Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
13,827 ratings
4,818 reviews

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

SM

Jun 10, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

MA

Mar 20, 2022

This course was short but very informative and very helpful for an aspiring leader like myself. It also helped me understand how to view or understand when I receive feedback. I highly recommend it!!

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 4,813 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By PHYO S H

Sep 12, 2021

I like free courses and free certificates from Coursera online learning. By studying this course I can get a lot of job opportunities and improve skills. In the future, the more qualified I am, the more jobs I will get. Hello my name is Phyo SiThu Htet. I was a student. I was 21 years old. I live in Yangon, Myanmar. I passed this course. I am very happy.

By Izhar A

Jun 20, 2020

I loved the course. The content on offer was very precise and knowledgeable. The way the professor teaches the course makes it even more fun. After taking this course, I am now more comfortable working with html documents, css styling, and examining a web-page at large. I would definitely recommend this course to everyone in the field of web developing!

By Pedro M N D S

Jul 14, 2020

This course takes a very thorough dive into HTML, founding basis to learn CSS (including some Bootstrap 3). Then it teaches Javascript in a kind of isolated manner, only to show next how it interacts with HTML and CSS in the context of the web development os a real application of a website. Finally, it shows some Ajax fundamentals applied to this case.

By Vanio F

Oct 14, 2016

Amazing course! I've tried to followed some online coursers on the same topic, but none kept me so motivated as this one. It is very complete and comprehensive course, and Yaakov teaches everything in a way that even the most complex subjects are easy to understand.

I really recommend this course to everyone who wants to learn any of these technologies.

By Esterling

Apr 30, 2016

The best classes I have ever had. I enjoyed every single lessons in the class, the assignments and grading other students assignments were fun. The last assignment is quite challenging, but it is worth learning. At the end of the class, I feel like I am a real developer, and ready for real world challenges. I highly recommend anyone to take this class.

By Muhammad I K

Oct 2, 2020

Very good course for making fundamentals, but would not recommend it for a beginner. Because the JavaScript section might be a little bit confusing for beginners. If you want to learn this course, I'll recommend learning the basics of JavaScript from w3schools.com. Then come back and you'll build some super solid foundation for your learning path! :)

By SARITA C

Jul 10, 2020

Yaakov is great instructor who taught HTML,CSS, Javascript, Ajax in simplest manner with all practical work and the great thing about assignments which helped a lot to identify whether we are learning or not. overall it was great course with package of multiple skills for web development, thanks to coursera and to the instructor. Highly recommended.

By abhinav k

Mar 28, 2021

My name is Abhinav, It was very good that I have learned lot of knowledge in this Html, CSS, and Javascript Web Developers . Now slowly I Have started creating a website . Thank you so much for Johns Hopkins University and Our professor Sir Yaakov Chaikin for teaching us so detailed and Sir explained the class's in next level. Thank you so much.

By Karina O

Mar 7, 2022

C​ourse is incredible and everything is explained clearly, but it's from 2015 and completing it in 2022 made me face some small issues. Loved the sense of humour of the lecturer. Hope the course will be updated soon and deadlines would be a little bit longer, but ultimately I'm very pleased with it and would definitely recommend to everyone <3.

By Xue

Apr 28, 2017

I like this course, I'm beginning of this part, don't have much(almost have no) background about web development. But this course is really nice organised and easy to understand. I also like the way to do the assignment, make me understand better, also by viewing other classmates work, also helped me a lot. Highly recommond. Thank you Yaakov. :)

By Taryn J

Aug 10, 2016

This course was great! The instructor was very knowledgeable and incorporated humor into the lessons, which kept me interested in the topic. I found the last section (Javascript) a bit challenging since I had no prior knowledge of the subject, but I was able to follow along enough to get a basic understanding. I definitely recommend this course!

By Katarzyna A

Nov 13, 2016

Definitely my favourite course so far from whole RoR specialisation! For such a short time course is packed with everything you need and hints where to search for more knowledge. Oh, and instructor is such a nice and bubbly persona which makes the whole experience even more positive, I wish I had this kind of teachers at my uni back in the day!

