Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
16,213 ratings

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

SM

Jun 10, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

AM

Aug 19, 2023

A very detailed and comprehensive course with lots of skills to acquire and knowledge to gain. I would recommend it to every person since web development is skill with lots of demand in global market.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 5,672 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By Diego G M

Jan 29, 2021

Teaches you the basics on HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. However, many parts of the course are outdated. I only recommend the first two parts of the course.

By Negar H

Jan 28, 2023

this course needs to be updated.

By Ricardo G

Mar 7, 2023

Please update your course.

By Lydia K

Jul 3, 2020

The HTML and CSS sections were good, especially for beginners. I took other HTML/CSS courses before and struggled with some specific concepts that this course was able to explain in a way I could understand. However, the Javascript section was very poorly taught. I can say that I have no idea about Javascript even after barely passing Weeks 4 and 5.

I think the way it was presented didn't really teach you how to do things or help you understand concepts, but rather, "This is what we need to do for this specific project, just memorize what I'm doing without any explanations for why I am doing what I am doing," in addition to the fact that you only get one coding activity per week - the final assignments. I think that the course really needs to have a system where students regularly are practicing their code they are learning, not just learn ~20 lessons and have a big assignment at the end. Maybe some students can learn through rote memorization, but I feel many students, including myself, would struggle because we aren't being taught the actual concepts.

I would honestly say that maybe after some self-study on HTML/CSS and even JS would be a better foundation, and then maybe take this course once you know the fundamentals, because if you are anything like me, you'll just need to go back to self-study for JS to understand the basics after taking this course.

By timmell g

Jan 17, 2022

RATING: 2.9

The guy is an "excellent" teacher that explains the content of HTML, CSS very well but the issues are the tools you have to install and properly setup.

Git and Bootstrap:

These two issues were so horrible.... I can't turn the work in. I'm not super tech savvy and step by step is important to a novice. The tutorial for installing GIT and BOOTSTRAP are totally outdated. Its frustrating when nothing matches with what he's saying especially when you have no idea how the program actually works.

Sadly, as suppose to updating the video he decided to write out some if scenarios. Its a section where its "read changes" but those are outdated too. Horrible experience with this and I work 10hrs a day so I don't have much time for tinkering.

I paid $100 for this, therefore I have higher expectations and desire little complications for my learning. I paid that amount for the level of competency from the teacher otherwise I could have paid $9-$20 for a UDEMY course.

I think he explained the content very well (better than anyone could on UDEMY) but my education is hindered by a lack of valid information. He didn't explain what GIT was just said download and follow these steps that don't apply anymore.

Pro: Great Teacher for coding and content

Con: Lack of information and direction on tools and how to properly install

By Nikolai H

May 23, 2021

5 years out of date; you are directed to the FAQ to solve some issues related to this, but a big chunk of this course is based on Bootstrap 1, when the version number is now Bootstrap 5, and many of the things he teaches have changed completely. You'll have unlearn some of your notes from that segment.

You are not told until Week 4 that you are expected to have basic programming experience to understand the Javascript portion, and that you will struggle if you don't. He suggests finding a basic programming tutorial somewhere, but gives no specific resources. The basics I was able to find online did not help me with what he was teaching, and it was extremely frustrating. I was barely able to finish the course. In a course that is otherwise for absolute beginners, that prerequisite should have been stated up front.

Even if it was up to date, I would hesitate to rate this course well. I learned a fair amount in the HTML & CSS segments, and it was useful to see his process for building an actual website, but there were many convoluted explanations even then. And frankly I'm really annoyed that I was only told I need a programming background after already investing 3+ weeks in this course - past the refund threshold, for those paying for certificates. I would have chosen a different course if I'd known.

By Anik R

May 3, 2020

I would be very very happy if i could give 5 star to this course beacuse the instructor is awesome and he explained things beautifully but THE COURSE IS PRETTY OUTDATED.

