Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for HSK 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for HSK 1 by Peking University

4.9
stars
1,484 ratings
477 reviews

About the Course

Nǐ hǎo! 你好!Welcome to Chinese for HSK Level 1 - a Chinese course for beginners. My name is YU Bin. I am very happy to meet you here! HSK stands for Hànyǔ (Chinese) Shuǐpíng (level) Kǎoshì (test), which is the most important Chinese proficiency test in use today. It assesses non-native Chinese speakers’ abilities in using Chinese in their daily, academic and professional lives. Chinese for HSK Level 1 is the first part of the 6 levels and assesses test takers’ abilities in the application of everyday Chinese. It is the counterpart of Level 1 of the Chinese Language Proficiency Scales for Speakers of Other Languages and the A1 Level of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. You will learn:  30 video lectures with dialogue role plays by PKU students;  More than 150 commonly used words;  Around 50 key grammar points;  New words and texts via audio;  Quizzes for each lesson and HSK test papers;  Videos for 70 basic Chinese characters (optional);  Supplementary materials about China (optional). In short, the course covers the four skills although only listening and reading are tested in HSK. At the end of the course, you will be able to understand and use simple Chinese phrases, meet basic needs for communication and possess the ability to further your Chinese language studies. Have a fantastic journey of Chinese learning. For more information about HSK please visit: http://english.hanban.org/node_7581.htm....

Top reviews

AG
Jan 4, 2019

finally an online course that delivers, great way to kickstart or reboot your chinese. the formula of the lesson is simple and easy to follow, a fantastic way to start, definitely moving on to HSK2

TR
May 22, 2019

Excellent course, Yu Bin explains the material very well and the content is well organised. I would have liked further explanations on the grammar and additional practice exercises beyond the quiz

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 471 Reviews for Chinese for HSK 1

By Laura F

Jan 26, 2020

I think that this course has many strengths, such as helping you pronounce Chinese well, and covering a range of vocabulary content. The videos and dialogues were also useful for practising listening skills, and the inclusion of the full texts of the dialogues was good for reading practice. However, some of the grammar points could have been explained slightly better; the majority were really well done though. Also, the course is not big on teaching writing (e.g. stroke order), but as a course for complete beginners, this isn't a huge problem. If you wanted to carry on learning Chinese or wanted to be able to read and write really well, you would definitely need additional resources. Overall, I really loved this course as a comprehensive, engaging, and well-taught introduction to Mandarin and how to learn it. It's perfect for beginners and a great first step to learning Mandarin.

By Jose_P

May 22, 2017

This course is great for gaining a solid foundations of the Chinese language, as it covers the basics of the characters and tones in the first week, from then on each week goes with fresh lecture sessions that increase the vocabulary and grammar lessons. Also, the video lectures at the beginning of each week contribute very much for developing and honing the listening comprehension for daily conversations.

By Eugene G

Jul 7, 2019

This course helps to start learning chinese language. In some cases the grammar explained quite briefly, sometimes it's not quite clear the particles meaning, when they are required and when they are optional and how the meaning changes depending on whether it's used or not. Also, video dialogs are quite fast, hard to grasp the meaning when you only start learning the language

By Jennifer s

Dec 4, 2017

This course moves very fast. It is nice to have the online option to go back and review, but would love to have built in practice/repetition more frequently and at a slower pace. So thankful for this course and the opportunity to begin to learn some basic Chinese. It would be great to have flashcards attached or downloadable and more tone practice. Thanks!

By Elly Q

Apr 14, 2018

Me gusto mucho llevar este curso en mis vacaciones, ahora que regrese a la universidad he visto una mejora en mi nivel de chino y gracias a la dedicación que le dí a este curso y a los materiales que aquí se brindan. Espero poder continuar los demás cursos más adelante. Muchos éxitos a todos el equipo que forman parte de este curso :D Taiganxieninle!!

By Martin S

Apr 18, 2020

Not for beginners!

I completed this course to refresh what I had learned previously -- and this course was quite good for that. It's fast-paced and mostly based on listening to enjoyable dialogues, which I liked a lot. But be warned: There's only few dialogues, no practise material, and hardly any repetition of previous lessons.

By Emmanuel T

May 1, 2019

Very good pace and progressive in the learning, thank you!

Really good videos, people talk slowly, which helps a lot, vocabulary builds up progressively too.

I would recommend a bit more use friendliness at the last test (need to jump back and forth between the audio instructions/dialogue and the questions)

ET

By Adam G

Apr 18, 2020

The materials were well organized. The course could benefit from providing a running list of the total characters required to understand a given lesson. Also this seems like a very hard way for someone to have their first interaction with Chinese learning.

By miki t

Oct 16, 2018

It is a good introductory course; the teacher is likable, and the content is fun. However, I feel like the last a few lesson were not as good as the first ones. The quality of the dialogues gradually decreased towards the end.

By Nicolas D

Aug 1, 2017

Cours très intéressant. Simple et clair. J'ai suivi ces enseignements en parallèle de cours en Institut. Cela a été très complémentaire. HSK1 largement validé. Je recommande et ai hâte de passé au niveau 2.

By Finian M K

Aug 29, 2020

I feel like some of the dialogues were a bit off-topic or unusual/unnatural. Other than that, very good course and highly recommend as something to do during quarantine if you're still in it (like me)

By Sonya D

Jan 2, 2019

I found this course very useful. The way it is set up worked well for me. The only difficulty I had was that the videos and soundtracks were "too heavy" for my internet connection here in China.

By Muhamad A B A B

Jul 12, 2020

Thorough content as it covers a lot of basic topics.

However, the explanation video isn't loud enough - I need to adjust volume every time different videos played.

By Cindy J

May 15, 2020

Fantastic course to review the HSK 1 material and get started onto learning Chinese. Would love to see more culture notes though in future versions of the course!

By Ana I C

May 8, 2020

This course is best fit for beginners who know nothing about Chinese yet. It's also a great refresher course for students who already know a bit of Chinese.

By Emmanouil T C

Dec 2, 2016

Very nice and instructional. Some minor mistakes here and there (it had two lectures with the videos in the wrong order). Looking forward to the next ones.

By Eike R H

Nov 3, 2020

Guter Kurs für die Vorbereitung auf den HSK 1 Test, allerdings könnte er didaktisch etwas aufbereitet werden (Langsamere Dialoge, weniger Überforderung).

By David M L H

Jun 5, 2017

It follows the basic structure of teaching a foreign language, with the expected "My name is ...". The will help candidates memorise the key phrases.

By Cappy B

May 28, 2017

I signed up for this course because I'm going to visit China. It is a great class for people like me who have never studied Chinese before.

By Arjun S

Jun 21, 2020

Maybe the tests can be redone to make them less confusing? But good course overall, study the particles and vocab in between lessons!

By yvon l

Sep 10, 2020

Pretty good for beginners

There was work put behind the dialogues and the acting

Nice job from Peking U for this first course

By Fernando S

Oct 29, 2017

Is very good if you have a previous knowledge of chinese, if not, it will be very difficult to get the pronunciation.

By Nil

Nov 18, 2020

Great course, maybe too much information to asimilate each day. But, with a bit of effort you can pass it.

By Arifah A R

Jun 27, 2018

the instructor speaker word by word. It is easier for me to find the tone.

By Laura W

Feb 7, 2018

A well-organised course that provides good preparation for the HSK 1 exam.