Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
11,537 ratings
4,012 reviews

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

SM
Jun 10, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

YV
May 30, 2020

Many thanks to the creators of this course! It was a very solid refresher for me, even though I have spent in web development a few years by now. I thoroughly enjoyed every lesson. Thank you, Yaakov!

Filter by:

3551 - 3575 of 3,924 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By Yago L

Nov 11, 2020

Great course and I learned a lot, but the last two assignments could have some improvement into something more interesting.

By Anthony J

Feb 23, 2016

Loving this course so far! Fairly in-depth, yet still easy to follow. Lecturer is easy on the ears and keeps one captivated

By Sampad K S

May 22, 2021

Ajax was a bit fast. I troubled understanding all the codes. The rest of the course was fun and I learned many new things.

By Amit M

Aug 28, 2020

Good Course . But week 5 should have been discriptive about ajax and Use of Javascript in it . Otherwise ,the best Course

By Nijohn R

May 22, 2021

bit outdated javascipt lectures. The instructor is working on new lectures . Pls wait and enroll in the updated version.

By Martin A

Jun 14, 2016

This is the best Intro to web development course on Coursera. The other courses don't take the time to explain the whys.

By SANKA M K

Aug 25, 2020

lectures related to javascript and ajax ,json of restaurant website was very fast and there was no proper explaination.

By Julian A M R

Oct 26, 2020

This course needs to be updated in some sections, but in general terms I found great value on the displayed content.

By Oude A

Dec 10, 2017

amazing course thanks a lot for Professor Yaakov Chaikin, It was very easy to understand the content of this coures.

By Mariangel R A

Aug 17, 2020

It's a good course but need a big update because is hard to try to do everything with the old version of the code.

By Raunak K

Mar 16, 2016

Fourth week of the course was too much to handle and imbibe.

Could not practice and complete within stipulated time

By Ratnadeep D C

Jun 11, 2020

Amazing teacher and amazing content. But, I would be happier if ajax in module 5 could be taught in a better way.

By Sandor I

Aug 18, 2019

Great and enjoyable course, for using javascript effectively definitely another course, further study is needed.

By Sumit K

Jul 6, 2019

Course content are old still excellent. If they can update new material it will become great beneficial for us!!

By Roopa G A

May 16, 2016

Very good session on the basics and Javascript. This gives overall good idea on the Web application development.

By Johanna O

Jun 3, 2021

I really like this course so far. If it wasn´t for a video that was not up to date I would give it a five star.

By Mariam B

Oct 17, 2020

It was fair and well up until week 4. At week 5 I believe things started to get a little messy and out of hand.

By Juan D S

Aug 2, 2020

It's a great course. It's a good start point to frontend development. It even would be better if you update it

By Mohd M

Jul 8, 2020

The content of the course is pretty good. Almost every important topic is covered and explained in a nice way.

By ANURAG K

May 29, 2020

GOOD FOR PERSONS WHO KNOW LITTLE ABOUT WEB DEVELOPMENT.GOOD COURSE FOR PROFESSIONAL WHO WANT TO GET CERTIFIED.

By Marco A C

Oct 8, 2016

I feel that I need more explanation about the code, I don't feel capable to solve different problems on my own

By Parth M S

Jul 28, 2020

Great Course and a great mentor indeed. However felt the need of more videos and documentation of Javascript.

By Amjed N

Dec 11, 2020

A very good course but I wish some updates would take place, other than that I enjoyed it and learned a lot!

By Preethi V

Feb 7, 2017

I already feel like a web developer, all thanks to Yaakov Chaikin. Its been a wonderful and exciting course.

By Bill T

Dec 20, 2016

I learned a lot of basics on front-end programming.CSS was through - the Java Script side felt a bit rushed.