Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
12,446 ratings
4,350 reviews

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

SM
Jun 10, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

SW
Mar 14, 2016

This was a really great course, i learned so much, and it was really interesting and very well explained. I will be taking any more courses done by Yaakov! Really excellent course, thank you so much.

Filter by:

3801 - 3825 of 4,323 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By Lency B

Mar 3, 2021

one of the best course to build base and strong foundation of front end web, with detail explanation by the instructions .

cons was this course should be updated with latest css animation and flexbox

By Mian A U R

Jul 12, 2020

An excellent course for beginners. 5th week was a bit rushed i.e JSON,Ajax and jquery. So i had a really hard time getting grasp of them and took a star out of my review. Otherwise wonderful tutor.

By Nicole M

May 27, 2016

Besides the Course been very good, I thing it could be a little bit harder. After watch the lectures of Module 3, I got sad because the Assignment didn't asked for a lot of things we have learned.

By Khamliuk E

Sep 6, 2020

Great course with structured material. A lot of explanations on "why" and "where it comes from". Yaakov is a great speaker. But I'd prefer more difficult practical tasks during week 4 and week 5.

By Shreyajyoti D

Jul 10, 2020

A lot of things learned from this course...but I think the last module should be better as it was the toughest among the all and require more explanation. But thanks for the course by the way.

By Markus G

Nov 6, 2020

The presentation of the theory deserves five stars. But especially in the JavaScript part I would have preferred a bit smaller chunks and more coding assignments. Therefore "only" four stars.

By Fahad K

Jul 19, 2020

Overall course was good but too short course according to covered material. not everything elaborated well & not doubt instructor has extraordinary knowledge and excellent way of deliverance

By Richard M

Jul 31, 2021

I​ really enjoyed the HTML and CSS portions of the course. The Javascript portion was really tough for me with no prior coding experience. However, I did get a good grasp on syntax in JS.

By yenny S

Dec 31, 2019

it's hard if you are not into coding, but the guidelines are good and the material very complete. it needs updating as some of the resources had changed or moved since it was put together.

By Kalvin O

Dec 31, 2020

it was a good course, helped me build my foundation on web development and it was so helpful in my school project. The ajax and Json part was a little bit challenging since I'm new to it.

By Harshit M

Jun 28, 2020

It is a great course for beginners. I loved it till the CSS part after that I was stuck for a while and couldn't get it over. I guess thats my programming problem, otherwise its awesome.

By Kamil F

Aug 29, 2016

Course is great!

But I have to say there should be more practical excercises (writing code) through first and second part just to use html and css syntax in real world not only on quizes.

By Shaswat C

Sep 3, 2020

Nice Course overview and an unique way of taking us to the field trip. Gained a lot of insights on how to deal and expect from the clients professionally. Kudos!! Prof. Yaakov Chaikin.

By Frida G R C

Oct 20, 2019

Project assignments are too easy, I will like them to be more challenging. Other than that, concepts and explanations are very clear and leave space for your own research. Nice course!

By Ron D

Mar 20, 2018

Great course. At the end it became a little bit complex and a lot of content, but the way the course was set up works very well for me. A lot of fundamentals in it, too. I like that.

By Jeff F

Nov 26, 2016

It was a good course and very thorough. I did get a bit lost during the Javascript module. A lot of detail in a short period of time. Would prefer if that module might be simplified.

By Yuvraj M

Jun 2, 2020

Great course all the things or topics that are necessary for starting out webdev are explained beautifully.Learned a lot from this course.Looking forward to learn more about webdev.

By Shriya P

Aug 10, 2020

the course was great , i just think it's a little too lengthy , it can be broken down into 2 courses i think , which will facilitate a more detailed study . otherwise a good course

By Miguel A J V

Aug 30, 2021

Buen curso, el instructor explica muy bien los conceptos y como se aplican, solo observar que requiere una actualización porque no usa versiones actuales de algunas herramientas

By ANIRUDH L

May 17, 2020

This course really built a strong foundation in web development. But I do feel like they could've taught more and since the instructor was great, I would've loved to learn more

By JP

Nov 30, 2016

Would like to see a second part for this course to pick up where it left up. Maybe even discuss further week 5 material and more. Maybe have more coding assignments for part 2.

By Mymoon D

Aug 4, 2021

Good experience but javascript need more explanation or more work. To be honest that course was interesting for me to challenge myself to learn 🙃 new things. Thanks 😊 a lot.

By Kai K

Sep 16, 2016

It's a really nice introductory course and I have learned a lot. In the end, it's kind of loosing the depth though when it's comes to AJAX and applying JS for web development.

By SHIVAM S

Jul 12, 2020

I felt the module 5 was a bit fast because I had to slow down that module when Json and AJAX was introduced.

Else its an excellent course which everyone should register for.

By Shikha R

Aug 31, 2020

Sir its a very good course but plesse make your module5 little bit more understandable

if it is possible to do so.Because I have to put on extra efforts to understand it .