Chevron Left
Back to History of Rock, Part Two

Learner Reviews & Feedback for History of Rock, Part Two by University of Rochester

4.8
stars
350 ratings
88 reviews

About the Course

This course, part 2 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the early 1970s to the early 1990s. This course covers the music of Led Zeppelin, the Allman Brothers, Carole King, Bob Marley, the Sex Pistols, Donna Summer, Michael Jackson, Madonna, Prince, Metallica, Run-DMC, and Nirvana, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Emerging out of the experimental and ambitious years of late-60s psychedelia, rock splintered into a variety of styles in the 1970s as the music business continued to expand. By the end of the decade, punk and disco had challenged the excesses of the hippie aesthetic, as rock became more commercially streamlined and radio friendly. The emergence and rise of MTV transformed pop music and propelled the careers of Michael jackson and Madonna, while heavy metal and hip hop dominated the late 1980s. Nirvana leads alt-rock's return to simplicity in the early 1990s....

Top reviews

SH
Sep 29, 2020

Fascinating - really filled out my knowledge and understanding and introduced me to new music - despite having lived through much of the history. Enjoyed the laid back but informed videos.

MM
Sep 23, 2017

Excelent. Actually now is more fun to read about musicans (recently Iggy Pop & Black Sabbath) because context is better understood. (A bit weird that Tom Waits is not even mentioned)

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 87 Reviews for History of Rock, Part Two

By Lindsay A H

Nov 1, 2020

Excellent teacher and information!

By Henry J A T

Jan 13, 2016

Great course, excellent teacher!.

By Shobana

Jul 20, 2020

interesting and packed with info

By Michel L

Oct 27, 2020

cool teacher, very good content

By Daniel T

Jan 5, 2016

Awesome course great professor

By Paul E P J

Dec 24, 2019

Enjoyable and informative.

By Juan C A E

Nov 30, 2020

Great! Excellent teacher.

By 경 김

Nov 22, 2016

really really nice

By Margie E

Sep 17, 2020

Loved this course

By fei y

Nov 27, 2016

对于学习整个摇滚史真的很有帮助

By JUAN E G A

Jun 22, 2017

Wonderful!!

By Juan C V L

Jun 9, 2016

Maravilloso

By Sebastian R B

Jun 9, 2020

Wonderful.

By Rachel C

Dec 30, 2016

Loved it!!

By Christine G

Aug 17, 2015

Excellent!

By Randy I

Nov 15, 2020

It Rocks!

By Jesus A B S

May 30, 2017

Loved it!

By Kamil T

Nov 13, 2015

Very Good

By George B

Jun 14, 2017

Amazing!

By Daniel B P

Jul 6, 2017

Super!

By 현석 김

Jan 11, 2018

good

By fatih o

Jan 5, 2016

f

By H L C

Nov 27, 2016

I enjoyed Part Two, but not nearly as much as Part One. This change is not due to the professor or the course material; both are excellent. It is the music itself. I simply do not enjoy most of disco and pop artists like Madonna, Janet Jackson, Brittney etc. I hope I do not sound snobbish (or sound like my parents), but mentioning the Beatles and former mousketeers in the same sentence or course is laughable.

By Kristina M

Jun 20, 2020

I thought the course was fascinating and the professor kept the material interesting. Since for copyright reasons he couldn't play the music for the class, I just had spotify open and would pause the video occasionally to play the songs. My one complaint was that a lot of the test questions involve being able to remember which artist did which album; I found that really difficult.

By Ashish G

May 21, 2017

excellent summary of the the period from the late 60s to the 90s. A course like this can never be comprehensive but there has been a lot of thoughtfulness in the sampling process as well as in drawing some threads for the student to mull over and make up his/her own mind.