Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
11,302 ratings
3,930 reviews

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

SM
Jun 10, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

YV
May 30, 2020

Many thanks to the creators of this course! It was a very solid refresher for me, even though I have spent in web development a few years by now. I thoroughly enjoyed every lesson. Thank you, Yaakov!

Filter by:

3401 - 3425 of 3,839 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By Shashi R

Jul 11, 2018

This is one of the best course for the HTML,CSS and Javascript. The lecture given by Yakoov Chaikan sir for each topic is explained in a very simplified way and easy to understand. Now i have confidence in my knowledge.

By Huseyin O

Mar 8, 2021

Course and instructor are good to learn essential web design. But this course need update on some parts. For example bootsrap version is old that used on this course but I already have seen 'new tutorials coming soon'.

By Wesley J

Sep 25, 2020

The course was very informative and challenging at the same time. The resources provided were very beneficial and helped me learn HTML, CSS, and JS. I recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn web development.

By Reem K

Oct 16, 2020

This course is amazing and I highly recommend it for absolute beginners to get a kickstart. However, I felt like JSON and AJAX week's content could be improved even more with more thorough explanation about the whys.

By Amit S

May 3, 2018

Excellent course to learn about the basics of HTML, CSS and Javascript.

I wish there could have been more exercises that could have been done post the course completion and more detailing on the JavaScript and Ajax.

By Nikhil B

Jul 17, 2020

Every Module is explained very well but i didn't understand the last Module properly for the 1st time because we didn't explain every part of javascript completely which became though for many students like me.

By Nihal J

Jul 26, 2020

This course is very helpful to grasp knowledge of web development. Instructions are very clear and understanding. Tutor teaches everything very thoroughly. Very helpful for me I enjoyed learning this course.

By satyendra

Aug 18, 2020

Course became complicated after 3rd week and hard to grasp it due to unavailability of hard coding. Please try to code with us rather than paste the worked code which makes difficult for us to understand.

By Kanishka M

Aug 8, 2016

A much appreciated course !!! This course give me a boost in my studies further in Web development. Will appreciate Johns Hopkins University team if in future you will provide the course on Node.js as well.

By Saran

Aug 17, 2020

The course is very helpful to learn the basics of how web page work.I learnt Html,CSS,JS

basics and in detail.It help me lot about responsive website.

Excellent work was done by Yaakov. He made it very easy!

By Ahsan S

Feb 9, 2020

Course is good but the content of course is too old because I thought rather than bootstrap you need to teach flexbox which is good for bigeners and it's a new thing and some JavaScript content is old too.

By Komal K

Oct 13, 2020

Actually the best online course i have ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

By Sujay R

May 15, 2020

Great course to start learning front end web development. The HTML and CSS segments were very good. The concept of creating a website throughout the course gave it a better understanding of the concepts.

By Apoorv

Jun 30, 2020

It was a perfect course for front-end development. For me it was the last week that made all the difference between a 5 star to a 4 star rating. Other than that it was as good as they get. Amazing work!

By Chi-Hui C

Dec 3, 2019

This course is good for beginners of HTML, CSS, and Javascript. But it's a little bit outdated in 2019. Of course, to be a front end web developer, you have to learn more than HTML, CSS, and Javascript.

By Carson W

Aug 21, 2018

I'm completely new to coding and this course covers HTML and CSS well so you will get a good understanding but when it gets to Javascript, be prepared to study outside of the course it gets pretty hard.

By Naing O L

Jun 4, 2020

I like this course.

This course is really helpful for the web beginners.

but I only rate for 4 stars.

I think the assignment is not too clear and I have some problems in doing it especially assignment 5.

By Lency B

Mar 3, 2021

one of the best course to build base and strong foundation of front end web, with detail explanation by the instructions .

cons was this course should be updated with latest css animation and flexbox

By Mian A U R

Jul 12, 2020

An excellent course for beginners. 5th week was a bit rushed i.e JSON,Ajax and jquery. So i had a really hard time getting grasp of them and took a star out of my review. Otherwise wonderful tutor.

By Nicole M

May 27, 2016

Besides the Course been very good, I thing it could be a little bit harder. After watch the lectures of Module 3, I got sad because the Assignment didn't asked for a lot of things we have learned.

By Khamliuk E

Sep 6, 2020

Great course with structured material. A lot of explanations on "why" and "where it comes from". Yaakov is a great speaker. But I'd prefer more difficult practical tasks during week 4 and week 5.

By Shreyajyoti D

Jul 10, 2020

A lot of things learned from this course...but I think the last module should be better as it was the toughest among the all and require more explanation. But thanks for the course by the way.

By Markus G

Nov 6, 2020

The presentation of the theory deserves five stars. But especially in the JavaScript part I would have preferred a bit smaller chunks and more coding assignments. Therefore "only" four stars.

By Fahad K

Jul 19, 2020

Overall course was good but too short course according to covered material. not everything elaborated well & not doubt instructor has extraordinary knowledge and excellent way of deliverance

By yenny S

Dec 31, 2019

it's hard if you are not into coding, but the guidelines are good and the material very complete. it needs updating as some of the resources had changed or moved since it was put together.