By Kayleb G

Sep 25, 2021

This was an excellently produced and taught course to help me further understand web development. I wish there was a newer and more detailed course that takes in account the more recent developments and resources used in current web development. Regardless I would highly recommend to anyone wanting to learn more of how website truly functions.

By Sourav K

Jul 5, 2020

Special thanks to Yaakov Chaikin Sir. The way you teach is just exceptional. Yeah this course is now a bit outdated but you provided all the important links that kept me updated with the latest technologies in web development. Thanks to Coursera and Johns Hopkins University for availing such a good course from such an awesome Professor/Tutor.

By Erik B

Aug 12, 2021

There was a lot to cover for someone like me who has never seen a line of HTML before but the teacher was very good as simplifying complex ideas and I don't feel like there was ever a time I came away from a lecture without learning something. Very good skill to have for the future and I'm glad I was fortunate enough to be a part of the class

By Jacob D E S

Jul 7, 2016

I can tell that the Professor undertook a lot of careful planning and execution in preparing this course for students. Yaakov Chaikin teaches the course in a fun, problem-solving way. I personally appreciate his clear enunciation of words and thorough explanations of his website-planning process and the tools needed to accomplish the goals.

By Shaikh A A

Jul 1, 2021

It is a very well-made course. One objection that I have is that the last week speeds up a lot and requires some more time from the learner's end to understand it all. All the jQuery and also the AJAX comes along very fast and requires more self-learning to understand it. Overall, it is an excellent course and I recommend that you take it.

By Trevor E

Jul 25, 2016

Although it took me quite a while to figure out how to push my solution on to github (was making me very mad), I figured it out!! I really like the way you teach lectures. I am giving you a 5 star because, I like the way you give resources and examples of each section you're teaching. I am leaning a lot and look forward to learn! Thank You

By Balasubramanian P

May 21, 2020

It was a wonderful journey, But at one place I got stuck,because of lot of things which was discussed in one module instead you can do it in two separate module, I'm talking about module5.we can do Ajax Basics as one module and working functions and examples in one module so that we can reduce lots of confusions and mistakes,Thank You.

By Alex Z

Aug 31, 2019

The JavaScript part of the course turned out to be a little harder than expected (concepts like prototypes, function constructors and a couple more) and had me go down a few rabbit holes, but the journeys were well worth it. Prof Chaikin is great at explaining and keeping you engaged the course. Great and fulfilling learning experience!

By Akshit K

Sep 28, 2020

Amazing course by an amazing instructor. The course is well made and makes sure every student can start from the very basics to more advanced topics in order to master the course. The lectures and course content are clear and explicit. Almost all important aspects of web design are touched without dragging you into unnecessary details.

By Antonio C A V S

Aug 14, 2020

Excellent course without any doubt! I've been a Java Web developer for more than 10 years and I must admit, Yaakov is right that many of the topics in this course not everybody knows them, so the course will give you the foundations you need to develop good quality websites even if you are a beginner or a engineer with some experience.

By Ajay K A

Jun 20, 2020

Great course! The concepts were very well explained and demonstrated with code. Building a real website using what was taught makes the entire process more concrete, and it shows the students that they can work on their own projects. Thanks to all who made this course available, and congratulations to the instructor on a job well done.

By Akash k

Aug 26, 2017

This course pointed me in the right direction as a start for web developing. I am writing this four months after i have completed this course. And just a few days back i got my first job as a Full stack developer in a StartUp. This is one of the best course for beginners . Tutor is excellent. Thank you so much for making the course .

By Nathaniel N

Mar 28, 2021

I learnt a lot in CSS and JAVASCRIPT. Also the course introduced me to JASON and AJAX. These are new areas I wan to explore more. There were many times I got stuck working on the assignment and perseverance saw me through. Great course! The JavaScript, AJAX and JASON appeared touch because I did not have the foundation. Thanks a lot.