Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for HSK 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for HSK 1 by Peking University

4.9
stars
1,496 ratings
479 reviews

About the Course

Nǐ hǎo! 你好!Welcome to Chinese for HSK Level 1 - a Chinese course for beginners. My name is YU Bin. I am very happy to meet you here! HSK stands for Hànyǔ (Chinese) Shuǐpíng (level) Kǎoshì (test), which is the most important Chinese proficiency test in use today. It assesses non-native Chinese speakers’ abilities in using Chinese in their daily, academic and professional lives. Chinese for HSK Level 1 is the first part of the 6 levels and assesses test takers’ abilities in the application of everyday Chinese. It is the counterpart of Level 1 of the Chinese Language Proficiency Scales for Speakers of Other Languages and the A1 Level of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. You will learn:  30 video lectures with dialogue role plays by PKU students;  More than 150 commonly used words;  Around 50 key grammar points;  New words and texts via audio;  Quizzes for each lesson and HSK test papers;  Videos for 70 basic Chinese characters (optional);  Supplementary materials about China (optional). In short, the course covers the four skills although only listening and reading are tested in HSK. At the end of the course, you will be able to understand and use simple Chinese phrases, meet basic needs for communication and possess the ability to further your Chinese language studies. Have a fantastic journey of Chinese learning. For more information about HSK please visit: http://english.hanban.org/node_7581.htm....

Top reviews

AG
Jan 4, 2019

finally an online course that delivers, great way to kickstart or reboot your chinese. the formula of the lesson is simple and easy to follow, a fantastic way to start, definitely moving on to HSK2

TR
May 22, 2019

Excellent course, Yu Bin explains the material very well and the content is well organised. I would have liked further explanations on the grammar and additional practice exercises beyond the quiz

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 474 Reviews for Chinese for HSK 1

By Eyenunwana N

Nov 19, 2018

Really impressed with the curriculum in this course. By the end, I could both speak coherent sentences in Mandarin and read some parts of articles written in Mandarin.

By John C

Jan 14, 2019

I found this course a good introduction to the basic Chinese level tests and also a very helpful introduction to the language and basic vocabulary to get you started.

By Tan C L

Nov 12, 2020

Perfect learning. Thank you Yu Bin and the HSK team. You have done well and encourage all foreigners to take up this ease of learning course by Peking University.

By Andre H

Dec 20, 2019

Excellent course. Very well organized and I like how we can listen to the dialogue on it's own as well as read the dialogue sentences in both pinyin and simplified.

By Astrid R P

Jun 29, 2017

As an absolute beginner in Mandarin, this course significantly helps honing my listening and reading skill. I'm very thankful for the enjoyable learning experience.

By Sajia A

Aug 15, 2020

Love this course. Learn a Lot. For the explanation and steps to let you learn in details and strategically, this course is best for the beginners to learn Chinese.

By blondie

Jan 2, 2020

Fantastic course. It covers all the HSK1 vocab and includes grammatical information too. Highly recommend it for understanding basic chinese and how to read it.

By Rina G M D

Nov 19, 2020

I can say it's perfect from organizing the course to implementing the topics. I hope I can personally meet Shifu Wu Bin and the rest who organize this course.

By Mark D R

Sep 29, 2020

Good Job for the learning Chinese that I brush up my language since I've learned this before. Also, culture and diversity are very good to have here to learn.

By Eleanor R W

Aug 13, 2017

Excellent teaching material. There were lots of listening material and more natural conversations which really helped me understand the material. Thank you!

By Yulia K

Nov 22, 2018

This course has a very detail and clear explanation. Very good to start for beginner. This course also introduce basic cultural knowledge of China as well.

By Estela d A J

Jul 8, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, I think it's very helpful for a basis in chinese language and the way it presents the HSK test structure is also very good!

By Luis D E

Feb 24, 2018

I liked it a lot, it was so useful to progress in my language learning, you might want to have other resources to study, otherwise it will be a bit hard.

By Joevanie C J

Nov 14, 2018

Great instruction from Peking University. If you want to be comfortable with the basics of Chinese language, this is the course that you're looking for.

By Asmaa M A A

Aug 23, 2020

It was really fun and full of fruitful information and the teacher deliver it in very interesting way and i really gained so much vocab that i can use.

By Robin B

Apr 5, 2020

The instructer has done justice to the course by introducing languge in the most practical way that can be used in day to day life without much effort.

By Marisa C G

Sep 9, 2020

Es uno de los mejores cursos de idiomas que he tomado, los diferentes módulos ayudan con el vocabulario y la gramática básica para formular oraciones.

By EDUARDO C O M

Aug 17, 2020

If you are looking forward to learn chinese, this is the right course. Its contents are designed for those who have never had a single Chinese course.

By Huy P T

Dec 19, 2016

This course highlights why Coursera is now one of the giants of MOOCs! I don't think you can't find courses like such at most of (?) other MOOC sites.

By Lesley A V

Nov 9, 2016

Excellent course! Professor Yu Bin is a fantastic teacher! :-) I have learned so much on this course and can't wait to start the next course! Xiè xie!

By Fatih D

Oct 25, 2020

If you want to learn Chinese, this course is the right choice for beginning. They teach you not only Chinese but also how learn and practise Chinese.

By Vo N T T

Sep 23, 2018

I learned a lot knowledge from this course. Teacher YuBin voice is very nice . I like her way of teaching. Highly recommend this course for freshers.

By Katrin R

Nov 25, 2020

Very good course. Very well structured and explained with a lot of optional material about Chinese culture and China in general. Highly recommended!

By Nguyen D T T

Oct 3, 2020

The lecture is well-prepared and I highly recommend this course for beginners like me. Thank YU BIN teacher and the Chinese for HSK 1 team a a lots.

By Marie K

Mar 29, 2020

Thank you so much for this course! Its amazing and very interactive. I am going to continue with HSK2 . Everything is clearly explained and its fun!