Chevron Left
Back to History of Rock, Part Two

Learner Reviews & Feedback for History of Rock, Part Two by University of Rochester

4.8
stars
312 ratings
74 reviews

About the Course

This course, part 2 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the early 1970s to the early 1990s. This course covers the music of Led Zeppelin, the Allman Brothers, Carole King, Bob Marley, the Sex Pistols, Donna Summer, Michael Jackson, Madonna, Prince, Metallica, Run-DMC, and Nirvana, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Emerging out of the experimental and ambitious years of late-60s psychedelia, rock splintered into a variety of styles in the 1970s as the music business continued to expand. By the end of the decade, punk and disco had challenged the excesses of the hippie aesthetic, as rock became more commercially streamlined and radio friendly. The emergence and rise of MTV transformed pop music and propelled the careers of Michael jackson and Madonna, while heavy metal and hip hop dominated the late 1980s. Nirvana leads alt-rock's return to simplicity in the early 1990s....

Top reviews

MM

Sep 24, 2017

Excelent. Actually now is more fun to read about musicans (recently Iggy Pop & Black Sabbath) because context is better understood. (A bit weird that Tom Waits is not even mentioned)

NB

Nov 01, 2015

John Covach's lectures are clear and well-thought out, and he does a good job of fielding the "fan mentality" that so often plagues other rock history and music history courses.

Filter by:

51 - 73 of 73 Reviews for History of Rock, Part Two

By Sebastian R B

Jun 09, 2020

Wonderful.

By Rachel C

Dec 30, 2016

Loved it!!

By Christine G

Aug 18, 2015

Excellent!

By Jesus A B S

May 30, 2017

Loved it!

By Kamil T

Nov 13, 2015

Very Good

By George B

Jun 15, 2017

Amazing!

By Daniel B P

Jul 06, 2017

Super!

By 현석 김

Jan 11, 2018

good

By fatih o

Jan 06, 2016

f

By H L C

Nov 27, 2016

I enjoyed Part Two, but not nearly as much as Part One. This change is not due to the professor or the course material; both are excellent. It is the music itself. I simply do not enjoy most of disco and pop artists like Madonna, Janet Jackson, Brittney etc. I hope I do not sound snobbish (or sound like my parents), but mentioning the Beatles and former mousketeers in the same sentence or course is laughable.

By Kristina M

Jun 20, 2020

I thought the course was fascinating and the professor kept the material interesting. Since for copyright reasons he couldn't play the music for the class, I just had spotify open and would pause the video occasionally to play the songs. My one complaint was that a lot of the test questions involve being able to remember which artist did which album; I found that really difficult.

By Ashish G

May 21, 2017

excellent summary of the the period from the late 60s to the 90s. A course like this can never be comprehensive but there has been a lot of thoughtfulness in the sampling process as well as in drawing some threads for the student to mull over and make up his/her own mind.

By Juanjo R C

Jun 30, 2018

El curso está muy bien, lástima sea todo en inglés. Lo que hago es abrir una nueva ventana con los subtitulos y traducidos automáticamente al español, de esta manera el ordenador me queda en 2 ventanas, el video y los subtitulos .

By Brian A

May 31, 2020

Very interesting as i t covered different genres and time periods well. Learned a lot about the types of music and found myself interested in listening to artists outside of my personal interests.

By Angelina W

Feb 22, 2016

Similar to Part One, but continues with the history of rock into more recent times (1990s). Very short course compared to the other one. Pros and cons from Part One apply to Part Two.

By Jeanine D

Sep 08, 2017

Fun topic although having only a person talking can make the course tedious at times. Would be good if there was a Spotify playlist for the course.

By Benjamin

Feb 18, 2020

Good course but too much focus on US and UK and too much on racial and gender issues - focus on the music

By Baczo Z

Oct 09, 2018

Focused too much on non-rock styles, such as disco, rap, etc., but en large, pretty nice course.

By Virginia C

Jul 23, 2017

Interesting survey of rock music. Lectures are well organized and flow smoothly.

By Thomas T

Oct 18, 2016

Very Good

By Luc L

Nov 02, 2016

I

By Marcelo F

May 29, 2020

It is a good course. However it is not better than its antecessor Part One. In many ways it is very US centric, without very good analysis of the British counterparts. Some lessons are very superficial, not going in deep.

By Evan M

Aug 05, 2019

Interesting content, though I would've preferred much less about rap/hip hop/etc, and more about rock.