Chevron Left
Back to Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
2,493 ratings
500 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to design technologies that bring people joy, rather than frustration. You'll learn several techniques for rapidly prototyping (such as Wizard of Oz Prototyping) and evaluating multiple interface alternatives -- and why rapid prototyping and comparative evaluation are essential to excellent interaction design. You'll learn how to conduct fieldwork with people to help you get design ideas. How to make paper prototypes and low-fidelity mock-ups that are interactive -- and how to use these designs to get feedback from other stakeholders like your teammates, clients, and users. Armed with these design-thinking strategies, you’ll be able to do more creative human-centered design in any domain. This is the first course offered in the interaction design specialization series. Browse through previous capstone projects for some inspiration here: https://medium.com/capstone-projects/capstone-projects-2019-abc67d3f6f26...

Top reviews

SM
Apr 10, 2020

I just loved this lesson! Lots of things to explore. A lot of hands-on experience. I am very pleased with the amount of theory and study that I have.\n\nI wish to thank UC San Diego & Scott Klemmer

SM
Feb 27, 2018

This course sustained my interest throughout the videos with lots of practical information and good pacing. I found the assignments to be challenging and fun to do. Really enjoying this course.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 482 Reviews for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

By Jeff M

Aug 13, 2017

The content and assignments in particular were excellent. I felt like I came out with a strong grasp of the overall concepts and felt prepared jumping into any of the following courses in this specialization. My only criticism would be the flow of the lectures is choppy and not as polished as other Coursera/Udemy/Lynda classes I've taken. At times it's a bit distracting, but overall it does not deter from the excellent material covered.

By kumku q

Jun 19, 2017

This is the first online course I have ever taken, so I might be being too harsh relative to other courses out there. However I think this course would benefit from more homework. I think Scott explained many things that were not necessarily applied in the assignments, and I believe putting all he said in action would be the best way to learn it. So I think more homework would be good :)

Otherwhise very well explained, great videos!

By Salau A

Aug 8, 2017

Its been a wonderful experience so far, and i can only keep it going. Thanks to this course i earned my first time interviewing a user, knowing the right questions to ask, making use of the answers and creating a better result for users. I loved the paper prototyping assignments because it gave us freedom to be creative, thinking out of the box and creating solutions. Thanks

By Melinda M

Oct 23, 2015

This was a pretty good course. Assignment 1, especially, was very useful (conducting a need-finding interview). The storyboarding assignment was good, too. The assignments weren't always very clearly written, and I could tell from my peer-grading experience that some of the students had trouble understanding what was asked, especially the non-native English speakers.

By Joss R

Jul 7, 2016

Amazing first hand course by Mr. Klemmer. He is very informative and clear onto his lectures. The assignments feel relevant and are just in the right doses. I have learned HCD in Industrial Design School before but Mr. Klemmer hits it out better out of the park. For the first time, I've actually understood and wrapped my head around the topic of HCD.

By Nishita B

Apr 10, 2020

A very engaging course to start. This one helps to understand how we humans came to interact with the computers, further, the structure helps to understand the values of need-finding via interviewing users, later you create "6" storyboards and finally you wrap up with Nielsen Norman's 10 Usability Heuristics for User Interface Design.

By Anastasia S

Feb 20, 2017

Thank you for the course, it was really useful! I like to get some knowledge about story boarding, paper and video prototyping and especially heuristic evaluation technics. Only thing I would change is to have more real examples and visual materials. Sometimes I did not understand material and I would happy to see examples.

By Kaushik K T

Jul 12, 2020

It was a good course for beginners. I feel that it will be easier to understand course materials if more examples are provided. Also, using easily understandable terms will be better.

The heuristic evaluation part was not clear to me in beginning and had to refer to various other resources to understand it properly.

By Anna B

Jun 14, 2016

Interesting, though instructor's participation and help could have been more noticable. The course has way many blank gaps and question, and all these questions are clarified by students - each with his own understanding. I think the instructor must be a person to answer all the question about the course. Thanks.

By Elaine C

Aug 9, 2016

Overall fantastic course with great content and homework assignments. The difficulty level was a little low, and the amount of work we were required to do was a little less than I wanted / expected. Sometimes the peer grading was not accurate, and I wish there had been more feedback in the discussion forums.

By Cinthy R

Jul 11, 2016

This course was a very good introduction of HCI, videos were very clear and the heuristical theme had plenty of examples which make really easy to understand them. I would have appreciated more assignments, since there were so many topics there was many themes that could not be learned in a deeper way.

By Gabrieller

Sep 28, 2016

Overall it's good, especially helpful for a novice like me. However, I did overcome some learning barriers in this class: PPTs are too theoretical, eg. there are quite a few PPTs full of words, and PPTs like that would easily drive me distracted and sleepy. Hopefully it'll be better^ ^

By SANIDHYA K

Aug 20, 2020

An excellent course with superb instruction. They can improve by suggesting more reading material. My only grievance is the lack of proper feedback on assignments. In all my assignments, I did not actually get any sort of helpful feedback. Cons of taking an online course I suppose.

By Jerod G

Jun 14, 2016

The assignments could have been more rigorous. Coursera should review the assignment submission process. I lost points (despite handing in a 100% worthy assignment) because my peers found it difficult to locate necessary information on my submission due to Coursera's system.

By Fang F

Aug 15, 2017

Just audited the courses, most of the content I have learnt in class but it is still worth I spending several hours to review it. Prototyping part is impressive and I am now considering to try video prototyping in my next project. Thank you!

By David R T

May 11, 2016

Not a great deal in the way of lectures and notes, but the value of the course lies in the hands-on assignments. Would recommend taking this course along with doing some independent reading for a more comprehensive primer of UX/UI.

By Veselin M

Aug 29, 2015

I find the discipline very interesting but the course was somewhat boring (except the tasks - the tasks were nice and interesting). The lectures were, to my recollection, the boring piece which reduces the score to 4 out of 5.

By Sabhya S

Dec 15, 2019

It was a very enriching course. Scott Klemmer has curated the program amazingly. The assignments constantly keep you in check and on your toes. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience of learning this course from UC SanDiego.

By Payal D

Sep 30, 2019

I liked the course and its content. I have a suggestion; I believe it'll be useful for the student to get a link to the resources that are displayed in the course video. I am looking forward to learning more.

By Francis X

Jan 19, 2017

I think the course helps to set a base for this. Gives a flavour and texture to HCD and helps take a plunge into it. Hopefully as the specialization goes along... it would become more advanced and indepth.

By LUCIA S B

Aug 14, 2015

I THINK THAT IS COURSE IS VERY GOOD. ONLY MUCH REQUERIMENTS FOR SEND WORK.HOW CHECK KEYBOARD AND SEND PHOTO WITH CAMERA IN THE MOMENT.WHEN THE CAMERA NOT WORK FOR DRIVERS USB AND ITS COULD SEND FILE PHOTO.

By Azusa W

Aug 28, 2017

Good content, interesting exercises but sometimes I think the content should be reinforced sometimes. The exercises clearly takes more time than it says, I think it´s important to revise that.

By John F

Jan 22, 2018

Pretty solid instructions, would be great if comments were factored into the grading process. Also the videos could be updated, as some of the content seems to be from around 2009-2010.

By Douglas J

May 5, 2020

Great courses you can learn a lot from. I wish that more students took the peer graded assignments more seriously. That being you said you definitely get out of it what you put in!

By HARDIK T

May 26, 2020

Amazing content, but the structure of the program is such that I got stuck at the last submission for a while, didnt quiet feel like self paced. Overall great learning experience.