Chevron Left
Back to Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
2,613 ratings
534 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to design technologies that bring people joy, rather than frustration. You'll learn several techniques for rapidly prototyping (such as Wizard of Oz Prototyping) and evaluating multiple interface alternatives -- and why rapid prototyping and comparative evaluation are essential to excellent interaction design. You'll learn how to conduct fieldwork with people to help you get design ideas. How to make paper prototypes and low-fidelity mock-ups that are interactive -- and how to use these designs to get feedback from other stakeholders like your teammates, clients, and users. Armed with these design-thinking strategies, you’ll be able to do more creative human-centered design in any domain. This is the first course offered in the interaction design specialization series. Browse through previous capstone projects for some inspiration here: https://medium.com/capstone-projects/capstone-projects-2019-abc67d3f6f26...

Top reviews

SM
Apr 10, 2020

I just loved this lesson! Lots of things to explore. A lot of hands-on experience. I am very pleased with the amount of theory and study that I have.\n\nI wish to thank UC San Diego & Scott Klemmer

T
Feb 4, 2021

This course opened my eyes to the foundational basis of design as a problem solving tool primarily. Can't wait to apply all I have learned and make world class designs that make the world better!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 519 Reviews for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

By Silke G

Jul 3, 2017

In thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was very easy to follow and the assignments were meaningful and provided insight into the design process.

By Suhanee P

Feb 7, 2021

It was a really interesting and informative course. I've gained a better perspective regarding understanding user needs and design principles.

By Ayusha T

Apr 30, 2020

Taking this course was the best thing i have ever done. this was the first daring step i took and discovered that i really can do what I love.

By Etienne P

Apr 5, 2020

Very interesting course. I learnt many techniques for prototyping I didn't known, and heuristic categories I could not formalize. Thank you !

By Mara

Aug 2, 2019

Scott Klemmer is a fantastic instructor, lucky to have him and also of course Don Norman at UCSD. Thank you for offering this course series.

By SARANSH S

Sep 3, 2019

This course can help the designer to think in needs with respect to the users. I recommend this course to every UX designer and researcher.

By Viplav M

Jun 14, 2017

Great course to understand basics of Interview, StoryBoard and Heuristic Evaluation.

Must do assignments, to get the most out of the course.

By Riaan T

Nov 2, 2016

Great course. in a short time I have learned a lot. I enjoyed all of the content.

Thank you Scott Klemmer for making an excellent course !

By Aditya S

Mar 21, 2019

Really great course, would love if there would be a little bit more practical application, maybe optional assignments based on any topic.

By Luis P

Sep 6, 2018

I love this course, Scott is a very good profesor, he knows a lot about the topic and he know how to teach it, im really happy about all.

By Francis A

Mar 25, 2019

Nicely setup lesson and exercise plan. Practical exercises that help one practice on HCD skills. I would definitely recommend to others.

By Araneetae G

May 18, 2017

This was such a great course. I'm very appreciative for the videos to self pace and be able to review some of the content I was weak in.

By Ruptapas C

Jul 7, 2020

I loved every bit of this course and the learnings will help me in my future endeavors. Thanks, Scott for being a wonderful teacher.

By Jingfeng F

Jul 13, 2020

This is a very nice course for HCI starter to have a taste of HCI design and set a foot-stone for future studies in UXD/HCI field.

By Giny C

Mar 7, 2019

A practical and interesting course. It is much better if the entire specialization can be upgraded to a postgraduate certificate.

By Isabel L

Dec 3, 2018

This course is fantastic. very helpful. I would highly recommend it for all IT pros who have anything to do with interface design.

By Vural B

Jun 9, 2020

It was a good time spent with fun and learning. The homework given was enjoyable. An education that will change your perspective.

By Amit B

Mar 18, 2017

This was really helpful. Gained a good amount of experience going through the module as well as reading the assignments of peers.

By Guillermo

Mar 24, 2021

I´ve really liked the course. Very practical and I´ve learned a lot by evaluating the work of other students. Highly recommended

By William J K

Jun 12, 2016

Very well-taught, and the exercises supported the didactic teaching. I wish the next course in the specialization started today!

By Martina D D

Jan 11, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. The assignments helped me apply what I learned and the peer grading sometimes gave good insight.

By Kishore K

May 22, 2020

A thorough knowledge on the theories behind Human Computer Interaction was explained. It was a great knowledge gaining session.

By Rahat K

Apr 19, 2018

Amazing course to quench your thirst for User Experience and how to move forward if you want a career in UX Research or Design.

By Saskia E

Jul 26, 2017

A detailed and interesting introduction to Interaction Design with achievable assignments to get you into the mindframe of HCI.

By MinheeK

Mar 27, 2016

The course fully covered all the fundamental ideals of HCI design. I really enjoyed! Thanks our classmate, tutor, and Coursera!