Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
11,306 ratings
3,932 reviews

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

SM
Jun 10, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

YV
May 30, 2020

Many thanks to the creators of this course! It was a very solid refresher for me, even though I have spent in web development a few years by now. I thoroughly enjoyed every lesson. Thank you, Yaakov!

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 3,843 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By Juan P

Nov 11, 2020

Too much video of Yaakov programming.

By Rohit V

Jun 30, 2020

Module 5 should have been way better!

By Anmol K

May 31, 2020

after 2 week you were very fast

By Abhishek K S

Aug 18, 2020

JS and Azax is not clear

By Christina A

Mar 12, 2021

Not up to date

By Indrajeet B J

Oct 2, 2020

good

By Mohamed M

Aug 7, 2020

good

By Sai M D T

May 9, 2020

good

By Bogdan C

Apr 10, 2020

Obsolete. You are required to install a program called Node, in the video there are n steps, in reality, there are n+x steps. When he checks the version he has 4.something, I have 12.something. Not to mention that the program comes with all sort of other things that are installed (that are not in the video) - that I have no idea what they are. The GitHub current layout does not match the video, and at some point, you are required to press a button that no longer exists. Bottom line, the course is obsolete and don't trust that the things the software was supposed to do 5 years ago still does today.

By Mirna M e S

May 24, 2020

the course itself is awesome, the teacher is great, but it looks like it was left aside and nobody takes care of it anymore. the forum doesnt help, thats just people asking to review their things and even if you post something looking for help there are no answers. its really outdated in the point that you cant complete the assingments without long hours of trying to go around that. its really frustrating. i really liked the classes and yaakov is a great teacher, but this course really let me down

By Marianne Z

Oct 29, 2020

Instructions are out of date and user has to toggle between FAQs, the course, and their own work, which becomes very confusing. Programs needed are not free (for example, sublime).

Also, the instructor is using a Mac and all examples shown are on a Mac, which makes it quite difficult for Windows users.

By Tip 0

Oct 8, 2020

EL CURSO ES MUY MALO HAY MEJORES CURSOS Y MAS COMPLETOS EN YOUTUBE, POR EJEMPLO EL DE PILDORAS INFORMATICAS, SI BIEN LA TEMATICA ES INTERESANTE EL CONTENIDO DEJA MUCHO DE DESEAR

By Weaam A

Nov 14, 2017

I took many courses in coursera and they was very clear except this course .

The task of any teacher is to making any course easier , this teacher makes everything very complex

By Matthew M

Feb 27, 2021

I had to quit the course right at the beginning as all the setup instructions are out of date and I knew I was in for a very frustrating experience.

By David H

Feb 9, 2021

Zero stars. Course materials are not remotely close to github. Can't even get started with this.

Horrible; no redeeming qualities!

By Andrei S

Nov 5, 2016

This course is actual for Mac machine, all instruction are for Mac only. I use Windows so it unuseful for me.

By Girik G

Jul 2, 2020

This Course is so un-interactive and boring,I don't recommend buying this course at all.

By vaibhav S C

Sep 5, 2020

he doesnt teach well very poor...please dont waste your time in this course

By Adriel L

Nov 22, 2020

Week 1 is where the twilight zone starts.

What a bummer.

By Muskan A

Jul 14, 2020

The course is too outdated and is a little confusing.

By PRIYANSH S

Jun 15, 2020

worst course donot explain anything properly....

By Harun

May 7, 2021

too fast, almost impossible to follow him

By Eric O

Apr 8, 2021

Very outdated and confusing.

By Maksuda R

Aug 17, 2020

Lacakage of details.

By Diana M

May 11, 2021

Update the videos!