Chevron Left
Back to Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
2,616 ratings
536 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to design technologies that bring people joy, rather than frustration. You'll learn several techniques for rapidly prototyping (such as Wizard of Oz Prototyping) and evaluating multiple interface alternatives -- and why rapid prototyping and comparative evaluation are essential to excellent interaction design. You'll learn how to conduct fieldwork with people to help you get design ideas. How to make paper prototypes and low-fidelity mock-ups that are interactive -- and how to use these designs to get feedback from other stakeholders like your teammates, clients, and users. Armed with these design-thinking strategies, you’ll be able to do more creative human-centered design in any domain. This is the first course offered in the interaction design specialization series. Browse through previous capstone projects for some inspiration here: https://medium.com/capstone-projects/capstone-projects-2019-abc67d3f6f26...

Top reviews

SM
Apr 10, 2020

I just loved this lesson! Lots of things to explore. A lot of hands-on experience. I am very pleased with the amount of theory and study that I have.\n\nI wish to thank UC San Diego & Scott Klemmer

T
Feb 4, 2021

This course opened my eyes to the foundational basis of design as a problem solving tool primarily. Can't wait to apply all I have learned and make world class designs that make the world better!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 520 Reviews for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

By Lelia S

Aug 5, 2018

This course was interesting and inspiring. I got much more out of it than I expected in the beginning. Professor Scott Klemmer has excellent presentations, descriptions, and examples. The assignments were great too. I'm looking forward to the next course in this specialty.

By Aishwarya

Nov 28, 2019

This course has brought me insights on the pros and cons of UX design with heuristic evaluation. I've definitely learnt quite a lot from this course. I would recommend this course to anyone who's eager to get into the field of interactive design and learning!

By Li M

Oct 4, 2016

Creating interactive systems from user-centered perspectives can be very stimulating in this age, when technologies to build an App or internet products are more accessible than ever before. Everybody can benefit from this course and get the sense of design.

By Sergi B

Mar 26, 2016

In my opinion, the video lectures are phenomenal. Scott Klemmer does such a great job of created simple visuals to convey concepts. And he also has bulleted content that is very succinct. The exercises, too, are the right balance of challenging and fun.

By Mika J

Jan 25, 2021

The lectures are full of insightful examples and enjoyed slides and talks. I found assignments were very useful especially peer reviewing part of the assignments. Why? Some students are very active and reports quality was high, which inspired me a lot.

By Dhanashree S I 1

Jun 4, 2020

It really loved the course, the professor seems to be shy and monotonous but the content delivered is very useful. It's very motivating when Mr.Scott says Happy Designing. He smiles only at the end of the video but still it's very encouraging.

By Nakul S

Feb 19, 2016

I had a fantastic time undergoing this course. Having been in the field for over a decade, I have the experience of doing all this, but to learn it all over again and to reinforce the design basics was a fun exercise I would highly recommend.

By Francesco D S

Jan 8, 2019

not very technical, but still very interesting. I found very soon a use in my current job for the notions learned in this class. Especially the "Ten Design Heuristics" that I was able to integrate straight away in a project I'm workin on

By Iullia R

May 28, 2018

Thanks for a lot of knowledge, which I am gaining here. During watching I use English subtitles for better understanding of speaker. Also, the text of lecture under video is very convenient for me. I used this for drawing up my summary.

By Vipin S

Aug 8, 2017

Awesome learning experience throughout the course. peer grading is the best thing to learn from their prospective and how people use their thought process. Learning from videos of professor Scott Kelmer made it so easy to understand.

By Maria K

Jun 24, 2018

Excellent course! Thank you, Prof. Klemmer! Learning about need finding process (doing interviews), doing mockups and storyboards really quickly. Learning how to perform Heuristics Evaluation gave me tools to evaluate my design.

By Vincent L

Aug 13, 2016

A great introduction course to User Experience Design. It the themes presented in the course are more related to HCI (Human Computer Interaction) but can be easily applied to other aspects of User Experience. Highly recommended!

By Tessa

May 23, 2016

This was a very interesting course. I come from a design background but have been a web developer for the last two years, and this really introduces the whole of what HCI is and can easily garner your interest in the subject.

By Muhammad A I

Feb 22, 2017

Amazing course. Regardless of how experienced you are, this course will really strengthen your base and if you're already working, it will definitely give you an answer or two to very practical problems you might be facing!

By Sergio P

Feb 12, 2018

Great course. The course is very clear and well explained thanks to the way Scott displays the content and the examples he gives. Peer assignments also helps to find out the way other people is processing the same content.

By Ramesh R

Oct 21, 2019

I’d like to extend my sincerest thanks to Scott Klemmer and the team at Stanford and Coursera who made this course happen. I’ll do my best to use what I’ve learned, to continue improving, and to help others do the same.

By Franklin G

Feb 9, 2016

Learned a lot about HC Design, and I can apply this knowledge right away on my professional environment. All lessons are interesting and I love to get feedback from other students around the world about my assignments.

By Ehsan H

Jan 18, 2021

This course is an excellent introduction to Human-Centered Design and Mr. Scott Klemmer as a professor had effective teaching, I enjoyed the assignments and experiences to do some work about this subject, it was great

By Daniel V

Dec 5, 2018

It's a rare course that's not only interesting, but each assignment brings joy and forces you to go out of the comfort zone and really, really think. It's structured in a way that you'll even learn from your mistakes.

By CHIRAG G

Jun 22, 2020

Really informative course for the introduction towards human-centered design. Learn a lot and stay on top of your assignments by completing those on time. You'll learn a great deal of new skills if you pay attention.

By Momodu O

Apr 20, 2020

Coming from a background of being a developer and having the mindset of running an Agency, this program has opened my eyes to the nitty-gritty of steps to take when trying to solve problems for the world we live in.

By xavier a

Dec 27, 2016

Very interesting course that gives you a good overview of how to design a new product or service. It has a few practical assignments that help you dive into understanding your users and the initial phase of design.

By Jeremiah D

Feb 21, 2016

This has been a great introduction into the Human-Centered Design Specialization. I feel energized and ready to continue the specialization. Classmates and the professor were all very helpful throughout the class.

By Darshana G

Dec 14, 2019

A well-structured course that can definitely help students, people who are seeking a career in UX/ interaction design. The course is good for professionals who are looking for a way to brush-up their knowledge.

By Zhenjun Z

Mar 21, 2019

I think this course is really good for a novice people who don't know Interaction design at all. It's not easy, but you can learn a lot. One tip: Not just get the certificate, spend more time on your homework.