Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
16,193 ratings

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

AM

Aug 19, 2023

A very detailed and comprehensive course with lots of skills to acquire and knowledge to gain. I would recommend it to every person since web development is skill with lots of demand in global market.

SM

Jun 10, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 5,667 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By M.SOWMIYA

Mar 21, 2021

Gud

By Gaurav S

Feb 14, 2021

osm

By RITANSHU K S

Nov 17, 2020

osm

By Mohit k

Jul 14, 2020

nyc

By KUNAL M

Jun 21, 2020

wow

By Roshan P

Jun 12, 2020

Nyc

By jiajun

Mar 15, 2016

fun

By keerthana s

Sep 12, 2020

/.

By Saurav K

May 17, 2020

gg

By Archit

Apr 14, 2016

:)

By Bhargav S G

Mar 18, 2016

T

T

By Akshay N

Aug 17, 2020

.

By POKALA D G

Aug 10, 2020

N

By Abhishek K D

May 24, 2020

.

By Anniruddh

Jun 3, 2016

W

By Jillian U

May 16, 2022

I went into this course with no previous experience in programming. Overall, I would say it was a very helpful introduction to the subject, especially the HTML and CSS modules. I feel like I got a general understanding of how these two programming languages work and how to utilize them to build a simple website. The lectures were straightforward and interesting and the assigments were helpful, hands-on practice that gave a sense of accomplishment.

The last two modules, which covered JavaScript, definitely got more convoluted and more difficult to follow. The Javascript assignments were fairly simple and yet didn't leave me feeling like I had much understanding of what I'd really done to complete them. I think this part of the course material could have been explained better or in more depth.

My other criticism of this course, as also stated byb many other reviews, is how outdated it is. It took a lot of extra time to set up for the first assignment because a lot of things with GitHub and the various software has changed. However, I would not let this dissuade you from taking the course, I actually think doing some of my own research and figuring things out was helpful in getting things to stick in my brain. There are a lot of people with similar questions so you can usually find answers in the discussion forum or on sites like Stack Exchange, just be aware of the extra time needed to complete assignments. I hope that Johns Hopkins University will update this course soon to make it a bit more useful for current times.

By Dmytro Y

Jan 20, 2021

Sorry in advance for my english.

Pros - Theory, presentation, organization. In general, the course is delivered very well, it is interesting to watch, the lectures themselves are delivered beautifully and informatively. A trip to a client is a very interesting move. Instructions for the tasks and in general all the material (main and additional) is very useful and well structured.

Cons - Partly material, tasks, difficulty level of some topics. Outdated technologies are used (which is actually logical, after all, the course is old, but during this time it has not undergone changes in accordance with the development of technologies), mostly bootstrap, but there are also many small points that are no relevant and teach bad code (iife). Tests that I would like to replace with tasks. Tasks that are too simple and few of them. There is also a problem with a jumping level of complexity and missing explanations to the code. It will be quite difficult for a beginner to master this course.

In general, I recommend the course for educational purposes with the possibility of skipping part of the content.

By Leonardo M

Jul 22, 2020

I think this course fulfills its purpose in providing a comprehensive introduction to the three basic web development components, and showing the ways they are implemented through a real project. The problem is that, from what I can tell, this course is almost 5 years old and there doesn't seem to be any kind of update or revision, many times I got errors or bugs in my test code while following the lectures, with no way of telling if I did something wrong or something changed in the implementation. Also, the coding assignments felt way too simple for the amount of content that was presented in each module, even without having a good grasp of the concepts it's easy to get a 100 since the comments basically hold your hand through the code.

In general, for someone like me who had basic knowledge of HTML and no prior experience with CSS and Javascript, I got what I expected and I feel much more confident in learning more about web development, but the course definitely shows its age, so there may be better options nowadays.

By Dominik M

Mar 17, 2016

This course was great in terms of material composition and the lecturer! I learned a lot and will definitely recommend it to others. I'm also taking the AngularJS course, because I really liked this one!

