Chevron Left
Back to The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State by Tel Aviv University

4.6
stars
666 ratings
194 reviews

About the Course

How did the State of Israel come to be? How is it that an idea, introduced in 19th century Europe, became a reality? And how does that reality prevail in the harsh complexities of the Middle East? Presented by Professor Eyal Naveh, with additional units from Professor Asher Sussers' "The Emergence of the Modern Middle East" course, This course will take you on a journey through the history of Modern Israel. In this 1st part of the course we will explore: How did the 19th century idea of a Jewish state become a reality? So the next time you hear about Israel in the news, you will be informed enough about the history of this area to comprehend the many sides and narratives that interact to shape the complex reality of Israel today. Please note that there is a second part to this course "The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state" which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel-sovereign-state). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

Top reviews

TA
Sep 26, 2019

"The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State" is a time demanding course for all of us nowadays to know the real history of modern Israel. Thanks Coursera for the such opportunity.

SS
Sep 29, 2020

It gave me more insight for me about Israel history. The tutors explained it in a simple way, although some parts of the materials were a little bit difficult to understand

Filter by:

176 - 192 of 192 Reviews for The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State

By Michael G

Jul 7, 2017

V

By Stephen H

Feb 27, 2016

Good, concise course.

The reason I didn't give it a higher rating is because I found it difficult (not impossible) to follow some of professor Eyal Naveh speach. His first language is not English, so I do not expect him to speak perfect English. However, I would expect the subtitles/transcript not to have basic mistakes. This became important when professor Naveb interview another person in Hebrew, as I found I could not really trust the subtitles.

I think it wouldn't take much to make it an excellent course.

My cheeky suggestion is to have a specialisation with The Emergence of the Modern Middle East by Professor Asher Susser as nucleus and a series of shorter, more in depth courses on certain of the bigger countries, such as Egypt, Turkey and Iran, similar to this one on Israel.

By Raina B T

May 27, 2020

I feel that the course provided good information, but the quiz and test were too difficult. The quiz and test required knowledge not taught in the course, and the questions were hard to understand. The question issue is probably because of the language barrier, so that didn't bother me as much as the information on the quiz not being present in the course itself.

By Avi D

Mar 3, 2019

Thank you very much

It's a very interesting course but I feel it was only an introduction to introduction.

This subject should be with more information and should be organized in more than just 3 lessons

Why not a full semester course of 12 lessons or more!

By Andrea Y T

Nov 25, 2020

No material is provided with the course.

It is difficult to consolidate the acquired knowledge without literature and references.

The instructors exposed the topics in a clear and fascinating way.

By Karam E

Mar 17, 2019

you can get an overview of the events not a balanced details about the conflict.it is bias and hold false preconceptions.

By SHALABHA S

Jun 16, 2020

quite informative and comprehensive. Explained well enough for laymen to understand irrespective of prior knowledge.

By NL

May 17, 2020

Course had a great structure but the professor's translation from Hebrew to English has room for improvement.

By Olafur T Y

Jul 28, 2017

Nice course, although I do not understand the need for having 2 lectures in Hebrew.

By Tamara O

Mar 17, 2018

there was no discussion and there weren't enough question.

By Aunatya m

Apr 7, 2016

content is good but its not made interesting.

By Aida S

Mar 7, 2018

The Israeli professor talks too fast, like a robot. Not engaging at all. Very poor communication skills. The English professor, although sober, does a much better job. I missed additional reading material being offer besides the Holocaust course offered by Tel Aviv University. In enjoyed the visiting professor Dr. Anita, but still everything is very stiff and devoid of passion. They could have put much more effort into producing a better product. There is no passion, just stating of the past facts. Sad.

By Matthias G

Dec 23, 2015

The course was too short and did not provide any reading material.

It would be more helpful to have more and shorter quizzes.

By Aghed S K

Jan 20, 2019

der Kurs verarmt auf die Ehrlichkeit und Distanzierung

افتقر الكورس الى الصدق والحياديه

By V

Oct 22, 2017

I have completed this course and have earned a certificate of achievement. Unlike Holocaust Part I, this course is really tedious. Perhaps, timeline and comparison charts and list of names of personalities could be provided.

By Deleted A

Jan 12, 2016

This was more objective than I thought. Nevertheless, the information about the Zionism, refute itself and make us criticize about the dangerous notion.

By Divyansh A

Jun 5, 2016

Very bogus and boring content. The monotonous voice gets me!