Chevron Left
Back to How to Create an Online Course

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How to Create an Online Course by The University of Edinburgh

4.6
stars
113 ratings

About the Course

Learn how to design and develop online learning materials. Digital education is expanding faster than ever before, and learning online has become an essential part of how we teach and learn. On this two-week course, you’ll learn how to create online learning materials that are open, accessible, and engaging. You will complete practical activities to explore key topics such as target audience, writing style and narrative, active learning, and digital tools. You’ll be equipped to create targeted, interactive, and inclusive content to thrive in the eLearning sector. The knowledge and skills you develop will enable you to confidently begin your own course design process....

Top reviews

LB

Invalid date

Brilliant course- short and straight to the point. The additional resources materials are very useful.

LI

Invalid date

It is very helpful to all who wanted to study this course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 47 Reviews for How to Create an Online Course

By Samantha M

Jul 21, 2023

Not as helpful as I would've hoped. A lot of the information imparted is quite basic and/or common sense stuff. I was hoping for more on online tools, and the nuts and bolts of how to actually get an online course on its feet. This was more about the planning of a course.

By Salomi S

May 10, 2023

Very useful course with short precise information that provided the knowledge of what digital tools to use with a lot of interactive discussion prompts. The content was easy to follow and gave a good understanding on how to develop our own online course. Thanks to all the professors and wishing goodluck to the fellow learners in their journey of creating their own online courses!!

By Catherine L

Jun 9, 2023

An excellent course. Really well-paced giving great advice and insight into how to structure material and ensure accessibility for all.

By Offutt C

Jun 8, 2023

This course has good information about theories and also provides some practical uses. I had hope to have more guidance for the actual creation of the online courses but it is a good beginning for that.

By Lisa

Aug 13, 2023

The course certainly followed the principles it advocated, but I found it choppy and felt it didn't flow well.

Some links and things were presented multiple times. While I can see that having a link or bit of information right at hand is convenient, it was confusing because I'd be expecting a new bit of information only to find an old one. Perhaps if these things were labeled as things we've already encountered when they're re-shown, it would have been better.

Almost all of this was readings. Honestly, I'd have gotten through faster if the entire thing had been an article in a PDF. The podcasts were hard to sit through with no visual component - why couldn't they have been videos?

I felt that more attention was given to personas and accessibility than to the actual course content. Naturally, every student has a different online course in mind for himself, but it might have helped to provide a sample online course we could all have worked through as an option (the sample or your own course).

The value of the digital tools was vastly diminished because none of the links to FutureLearn's tools worked, and no other, similar tools were given. Please correct that.

Finally, it would be good to explain at the outset that this is intended for *short* online courses. Not every online course needs to be short. While the information can certainly be used for longer online courses, I got the sense that short courses are now the thing. I hope not! Most of the MOOCs I've taken have been online equivalents of semester-long college courses. I have noticed the trend toward 4 - 6 week mini courses, and I find that frustrating.

By Stephen G A H O

Jul 24, 2023

I really enjoyed the pace and material the course provided. I think it definitely accomplished the objectives described at the beginning of the course. The bunching of content was ideal and the readings and videos were insightful and useful.

By Mary C

Jul 20, 2024

Excellent course for those who are interested in creating their own online course, or who have been feeling a bit lost trying to do this. Lots of great resources and the information is in an easy to digest format. Thank you so much!

By Silvia A

May 14, 2023

I consider this couse fantastic, because I know about create online session, according students profile, identify active learning, digital tools, content and so on.

By James M N F

Jul 18, 2024

Short but sweet: highly informative, clearly presented, most exemplary for all those wishing to enter the sector of Instructional Design. Cheers!!!

By Ilgiz M

Jun 30, 2023

The course is well-organized and the knowledge is provided systematically. I am grateful for this learning opportunity. Guys, enjoy learning it!

By Rebecca W

Jan 2, 2024

Engaging and informative, covers lots of information in a way that’s easy to digest and come back to when you have short chunks of time.

By Bryan D

Oct 30, 2023

The materials of this training not only enrich the knowledge of the learners but also give very nice insights on the modern learners.

By Christopher C

Feb 5, 2024

This is a very educational course for those looking to learn more about creating online content with an educational focus.

By Karen C

Mar 1, 2024

really good introduction to concepts such as understanding your audience, creating content and how to check understanding

By Jeff B

Apr 12, 2023

I really enjoyed this course. It was insightful and had a lot of great resources I can use for my own course designs!

By Khin M M M

Apr 19, 2023

Thank you so much our teachers who corresponding to this course as well as Coursera team.

Thank you so much.

By Luba B

Jul 18, 2023

Brilliant course- short and straight to the point. The additional resources materials are very useful.

By Tiffany S

May 15, 2023

This course will help me as I continue to build an online presence as an educational professional.

By MARIZA T

Feb 26, 2024

Hands-on course with very interesting ideas and tools that can be immediately put into practice.

By Sonia v

Aug 17, 2023

I learned a lot and i am feeling confident to start work online with the help of this course

By Ali N

Dec 13, 2023

Great learning experience and my favorite is the resources documents

By Asif A

Apr 28, 2023

It is very informative course. I have learn a lot new things.

By Anand R

May 26, 2024

Concise and yet comprehensive. Very informative. Thank you.

By MARIA B

Sep 18, 2023

I'm now confident to write and promote my own online course

By Loga I

Aug 31, 2023

It is very helpful to all who wanted to study this course.