Chevron Left
Back to History of Rock, Part Two

Learner Reviews & Feedback for History of Rock, Part Two by University of Rochester

4.8
stars
373 ratings
95 reviews

About the Course

This course, part 2 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the early 1970s to the early 1990s. This course covers the music of Led Zeppelin, the Allman Brothers, Carole King, Bob Marley, the Sex Pistols, Donna Summer, Michael Jackson, Madonna, Prince, Metallica, Run-DMC, and Nirvana, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Emerging out of the experimental and ambitious years of late-60s psychedelia, rock splintered into a variety of styles in the 1970s as the music business continued to expand. By the end of the decade, punk and disco had challenged the excesses of the hippie aesthetic, as rock became more commercially streamlined and radio friendly. The emergence and rise of MTV transformed pop music and propelled the careers of Michael jackson and Madonna, while heavy metal and hip hop dominated the late 1980s. Nirvana leads alt-rock's return to simplicity in the early 1990s....

Top reviews

SH
Sep 29, 2020

Fascinating - really filled out my knowledge and understanding and introduced me to new music - despite having lived through much of the history. Enjoyed the laid back but informed videos.

AP
Feb 12, 2021

Continuing from Part One, the History of Rock course segues into the music scene of 70s and beyond. A thoroughly enjoyable course for anyone interested in any form of music in general.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 94 Reviews for History of Rock, Part Two

By Gustavo N S

Dec 26, 2019

I really enjoy with this course, the topics were very informative and interesting, with a lot of good examples and information about bands, styles and ages. I recommend the course 100%.

By Adithya P

Feb 13, 2021

Continuing from Part One, the History of Rock course segues into the music scene of 70s and beyond. A thoroughly enjoyable course for anyone interested in any form of music in general.

By Ammar M H

Dec 19, 2015

Amazing course, very academic and objective and yet extremely enjoyable. I'm very grateful for coursera an Prof Covach who made it available and easily accessible.

By Ray W

Aug 16, 2018

Love these two courses.I new alot of the topics but was suprised with a few of the topics.very well organized and understandible.Thanks for a fun course.

By JR L

Jun 2, 2020

This was a fun course and motivates to seek out Part One of the History of Rock. The instructor did a great job to take us on this historical journey.

By Ferdinand P

Mar 18, 2018

Amazing class, just as good as the part one. I learned a lot and made myself several awesome playlists, which I will keep enjoying after this course!

By Randall L

Oct 7, 2015

Very interesting information. I lived through a lot of this material so it was doubly interesting. Very thorough, unbiased and informative.

By jim t

Apr 21, 2020

this is a great course. i learned a great deal about the history and gained a better understanding of the music i enjoy.

thank you

By Gregg H

Jun 24, 2016

A great course especially if you follow along with the book and use the extra videos and music links from the book's website.

By Christos N

Jul 7, 2020

HELLO TO EVERYONE.

AS A ROCKER AND A RADIO PRODUCER, THIS COURSE WAS EXCATLY WHAT I NEEDED.

THANKS A LOT TO THE PROFESOR .

By Saeideh A

Mar 10, 2017

Loved and truly enjoyed this course! I kind of feel sad it ended. Huge thanks to John Covach for his great enthusiasm.

By Shirley K

Jul 13, 2020

what a fun course! brought me back to the birth of metal and hair bands . thank you so much for doing this course!!

By Koos J

Sep 20, 2017

Another very interesting course. Enjoyed it so much and I'm so sad it's finished now!

By Melanie L

Dec 1, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and learned so much. The professor is excellent.

By Andrew G

Aug 29, 2015

Excellent Course. Really enjoyed the content and the teachers style in delivery.

By Travis W

Jul 24, 2017

As with all of Professor Covach's courses, this one is five stars plus.

By 동현 김

Dec 23, 2017

I love this class as a Korean who loves Rock music, which never dies!

By Kseniia I

May 5, 2017

So much facts, interesting lessons, smart and intelligent professor!

By Joy S

Mar 9, 2016

Love this instructor. Want more. Wish he could play music clips.

By Emilio V

Feb 3, 2019

A must, If you want to understand and enjoy the history of rock.

By Holly H

Mar 13, 2017

Great Professor, interesting enhancement to my knowledge!

By Bill W

Mar 8, 2016

well researched and presented in a very informative way.

By Timothy R H

Nov 30, 2015

Great study series of Rock artists, bands, and events!

By M W

Oct 26, 2020

The Professor was excellent! The course was thorough.

By Dot

Apr 15, 2017

Fantastic course! Too bad there's no part 3...