Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for HSK 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for HSK 1 by Peking University

4.9
stars
1,967 ratings
613 reviews

About the Course

Nǐ hǎo! 你好!Welcome to Chinese for HSK Level 1 - a Chinese course for beginners. My name is YU Bin. I am very happy to meet you here! HSK stands for Hànyǔ (Chinese) Shuǐpíng (level) Kǎoshì (test), which is the most important Chinese proficiency test in use today. It assesses non-native Chinese speakers’ abilities in using Chinese in their daily, academic and professional lives. Chinese for HSK Level 1 is the first part of the 6 levels and assesses test takers’ abilities in the application of everyday Chinese. It is the counterpart of Level 1 of the Chinese Language Proficiency Scales for Speakers of Other Languages and the A1 Level of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. You will learn:  30 video lectures with dialogue role plays by PKU students;  More than 150 commonly used words;  Around 50 key grammar points;  New words and texts via audio;  Quizzes for each lesson and HSK test papers;  Videos for 70 basic Chinese characters (optional);  Supplementary materials about China (optional). In short, the course covers the four skills although only listening and reading are tested in HSK. At the end of the course, you will be able to understand and use simple Chinese phrases, meet basic needs for communication and possess the ability to further your Chinese language studies. Have a fantastic journey of Chinese learning. For more information about HSK please visit: http://english.hanban.org/node_7581.htm....

Top reviews

AG
Jan 4, 2019

finally an online course that delivers, great way to kickstart or reboot your chinese. the formula of the lesson is simple and easy to follow, a fantastic way to start, definitely moving on to HSK2

TR
May 22, 2019

Excellent course, Yu Bin explains the material very well and the content is well organised. I would have liked further explanations on the grammar and additional practice exercises beyond the quiz

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 611 Reviews for Chinese for HSK 1

By Tayren N B

Jun 10, 2019

I learned a lot during this course and it was presented in a manner that made learning easy and fun. I loved this course and would recommend it to anyone who wants to learn Mandarin.

By Apichaya S

Jun 3, 2020

This course is very good for every beginners. I really recommend for you who want to use Chinese for traveling and the one who want to have a fresh start learning Chinese at home.

By Kelly P

Dec 25, 2016

Good course. There's a lot of vocabulary and grammar. It was helpful for me. I've been studying Chinese in China for 3 years and I still found some useful things from this course.

By Chitkanya B

Apr 23, 2020

so great, the lecturers speak slowly that making me understand the reason easier, pinyin is everywhere and conversation part is my favorite, it help me a lot. Thank you so much.

By Raniel B

Nov 15, 2020

Thank you Coursera and Peking University for this wonderful opportunity to learn the Chinese language. Good job to all the persons behind this program. Good bless you always!

By Daniela M

Apr 7, 2019

I have applied to refresh my Chinese after several months without studying it. I really like the way the course is organized. Now I will continue with HSK2.

Thank you so much!

By Robert P

Aug 6, 2018

This course was easy to follow and complete. The video teacher, Yu Bin, spoke clearly and took her time to explain the next lesson. I'm keen to achieve the next HSK 2 level.

By Mario

Aug 2, 2020

I learned so much from this lesson! I like how the instructor makes sure learners comprehend completely every reading or conversation. I would totally recommend this course.

By Gayatri P

May 8, 2020

Great course for beginners in Chinese language. Easy to comprehend and interesting. The professor taught really well and dialogues, quizzes made the process of learning fun.

By Nicolás O

Jan 1, 2020

Very organized course structure. It motivates students to keep learning the language after completing the course and offers some cool insights into Chinese culture as well.

By Aleta P

Jul 2, 2020

This course was intense, but very helpful! There is so much great material to prepare the HSK test and it introduced a lot of fun vocabulary beyond the HSK 1 word list.

By Jesslyn A

May 8, 2021

really worth it, the course is excellent, I get to improve my skills and get to know more verbs also they also teach the grammar which my teacher never explained it :)

By Paulo T G

Jul 29, 2020

love it pretty complete and very well explain, just hope you can get better audios some of them is hard to understand but still pretty good i cant wait to start HSK2

By Eyenunwana N

Nov 19, 2018

Really impressed with the curriculum in this course. By the end, I could both speak coherent sentences in Mandarin and read some parts of articles written in Mandarin.

By Jorge L C B

Dec 29, 2020

I encourage you all to take this course! This course covers everything you need for HSK test and more! don't hesitate, for real this is the best you're going to find!

By John C

Jan 14, 2019

I found this course a good introduction to the basic Chinese level tests and also a very helpful introduction to the language and basic vocabulary to get you started.

By Malin M

Dec 7, 2020

Overall, the content was great. However, I found the videos for writing Chinese characters were too fast. Perhaps, the videos could be improved by writing it slowly.

By Maria A D

Jun 18, 2021

The course is excellent, very easy to follow and entertaining. The teacher is very clear when explaining. The weekly exams are very good and help for the final exam

By Tan C L

Nov 12, 2020

Perfect learning. Thank you Yu Bin and the HSK team. You have done well and encourage all foreigners to take up this ease of learning course by Peking University.

By Andre H

Dec 20, 2019

Excellent course. Very well organized and I like how we can listen to the dialogue on it's own as well as read the dialogue sentences in both pinyin and simplified.

By Astrid R P

Jun 29, 2017

As an absolute beginner in Mandarin, this course significantly helps honing my listening and reading skill. I'm very thankful for the enjoyable learning experience.

By Sajia A

Aug 15, 2020

Love this course. Learn a Lot. For the explanation and steps to let you learn in details and strategically, this course is best for the beginners to learn Chinese.

By blondie

Jan 2, 2020

Fantastic course. It covers all the HSK1 vocab and includes grammatical information too. Highly recommend it for understanding basic chinese and how to read it.

By Rina G M D

Nov 19, 2020

I can say it's perfect from organizing the course to implementing the topics. I hope I can personally meet Shifu Wu Bin and the rest who organize this course.

By Mark D R

Sep 30, 2020

Good Job for the learning Chinese that I brush up my language since I've learned this before. Also, culture and diversity are very good to have here to learn.