Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
12,455 ratings
4,352 reviews

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

SM
Jun 10, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

SW
Mar 14, 2016

This was a really great course, i learned so much, and it was really interesting and very well explained. I will be taking any more courses done by Yaakov! Really excellent course, thank you so much.

Filter by:

4251 - 4275 of 4,330 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By Samridh V

Jun 10, 2016

I like this course it is very easy because of the trainer

By Nahidul I

Jun 24, 2020

It was a great learning experience. Thank you Professor.

By El-Pachris O

Jun 28, 2021

T​oo much theories and explanations than practice.

By SARTHAK A

Jun 10, 2020

HTML,CSS was great but js was not up to the mark.

By Akhil C

Aug 3, 2020

Pretty average. Check out Angela Yu on Udemy.

By Inam K C

Aug 8, 2020

Lots of things changed since the video made

By Apoorva S

Aug 9, 2020

JavaScript Content should be increased

By Sophie T

May 25, 2020

old and not suitable for beginners

By Taha Z

Jun 15, 2021

very good but new updates needed

By ATUL S

Jul 14, 2020

very old content, needs update

By Mahdi S

Aug 29, 2021

these courses were so simple

By Vidit P

Jun 12, 2021

explaination could be better

By Ben G

Aug 17, 2021

Not suited for beginners

By Mahesh S

Jun 24, 2021

Covers only basics...

By Deepak S

May 25, 2021

Course is over hiped

By Buddol D R

Aug 31, 2021

not for beginners

By Harry H D

Mar 18, 2017

Very fundamental!

By Komal G

Jul 8, 2020

Good for basics

By Surbhi S

Aug 2, 2020

Amazing Course

By Deleted A

Feb 6, 2020

good

By Francis U

Dec 20, 2018

D

e

By Moritz G

Mar 12, 2018

Unfortunately this course was too difficult for my level. I had some very basic knowledge of html and have finished a course in Python programming. I thought this would give me enough of a general sense of programming before I'll get into this course. Unfortunately not the case and I gave up in week 2 although having paid for it. Mainly for two reasons.

1.The Balance between lectures and practice coding examples was definitely too much on the lecture side. Before you even start writing one line of code you're prone to watch 26 lectures already, each one of them introducing new concepts and syntaxes. With some of them being quite complex, this is way to much information too remember before one gets to the actual work.

2.The pace is too fast. I wasn't able to follow a single lecture with 100% video speed, as Yaakov's talking is quite fast and not always easy to follow.

An extensive course if you're very serious about web development and have at least already some basic knowledge. If you are a beginner, not recommended.

By Melissa G

Jun 26, 2021

Didn't even make it through Week 1- this starts off with multiple videos and lectures about all of these accounts to sign up for. Then, apparently we are supposed to know how terminal works and the codes to enter as this instructor just flies through all of the codes and material for that. The kicker is when he's demonstrating how to set up this plethora of accounts..... so much of it is out of date!!! And now I have to go look up how to actually do it since the lecture is not as relevant anymore?

There's no doubt this instructor is an expert in the field- but flying through material, repetitive and outdated videos for a ton of accounts and commands for terminal..... this isn't even the most slightest bit appealing or fun. It's aggravating and I barely made it to the HTML Lecture and I'm just done with this course.

By Olena K

May 13, 2016

Absolutely not apropriate for very beginners. Lacks explanation of "why" through all the videos, simply giving you information to remember "If you do this, this will happen". Such a structure of explanations doesn't give freedom in the future to do something different, as you don't get a general understanding of what you do.

Additionally, all course is tought in Mac. Some commands are different for windows, and they were not even mentioned in the videos! I did not sign up for this course to be forced to spend hours in Google, trying to find how to do something, that supposed to be explained in the lesson.

Overall, the course absolutely lacks attention to windows users and is not appropriate for absolute beginners.

By Cyntia R T G

Apr 24, 2019

This course is way too much outdated. Git/Github videos are not adherent to new versions and I had to rely on Forum to get the correct directions. On week 3 I was struggling to make glyphicons and menu work properly without success then I noticed that Yaakov recorded the videos with Bootstrap 3 and there were significant changes in version 4. It is time that´s why official documentation was not helping. Figure out the changes, specially for begginers like me, is hard and time consuming. When you update the course I´ll finish it and review it again with more stars. For now it is just waste of time.