I am struggling from the beginning this course as the course is recorded in 2015 or 2016 now github changes a lot,somehow I figured out Github but the main problem is Bootstrap.Oh man thats really frushtating week 3.They used bootstrap version 1 but in 2020 bootstrap 4.3.1 is running . In 2020 these are not Acceptable

By Daniel G

Dec 18, 2023

Outdated information, made my motivation and interest on this course dissipate. The "Development Environment Setup, Part 3: Github and Browser Sync" 17 minute video, felt greatly out of date, and taking into account it was pretty much one of the first videos, it simply made me lose interest on this course. A shame, really; since you can tell this is a nice instructor and there must be some useful info in here. I just wish it were up to date. Thanks for reading.

By Amirdha A A N

Jul 30, 2023

This course only gives us the introduction of html, css and javascript. It has old content (2016). Assignments are not good. Week 5 is simply waste of time.

By Sahil J

Aug 9, 2020

Its very confusing when you dont have same options and things dont happen the same way

By Harsh K

Aug 28, 2020

First of all clear the meaning of keywords before using them in code.

By zeenat p

Jan 7, 2021

Some issue in completion of this course.....can u plz hlp me??

By Yuri A E

Mar 4, 2021

it was outdated and hard to follow the instruction

By Jayden O

Feb 11, 2021

jumps really fast with out much explanation

By Huzaifa

Apr 29, 2021

The instructor is going way too fast.

By Rohit V

Jun 30, 2020

Module 5 should have been way better!

By Anmol K

May 31, 2020

after 2 week you were very fast

By Abhishek K S

Aug 18, 2020

JS and Azax is not clear

By Aldo R A A

Jul 8, 2020

Very outdated

By Michael S

Aug 4, 2021

No doubt this was a good course in it's day but the videos are five years old and everyone associated with the course seems to have dropped off the face of the Earth around the same time. The Github site seems to be gone and the last post on the course blog is from October of 2017. Predictably, the first time you are asked to do something in the course with the software, the instructions don't make sense because there have been about 500 updates to each of the software components since the video. On the second command I'm asked to perform, my command prompt doesn't recognize the command and that's it. There's no one to answer questions and nothing you can do except try to find another course.

On a positive note, if you are lonely and trying to find someone to talk to, there are about fifty discussion board pages of frustrated students asking questions that have zero replies, so y'all would probably hit it off.

By Bogdan C

Apr 10, 2020

Obsolete. You are required to install a program called Node, in the video there are n steps, in reality, there are n+x steps. When he checks the version he has 4.something, I have 12.something. Not to mention that the program comes with all sort of other things that are installed (that are not in the video) - that I have no idea what they are. The GitHub current layout does not match the video, and at some point, you are required to press a button that no longer exists. Bottom line, the course is obsolete and don't trust that the things the software was supposed to do 5 years ago still does today.

By Sven F

Oct 30, 2022

I'm just into the first week of that course, and it feels like a big nothing burger.

One week in, he's giving us deep dives on details one could easily discard. What i mean by that is, that in the python course i took, after one week, i was already programming.

Here, one week in, im still painfully going though the meanings of the meanings.

I gotta get my knowledge somewhere else. That course is not for me.

By Briana T

Mar 16, 2023

so out of date. this is the worst class i've ever taken. want to spend HOURS NO SET UP and not be able to submit anything. take this course. want to rewind a lecture 1000000 times because it's so slow and the comands aren't in the terminal? take this class. missed the refund by 3 days cause i've been trying to download one program. .very upset

By Ijaz A

Dec 6, 2022

It's never a beginner course. There are a lot of things to learn in the course but everything is presented so robotically that the learner underestimates their ability to learn new things. The contents are also outdated. So, be mindful of your decision to take the course.

By M. G M

May 8, 2024

Unfortunately, the instructor did not update the outdated GitHub information at the very beginning foundation of the lesson. The students are left without answers to fend for themselves. This needs to be more professional. I would expect better from Coursera.