Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
12,446 ratings
4,350 reviews

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

SM
Jun 10, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

SW
Mar 14, 2016

This was a really great course, i learned so much, and it was really interesting and very well explained. I will be taking any more courses done by Yaakov! Really excellent course, thank you so much.

Filter by:

4176 - 4200 of 4,323 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By AJAY C

Sep 13, 2020

Like it

By sivaprasad

Aug 20, 2017

v good

By Govind K

Jun 15, 2016

Goov\d

By chen h

May 6, 2017

Good!

By Miguel A M L

Feb 13, 2017

grea!

By VYOM K

Aug 19, 2021

Nice

By Sonali M

Jul 5, 2021

good

By Priya K

Nov 24, 2020

nice

By Asil G

Oct 21, 2020

Good

By Noman F

Aug 10, 2020

Nice

By Prasanna K

Jul 19, 2020

Nice

By Ayush

May 25, 2020

Good

By Alok r

May 12, 2020

good

By Tae S H

Feb 18, 2017

Nice

By Agrim N

Nov 5, 2019

/d

By Muhammad H

Oct 16, 2021

By Sakshi s

Sep 20, 2021

4

By JYOTI S

Aug 4, 2021

By Nazanin N

Jul 22, 2021

T​o start with the totur is fluent, he delivers the topics very well and he knows whats he doing. But there are few issues

1) the course is from 2016 so you might have to search google to download few things at beginings (its not imposible just be patient) 2)week 1 and 2 are perfect, but when it comes to bootstrap in week3, its bootstrap1. We now have bootstrap5, so many classes does not work at all unless you download boootstrap 1 files (but dont, its waste of time to learn bootstrap 1 classes and switch to 5) 3) tha javascript course is really really confusing. he assumes you already have a knowledge in programming and starts to teach it. I had a really hard time understanding what he is doing and why he is doing that. To be honest if i go back i would get another course, because this ones information is really old.

By Federico S

Sep 17, 2021

The course is very good. I have learned a lot more than other sources. The teacher explains the different concepts on HTML and CSS very well. In fact, now, I understand all about them very well, but the Javascript and Ajax modules are not as clear as the HTML and CSS modules. I think the last 2 modules were better to tackle them in another course with more in-depth explanation because in this course it is very fast with ready code and the reasoning behind it so I think most people of this course are unfamiliar with Javascript and Ajax. This is my feedback. I'll love to see other material by Yakoov. It will be interesting a Javascript and Ajax (or Angular JS) course apart by him. By the way I thank Yakoov for this course. I hope you take my suggestions. Federico

By Sara H

Jul 8, 2020

There are 5 modules in this course, of which the first 3 are great and well explained, Mr Yaakov does a great job at explaining the basics and slowly making it more challenging.

Unfortunately, the last 2 modules (which are Java Script) are extremely confusing and difficult to follow, making it overwhelming and frustrating.

The last Java Script module (Module 4 and 5) require prior programming knowledge, which was not specified prior to starting the course and did not state exactly what kind of 'basics' we need.

I understand there is an updated version in the works, I hope some of the feedback regarding the Java Script modules is taken into account.

.

By Motuma A

Feb 20, 2017

Good lessons but the issue for me was that some of the video content was a little outdated. For example, it doesn't cover the update version of github website and how to use it. That being said directions sometime can be a little bit confusing. Another thing is some of the instructions are not clear for instance the guidance to how to submit an assignment. It is also intimidating that questions cannot be answered directly and if you want answers you have to dig a little bit dipper to get exactly what you are looking for.

By John C

Mar 6, 2018

First 3 weeks were very easy, beginner easy, the last two not so at all. a big step up in complexity and quite challenging. This course has lots of videos, but simple concepts and content is difficult to filter out. There are no written handouts providing further content, you are referred to books. It is best to have there and be familar with them before starting this course. John Duckets books are great for HTML and CSS.Simple and direct, without the fuss.

By Hajar O

Sep 6, 2020

I thank the creators of that course and the instructor Mr Yaakov for his efforts. It was an useful and an interesting course in spite of the fact that I found some difficulties with understanding what the instructor is doing in some parts of the course because sometimes it seems that he is skipping to explain the reason of using some methods or steps.

About the assignments at the end of weeks, they were really helpful, good and also easy to do.

By Yewen Z

Jul 3, 2020

In general, I like the ambition of this course which tries its best to include HTML, CSS, JavaScript all into one course. However, in doing so the material is pretty challenging for someone who just starts learning web technologies and I personally find it very hard to keep up with my understanding when it reaches the final week. I hope the course can be improved better by designing materials that are easier to start with.