Chevron Left
Back to The fundamentals of hotel distribution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The fundamentals of hotel distribution by ESSEC Business School

4.7
stars
1,133 ratings
271 reviews

About the Course

In today’s hotel sector an increasingly complex network of traditional and web based channels have to be managed to insure hotel success. Key questions include: how should you distribute over the web? What should you include on your brand.com website so people book through it? How can you maximise the potential of online travel agents (OTAs)? With the distribution environment both highly complex and constantly evolving, this course will give you comprehensive foundation of current industry practices to help jump start your career in this fascinating domain. Acknowledgements: Claire Bertrand, Vincent Chatain, Jessica Moses, Benjamin Six (ESSEC Business School), Emilie Dupré (Image-In), Gregory Halidy (Triplay)...

Top reviews

IM
Sep 6, 2016

I like it and I did never imagined the abundance of its content based on today's market.\n\nReally the course helped me a lot and immediately started implementing what I learned.\n\nThank you Coursera

LD
Jan 6, 2018

Very well done, these teachers and other important figures involved in the course are sharing extensive knowledges and they are teaching very clearly making the topic easy to comprehend, BRAVO!!!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 270 Reviews for The fundamentals of hotel distribution

By Ella B

Mar 1, 2021

The material is presented in an engaging manner and at a good pace. Important concepts are repeated at different points to facilitate learning.

The course could be improved by making it more accessible. Some concepts are displayed visually in the video but are not written in the transcript.

Overall, the course material is very good however it would benefit from having an update. There have been changes in technology and consumer behaviour since this course was created (2015) and many of the links to additional articles are broken.

By Victor M

May 1, 2020

I learned a lot about the ways hotels acquire customers. The different ways to advertise, and the costs associated. What I found is that Booking.com and Expedia have pretty much cornered the market. I was hoping to discover some secret way to find customers cheaply, that most others have not discovered yet so I could stick out in the crowd. It seems like there aren't many alternatives where your paying 30% to the OTA's. Overall it was very informative and I am happy I took the course!

By oiram i

Apr 13, 2020

the peer review process is a bit disappointing, there are a couple of folks who do not understand me, or are grading based on their interpretation of the queries.. my answers are comprehensive and well written and well thought out and it is off putting to watch one particular fellow constantly grade me with 3's in any case the info is good and i am enjoying the course... i am stuck now waiting for a final peer grade to move onto rev mgmt, can we accelerate the grading process?

By Kim D L

Jan 22, 2018

This course is helpful and suitable for those who is green and want to have understand more about the hospitality industry. However, some information needs to be updated. Latest articles for complementary readings should also be added in order for the learners to have a better understanding and comparison about what's happening in this industry nowadays.

By Nikhil H

Jul 11, 2017

Very thorough with the current practices and trends, the fundamentals of hotel distribution introduces you to key opportunities present to a manager and explores evolving avenues that the hotel owner must keep up with. The bird's eye view of distribution helps one understand the complexity of the industry in today's times.

By Bruce V

Dec 7, 2020

Overall a good course, which gives an excellent introduction into the various aspects of hotel distribution. However the course material dates from 2015 and could use an update. Some of the reading material has already become outdated or contains broken links to webpages which no longer exist.

By Deleted A

Feb 16, 2018

A VERY INTERESTING AND WELL EXPLAINED COURSE.

THIS COURSE WILL GIVE YOU GOOD KNOWLEDGE AND MORE THAN A BASIC SKILL ON WHAT IS REALLY IMPORTANT FOR AN HOTEL TO ACCOMPLISH MORE GOALS IN THE ADVERTISING FIELD AND HOW TO MAINTAIN HIS WEBSITE COMPETITIVE AND HOW TO DEAL WITH OTHER TRAVEL AGENT

By Svetlana G

Dec 10, 2018

The course is very well structured, materials are comprehensive. I like the flexibility within deadlines, but good to have deadlines too for stimulation. What I would like to understand more is how my assignments get the final % marks and any feedback would be useful to receive.

By Laurence M

Apr 30, 2020

The class was interesting but old a bit. The articles we had to read date from 2015 and most of them were not even available anymore. It would have been cool to look up closer at platforms used by hotels in their distribution segment like GDA, CMS, PMS and a booking engine.

By Juanka P

Dec 5, 2020

The course is very good and understandable. It gives you the feeling of progressing and learning new things.

The only thing you should improve on is to consider speaking more slowly. Because one of the teachers speaks very fast and is difficult to understand.

By Shona N

May 19, 2020

A lot of the course material is pulled directly from the industry and is challenging, but easy enough to understand for a person with some background knowledge. The material has to be updated, most articles etc are from 2015 and some are not relevant anymore!

By Sergei S

Apr 18, 2019

Due to date of publication some information is out of date. Few links are missing and some parts need to be revised. But overall this course is absolutely essential for anyone willing to put the base under his knowledge of hospitality.

By Andriana M

Jun 22, 2020

It was a very interesting course and it;s suitable for both those who work or don;t at the hotwl industry.It's worth the try and especialy the videos with the representers of Booking.com and Expedia.com were absolutely helpful.

By Patrick G

Jan 4, 2020

Very interesting introduction to the fundamentals of hotel distribution. The material is not outdated (2015) but should included more recent documentation, as we are in 2020 now... Also, many links are not available.

By James C

Jun 9, 2017

Learning from basic. The material is enough for fundamental level.

The exam question was a bit difficult because there was no similar examples in the course.

By Malcolm C

Jan 18, 2016

Very insightful. Highly recommended for anyone who is new to hotel revenue management. A good foundation course for hotel marketing and distribution.

By Daniele A R A

Mar 13, 2018

Review assignments by colleagues I believe is not the best way to learn and avaluate, teachers must do that, our grades must be given by teachers.

By LINAMARIA B

Sep 20, 2020

I personally feel that the works reviews and explanations are not a good methodology for learning on platforms, is better by exercises and exams.

By Silviya P

Feb 23, 2021

The course was very good. The only negative is that it isn't updated, the materials are all old and things in the industry are rapidly changing.

By Simone A

Jul 9, 2017

Extremely informative. Wait for grades can sometimes be annoying.

Information delivered in a very clear and understandable manner.

Thankyou.

By Israel N A

May 11, 2020

Well explained, concise and quick.

I would have expected more of the complementary readings. 2015 articles are not relevant any more

By Darshana T

Apr 6, 2020

Clear explanations, good overview and content. Some links provided are not updated, it would be great if this could be looked into.

By Jill F

Oct 18, 2015

Subjects are not covered in depth but it's a comprehensive overview. Looking forward to the next courses in the specialization.

By Pitanu B

Apr 9, 2020

I found the course very interesting, even after having been in the travel industry for several years. I would l recommend it.

By Arc m

Jun 2, 2019

I think its great basic course .

Feedback on the coursework its too slow , however there is great content in it.