On the down side: in my opinion, the assignments (especially week 3 & 4) could be more challenging, as the course is targetted at web developers, so people familiar with coding. I found them quite easy. I understand that the last assignment was aimed mostly at forcing students to view all the lectures or get familiar with the provided code, but doing something bigger for the assignment (or at least without such obvious hints) would be a nice challenge and bring more value to the certificate, I think.

Splitting week 4 into two with separate assignments is also worth considering, as there was a lot of material covered in the last week, in my opinion (but I may be biased, as I went through the last week in a hurry, because I was late with my assignment).

By AKHILESH S

May 3, 2020

Cons: 'let' and 'const', which are important concepts of JavaScript haven't been discussed. Differennce between window and global isn't discussed but used interchangeably. Assignments of module 4 and 5 are most of the part easy, they could be made a bit harder. I felt that Ajax code could be made easier to understand. I gave extra 3x time just to understand the Ajax from other sources and then the ajax code present here.

Pros: Apart from all the cons mentioned above it is nevertheless a recommended front-end web development course for beginners. You will learn HTML, CSS, bootstrap, git(hub), JavaScript, ajax, http, a bit of jQuery, DOM, etc. Just an advice to the students: don't be afraid of using external resources to understand the concepts better, specially Ajax, document, window/global, Http requests, rest API and jQuery. w3schools and MDN are the go-to sites for this course.

By Jackson D

Jul 24, 2020

I have already undertaken a primer course like this through Coursera but found this one to go into more of the specific terminologies and concepts at a granular level. I thought overall the pacing was good and the application to a real world application in the form of a restaurant website was helpful in grounding the concepts. I have marked the course down a star because some of the information relating to Bootstrap is now very much out of date. There are a number of elements that no longer function the same as the Bootstrap framework has moved on quite a bit (4.5 at time of writing) and this course has not been updated to account for those changes. I found the odd piece of javascript didn't function quite as it should as well, also probably due to the age of this course. I found the Week 5 module quite difficult but would say I've learned a lot from this course.

By Daniel S

Oct 31, 2021

HTML & CSS were very well taught. But JS -- especially week 5 - not very well taught - confusing. Yaakov said in the video that you need basic programming knowledge before learning JS, although I was under the impression that this was a beginners course. I even had a little JS background before this course but understanding AJAX/Week5 would be easier if it was less rushed. For JS especially, I also think that assignments & practice quizzes could've been more frequent. I wish JS was taught better. The course is also outdated. I was so confused with Github, and I think I finally understood it better in week 5, haha, just by luck/repetition. Regardless, I did learn more about HTML/CSS and JS. So taking this course was helpful. Thanks for a relatively good course!

By Khadidja A

Nov 28, 2020

This course is a very good introduction to web development, and for a good reason too. It covers a wide range of topics and concepts in a short time. I don't think it's suitable for a total beginner in programming.

Sometimes it felt overwhelming - trying to keep up with the instructor's pace. I couldn't finish the course in five weeks, by the way, although I studied every day. That's because I felt I didn't have the chance to practice coding enough, and I tried to practice on my own.

If I may suggest an addition to the course, it'll be some scattered tiny coding exercises in the quizzes maybe. I believe this will give learners more confidence and help them to test their knowledge and skill.

By Daniel L

Feb 28, 2017

This is a very good introduction to HTML, CSS and at some extent to Javascript.

The first two topics were very well explained in details. The classes had a good pace and every topic was made very clear. The exercises at the end were a good challenge that matched the level of the course and gave us that extra incentive to push a little bit beyond.

The Javascript part was a little faster than the previous two topics (HTML and CSS). If only one thing should be corrected at this course I'd say that the same pace should be followed for Javascript.

I'd definitely recommend this course as a great introduction and one of the best courses I've taken at Coursera so far.

By Jeff W

Mar 4, 2016

The class is very well put together and the instructor does a great job explaining things. I enrolled in this class just to see how things worked on coursera and wanted to do that with a simple starter style course.

Personally I think that this course should have stayed away from ui-toolkits and js frameworks (maybe just using something like normalize.css or reset.css). Maybe going into more things like @imports and writing maintainable html. css, and javascript. Anyway, it is minor i guess because in the end you still had to do some overriding of styles so you did write some of your own css.

All-in-all it was a fun first course for me on coursera.