Chevron Left
Back to Plagues, Witches, and War: The Worlds of Historical Fiction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Plagues, Witches, and War: The Worlds of Historical Fiction by University of Virginia

4.6
stars
487 ratings
109 reviews

About the Course

A unique and exciting introduction to the genre and craft of historical fiction, for curious students, aspiring authors--anyone with a passion for the past. Read classics of the genre, encounter bestselling writers of historical fiction, and discover your own historical archive while interacting with a global community of interested readers....

Top reviews

JC
Sep 16, 2020

I'm not sure why I took this course. I'm glad I did. I enjoyed all the books and the interaction with authors. This was a way to experience literature without writting 5 papers on a book.

AB
Oct 4, 2020

Too good! The instructor was way too awesome. I am not from Arts or Literature background yet understood everything easily. The author interactions were a really good learning experience

Filter by:

101 - 107 of 107 Reviews for Plagues, Witches, and War: The Worlds of Historical Fiction

By Johnathan A

Jul 9, 2017

Loads of problems with old assignments getting lost, and now there isn't even a creative outlet for students. Disappointing in that respect.

By Margaretta N

Sep 8, 2015

I really like the visiting writer seminars -- they were the best part

By kevin h

Sep 13, 2019

it was my mistake this is not the course i thought it would be

By elizabeth t

Oct 29, 2020

This course is a disgrace. The syllabus (which is well-hidden) is very hard to follow; there is no interaction with the instructor, staff or mentor. You get a certificate after completing three bad quizzes in week 3 of 12. There is no way to complete the two peer-graded assignments at the end.

The three books I read were interesting; the videos featuring a real class interacting with four authors (in 2013) give some useful information. Forums with other students are really the only redeeming value of this course, and most don't participate. Those few who do drop out after Week 5.

Just read "Fever", "Ghost Bride" and "Year of Wonders" and save a lot of frustration.

By Kage G

May 9, 2017

This course is a poor transfer from one of their online or hybrid courses. The professor constantly mentions readings that were never put in the Coursera lessons, and the quizzes are on those readings. DO NOT TAKE!!!

By Jeffrey S

Jan 18, 2020

Would appreciate a little less focus on obscure feminist writers and more on the material implied in the title. This course was boring, pretentious and not worth finishing.

By Stephanie

Feb 28, 2018

I managed to suffer through 2 weeks and finally gave up. I adore historical fiction and this course drained the life from it.