Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
16,251 ratings

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

HR

Invalid date

it was a great experience to learn something innovative from johns hopkins university.

teachers have explained each and everything properly

thankyou coursera thankyou johns hopkins university

AM

Invalid date

A very detailed and comprehensive course with lots of skills to acquire and knowledge to gain. I would recommend it to every person since web development is skill with lots of demand in global market.

Filter by:

5551 - 5575 of 5,687 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By Tirtha

Aug 7, 2021

The first two weeks on HTML and CSS were quite good. After going to Bootstrap it started becoming tough as a complete beginner but somehow seeing the videos twice made it bearable. But man from fourth and fifth week onwards it became hell. It was like some sort of literature class where you were told a bunch of stuffs without defining why to use them or their proper use. We were just taught that this is how you do and you have to do it like this but honestly it does not help in the long run. SO ITS A BIG NO FOR A COMPLETE BEGINNER . IT SHOUL BE A INERMEDIATE COURSE.

By Jesse D N

Oct 22, 2021

Let me start off by saying, this is not a great course for beginners. It skirts over a lot of HTML and CSS in the first two sections. I have learned more from Udemy about how to program in HTML and CSS than on this service. The information is also out of date as well, considering the course references GITHUB features that no longer exist (videos are from 2015) and trying to learn how to create static pages in order for you to get your assignments peer reviewed is difficult. I want to unenroll from this course.

By Zeeshan F

Aug 11, 2022

Content of the Course is too old, It needs to be updated like float left , clear properties are replaced by flexbox and grid system which is used very much nowaday's is not included in it. Many more flaws they should look upto. Anyway, it was fun having the course with Coursera. The main thing is to be notified is to not bake the code before the lecture write it down along the lecture just because i think this way it would be much easier to understand the concepts and the working of the codes of lines.

By Mary M

Jan 29, 2017

Setting up the development environment is sadly dated. GitHub has changed and doesn't match the videos so any information delivered doesn't help get someone up and running. Videos run way to fast when someone is working between multiple windows to accomplish tasks. Update info in videos and course would have value. Expecting people to pay to update tech skills in unrealistic in todays competive environment when you are competing against other pla

By Mehdi b

Aug 13, 2021

to be honest, the courses were really helpful until JS part, the courses are going too fast from week 3 to week 5 especially for َ Ajax, I'm pretty much sure that people without any background knowledge, can not understand what is really mentioned in the courses. also, the contents were out of date, many things have changed from 2015 especially bootstrap and HTML5, so courses need to be updated but it is clear that it's never gonna happen.

By Ahmed h

Jun 25, 2020

one of the most annoying thing to me is that most of people are using windows and it is so hard for them to understand mac even if you tried to explain it to them , also because the versions of apps which is being used in this course are so old , the up to date windows 10 versions cannot download browser sync as the node.js version in this course is so old . also the FAQ of this course is not explaining the problems very well.

By Zhiyang W

May 26, 2022

You'd better learning this on Youtube if you don't really care about that certificate. The version of video are from 2015, expecially in the first modul, they uesed some very old version of software for demostation. You barely get any coding exsercise before your first coding assignment, which is terrible. The course was arranged super unreasonable.

By Deilyn

May 27, 2022

There are a few videos that have outdated material. Many students in the discussion forums have complained about this. It is difficult to complete assignments. The students have to figure out how the tools that are used in this course work now days on their own. Please update the material for this course so we can learn better and faster.

By Jeff T

Apr 12, 2022

This course is outdated and should be removed. The method of teaching is very confusing, especially during the Javascript lectures and assignments. I've seen better teaching methods on YouTube. I feel bad for people watching this and english is their second language. Definitely remove or update the content and videos.

By Adam H

Oct 10, 2021

It's about 6 years old. Outdated material, though CSS and HML isn't too bad. It's bootstrap that's lacking. The modern version of bootstrap doesn't work well with what this course teaches you. I'm sure it will be a decent beginners course once they update it. Until then, there are better ways to learn.

By Rui C

May 16, 2023

Unfortunately I didn't really appreaciate the teaching method that this course follows. I'd recommend you to follow a youtube guide instead of this. I was provided financial aid for this course and I wasn't able to finish it due to lack of motivation because of the bad course design.

By YUANG E T C

Nov 3, 2022

At the beginning it looked like it was a great course, and it is but what it doesn't says on Coursera is that it is an old course, it works with old versions of softwares and during the course it was a bit hard to understand only with the information provided by the lectures.

By Mandy G

Nov 16, 2021

The teacher is great and engaging, but I am going to have to leave this course and choose a different one because it is very outdated. The programs you need to download for this course don't exist in those same formats anymore, so this is kind of useless.

By Sergey K

Jul 18, 2018

Superficial look on Ajax/JS. Maybe this framework should be avoided in the course. Just to make qualitative focus on simple scripts. Frameworks and ready made libraries are useful but spoil the deep understanding of basic things, making them noizy

By Louis C

Aug 15, 2021

The course needs to be updated. A lot of the functionalitiy is old. You cannot really do that much at least in terms of projects and git because it is outdated and there is now paywalls.

By Axel R

Mar 24, 2019

Few tasks, just a lot of online lectures. When you had gone through all the lectures and were finally going to start to code. You could not remember all that information.

By Hemanth R

Sep 22, 2019

The course seems way complicated when it's supposed to be an easy one.

The manner in which they give out information is also confusing and seems rushed.

By Ahmed S

Jul 11, 2016

the Course content is great and the Tutor is doing a great job but I didn't like the fact that i'm forced to use Github to submit my assignments

By Tyler S

Jul 8, 2024

course is very outdated and requires you to learn heavily from FAQ. I would recommend finding a different course to start as a beginner.

By EUDES F

Mar 28, 2024

O curso é bom mas está muito defasado. Conteudo de 6, 7 anos atrás. Talvez quando houver uma atualização eu volte a faze-lo

By Hareesh R M

May 22, 2022

Most of the features are outdated. For a newbie it will be hard to understand this. Please update the videos.

By peter G

Oct 8, 2022

most of the info is outdated eg i was unable to catch up with the lec in git hub he used an older version

By Malte

Feb 16, 2024

Some nice aspects. Very well explained box model in html, but outdated and i would not recommend

By Zeinab N

May 26, 2022

this course is old and also it's not good for some people like me who are absolute beginner

By brahmjot s

Mar 6, 2017

very bad course but i have come to the point that it is ok for the beginers