Chevron Left
Back to Healthy Practices: Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Community and Family Participation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Healthy Practices: Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Community and Family Participation by University of Colorado System

4.7
stars
496 ratings
127 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will find a comprehensive overlook of healthy practices in public schools in the USA, including: physical activity and nutrition in the school setting. We will review the basics of some of the regulatory programs found in the United States that support healthy students through nutrition education and nutrition programs. You will be able to explain some of the nutritional components such as, alternatives to the use of Sugar-Sweetened Beverages. Many of these principles can be applied to students in schools throughout the globe. You will understand how the schools can support physical activity throughout the day and how they can effectively offer physical education. Learners will be able to explain MVPA, or moderate to vigorous physical activity. They will identify this as the newest method for measuring and evaluating what counts as physical activity in terms of METs. Participants in the course will be able to explain the science behind the recommended "60 minutes of Physical Activity" and what counts toward MVPA both during and outside of the school day. Learners will be able to evaluate and explain how what students eat and how they exercise impacts student success. We will provide you with information to help you to promote the teamwork that it takes to implement successful nutritional and physical activity programs. Our discussion will include where to find and how to develop community support and encourage family participation. Later in the course you will understand how attendance impacts student success. Together we will look at real-life examples of programs in a school setting and this will help you to recognize what impact you can have on improving the health and success of students in your own community....

Top reviews

AB

Sep 17, 2020

It was so interesting and got to know many things, how our diet plan should be and how one can start PA and PE in school or college. it was really so helpul . THANK YOU SO MUCH.

ST

Apr 15, 2020

I enjoyed going through the videos and course materiel. Indeed, I got lot of insights, which I can practically implement at school sports development segment.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 127 Reviews for Healthy Practices: Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Community and Family Participation

By Mona A A

Jun 03, 2020

G

O

O

D

By Sofiul A

May 25, 2020

Good

By VERONICA B

Aug 03, 2020

Un ottimo corso per approfondire conoscenze alimentari e tecniche per adattare il giusto regime alimentare anche per i più piccoli o per determinate tipologie d'ambiente quotidiano come quello delle scuole. Un corso che forma la persona ad avere un giudizio consapevole della propria dieta e nel rendere partecipi gli altri di informazioni su una sana alimentazione con giusto metodo e tanta motivazione.

By Sonja B

Aug 21, 2020

This component did not go to the same depth as the one on managing asthma, diabetes, seizures, allergies in the same speciality. It was adequate though but it would have been helpful if it had drawn more robust links between nutrition and physical activity and specific challenges. the presenter was very good.

By N.Gowtham K

Jul 12, 2020

I learn new things from this course about kids in school environment , especially nutrition, it was very useful to me.It was a different experience . I thank you all for to make this wonderful opportunity.

By ADITI B R

Sep 30, 2020

A very valuable course for schools of USA as the teachers talk about and support with resources on practices of United States, the laws, government programs and Colorado Children Hospital's initiatives.

By Sharlene W

Oct 04, 2020

It is said, "to teach is to learn twice."

Thank you for the opportunity to learn.

I will definitely incorporate what I have learnt thus far as in my Parent circle lessons in Early Childhood Education.

By Ammara A

Jul 12, 2020

The course "Healthy Practices: Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Community and Family Participation" is organized effectively. Lecture videos are very informative.

By Jamie L L

Oct 21, 2019

Good overview of interrelated topics, however, only on a very basic level. Not a very challenging course but covers all necessary information and I enjoyed it.

By Abinayakumari M

Oct 29, 2020

this university giving us to shine a lot for our future references.. thank you so much for you guidelines to improve my knowledge..

By MUHSIN. P

May 21, 2020

Healthy Practices: Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Community and Family Participation is the best course for parents & teachers

By Meghana G

May 28, 2020

it is helpful but need to include more point regarding which food and activity menu during presentation itself

By Monisha S

Aug 04, 2020

Basically this course teach us how to enjoy a healthy environment from primary level.

By Savita

Jul 12, 2020

It is nice and easy to understand. Learnt alot about healthy habits for students

By Geronimo B H J

Jun 17, 2020

Very informative. Thank you very much!

By Amrita K

Sep 10, 2020

good to gather new experiences ..

By Adiba K S

Sep 24, 2020

It was so informative course

By 18UCMA125

Jun 24, 2020

Very useful for future

By Zahidah

Sep 22, 2020

i like this source

By Zain N R

Aug 03, 2020

Informative course

By Nisha W J

Jul 09, 2020

Awesome Course

By SATHIYA R

Oct 21, 2020

Good skills

By VAISHNAVI B D

Apr 27, 2020

good course

By CHAUDHARI H M

May 13, 2020

good

By Maleah S

Jun 10, 2020

Seem rushed and less in depth compared to the other courses in the certificate. Some of the links for supplementary materials did not work, ("404: PAGE NOT FOUND" errors), which is frustrating when you are trying to find what information they wanted you to explore or research.