Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
14,032 ratings

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

SM

Jun 10, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

MA

Mar 20, 2022

This course was short but very informative and very helpful for an aspiring leader like myself. It also helped me understand how to view or understand when I receive feedback. I highly recommend it!!

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 4,894 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By Balwant S

Mar 19, 2017

I first went through the Angular course first and after trying to learn Angular several times, I finally learnt it. That made me go to this course to refresh my knowledge of HTML, CSS and JS and I not only did that but I understood several concept also for the first time. An excellent course for everyone!

By Francois C

Apr 24, 2020

Good course. Short, but sweet. Moves very quickly from topic to topic in order to cover the spectrum in a short time. This is my first web dev training and I am most definitely better prepared to deal with minor web page rendering issues than i was before the course. Highly recommended for beginners.

By Kat T

Mar 8, 2017

As a systems programmer, this course was a great into to the world of web design. The introduction of HTML, CSS, and JS was absolutely perfect. The site definitely gets more difficult in the latter weeks, but with a bit of extra time everything I needed to succeed was there in the lectures. Great course!

By Diego L

Dec 3, 2016

I believe this is an excellent course because the fundamentals are explained in great detail. The instructor conveys his knowledge in a very precise way. I highly recommend this course for anyone who has a basic knowledge of web development because the last lectures can get a bit difficult for begginers.

By Aled W

May 18, 2016

Thank you for this course! it is helping me understand HTML, CSS and JavaScript from a working point of view, and it shows me how I can combine all the languages beautifully.

before I started this course I didn't have the confidence I would succeed as a developer, now I feel more optimistic.

thank you!

Aled

By Camie D

Apr 14, 2016

The material in this course was presented very methodically and accurately. Yaakov is an enthusiastic instructor, offering encouragement and motivation when topics get complicated. I appreciate that he thoroughly explained topics without brushing over details. Great foundation to layer more knowledge on!

By Kevin T

Sep 6, 2019

Probably one of the best courses in Coursera for people to learn HTML, CSS and JavaScript. The first 3 weeks can be for beginners, and I would recommend some programming background for the last 2 weeks. If you don't have any programming experience, 2 weeks is too short to cover JavaScript, DOM and Ajax.

By Javier A S

Jul 6, 2016

I feel this course has been a great way to be trained in many concepts in a little amount of time. Html, css, Javascript, bootstrap, jquery, github, ajax, json... there were some kind ob big scary names for me, and in just 5 weeks I'm in my way to master them, after a great first step. I've enjoyed it.

By Shubhangi M

May 31, 2020

I loved the course. Instructor will tell you the purpose of each and every element which he is using. He will explain everything so nicely. The examples are comprehensive and easy to understand. The most important topics of HTML5,CSS3 & JS are covered.

Thank you Sir Yaakov for teaching so efficiently.

By Rolando R

Jul 13, 2016

This is a good basic course to get started with HTML, CSS and JavaScript. The last two assignments did seem a little too easy and the last module feels a bit rushed through the Javascript code.

Nonetheless I would recommend this course to anyone interested with web development and the basic concepts!

By Musharaf S

Jun 15, 2020

This was an amazing journey of adapting professionalism and work smartly. The whole course is amazingly thought by the kind heart and soft spoken Sir. Yaakov Chaikin! He is an excellent teacher and I'm very thankful to him and Johns Hopkins University for producing such an enriched content.

Thank You!

By Sandra N B

Jun 27, 2016

Really stimulating course and very much worth the time and effort needed to keep up the pace.

I took advantage (due to illness) of the possibility of retaking the course, and am grateful for the chance to have finished all the weeks after the pause.

Very impressed by the lecturer's enthusiasm and help.

By Alenka

Mar 15, 2016

10 out of 5 stars! Yaakov, you are the best teacher in the world, and this is the best course in Coursera. If only this course lasted a bit longer than four weeks. I would really love to see you teaching just JavaScript in depth.

Many, many thanks to you and all the stuff crew in creating this course.

By Rushit G J

May 2, 2020

Yaakov sir teaches really well. Apart from his exceptional teaching skills, he is also a good mentor with professional skills. This course gives a very basic idea of the essential technologies needed for efficient web development. It is for everyone who has little or no knowledge of web development.

By Weronika P

Feb 21, 2016

One of the best courses I've taken on Coursera - it's straight to the point, very informative and comprehensive at the same time. The teacher is friendly and the kind of an expert who is able to pass on his knowledge in a simple way that everyone is able understand. I strongly recommend this course!

By Catalina A

Sep 7, 2016

Loved this course! Incredibly well structured and well explained content! The assignments were a little too easy for my taste but the explanations throughout the lecture made up for it. The instructor is very fun and engaging and explains the subject matter very clearly. Would definitely recommend!

By Jackie

Jun 9, 2016

solid teaching style where you mostly see code being worked out instead of see the teacher talk. he uses the command line, github and browser sync, which are all pretty useful. i wasn't too familiar with the extras, but it was a friendly introduction into how all 3 could be tied into HTML/JS/CSS.

By PRATIK

Jul 29, 2020

It was an great experience learning new concepts. its just that u need some prior knowledge about programming thats all. It really gives you much idea about web development and a proper training is given to develope a web page. was really a great experience. Thank you team Coursera and Yakoov sir.

By Anuja D

Apr 9, 2018

This course is short ,neat and clean ! Everything (video quality,Pace,Material) about this course is great ! I really liked the way Yaakov taught (Field trip and assignment part) which made me understand even better .

Now I feel more confident to code ,specially when it is responsive webdesign .

By MOJAHID H

Jul 4, 2021

The instructor Yaakov Chaikin tought this course very well. I liked him teaching style. The assignments are best part that help to learn the concept in better way. Only think that make me stuck is the lack of latest video lecture(it is about 5 years ago),but never mind course is very interesting.

By Sam S

Mar 3, 2021

The course provides great foundational and conceptual knowledge regarding HTML, CSS and JavaScript that is often lacking in other courses. All concepts are demonstrated with hands-on examples. All the lecture slides and code are available for review at any time. It was a very informative course.

By S. S

Jul 26, 2020

I like this course very much. Professor taught this course in detailed explanation and in simple language which helps me a lot to learn so many things and, I don't have words to explain more.

I Thanked to Professor Yaakov Chaikin for helping me to learn thin Course.

Thank you

Yours sincerely

Sandeep

By Rohit S

Oct 10, 2016

Just completed module 1 and i am really impressed by this course.I learnt so much and so easily that would not have been possible by reading books.. Keep up the good work and special thanks to Johns Hopkins university . Yaakov Chaikin is the professor teaching this course and he is too good :D

By Jason W

Aug 14, 2016

I used to go through W3school and Codecademy to start my coding learning as a front-end developer. This course perfectly blends in the knowledge I learned. Amazing! If you have read many chapters of HTML/CSS/Javascript but still don't really have an idea of what are you doing. CHECK THIS CLASS!

By Kamal K

Oct 15, 2020

The amazing course I have ever learnt. This course is fully updated. This course gives me an perfect experience about the how to interaction with clients. The instructor Mr.Yaakov, he is the good teacher and he teaches a each topic very clearly. I will say Thanks to My instructor and Coursera