I learned I will use with my students here in Brazil.

By Veronika B

Mar 9, 2020

Excellent course! It really show multiple perspectives about respecting the human thinking and feelings, starting with kids and evolving in to adults.

By Abril A

Apr 24, 2020

Muy buen curso para comprender e informarse acerca de este tema tan delicado que muchas veces no sabemos cómo abordar o manejar. Increíblemente útil.

By Penny O

Nov 21, 2018

This should be mandatory for anyone working with the general public. I felt like I was pretty well educated, but this course educated me even more!!

By Andréa C

May 21, 2017

Very informative and thought-promoting! Will definitely recommend to friends and family that have difficulty with the concept of the gender spectrum.

By Hien i

May 15, 2017

Wonderful course. Very informative. I've learned so much. The human stories, voices, drawings all valuable when learning about the Gender Spectrum.

By Gabriel H

Sep 11, 2018

A great overview of the key concepts - supported by some very informative and eye-opening individuals sharing their own experiences. Great stuff!

By Pamela M

Sep 15, 2018

This was excellent and I will be suggesting this course to all of my friends and colleagues who are interested in supporting children and youth.

By Michaela M

Jul 2, 2017

Very helpful for people who are not at all familiar with non-binary gender. However, for people with knowledge about gender spectrum, too basic.

By Malebogo K

Aug 4, 2022

ITS A GREAT COURSE THAT HELPS TO KNOW BETTER ABOUT SEXUAL ORIENTATION AND GENDER IDENTITY HENCE A SOCIETY THAT IS NOT BIAS AND DISCRIMINATIVE .

By Alexandria T

Apr 17, 2020

I really enjoyed the resources of this course and have further understanding on gender across the spectrum. The videos were heartfelt and perso

By tracey s

Apr 21, 2017

Great class! Allowed me to see issues from another perspective as well as showing me way to make my environment more gender inclusive. THANKS!

By María J C

Jan 30, 2018

Muy bueno claro, soy psiquiatra infantil y este curso me ayudo a explicar y abordar mas claramente las preguntas de los usuarios sobre el tema

By Lorenna R

May 9, 2017

I thought I was well-informed before I began the course but I discovered that I was misinformed on some points and needed much more knowledge.

By Victor B

May 8, 2023

The course remarkably offer a new dimension in the multi farious lens of health in the diverse and intersectional context of gender spectrum.

By Adaline B

Oct 13, 2022

As a trans woman, and senior executive in the online transgender healthcare field, this course was very accurate and understandable for all.

By Helena K

May 8, 2021

Very important topic, that was conveyed in an easy-to-understand way. I loved the combination of factual education and personal experiences.

By Claudia L

Oct 28, 2017

Thanks for this course. I really learn a lot about transgender people and what can be done to help them to feel more included in the society

By Lorraine L

Jun 1, 2023

Loved this course. It really helped me to understand what is transgender and what are the issues faced by individuals who are transgender.

By Ivette M P

Apr 21, 2020

Excelente. Lo recomendaría para todos aquellos, que como yo, tienen poco conocimiento de este tema.

Es educativo, reflexivo, muy dinámico.

By Linda d B

Jun 2, 2017

A fantastic course to help people understand the gender-spectrum and hopefully create a more including society. Very accessible and clear.