Chevron Left
Back to Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics by Universiteit Leiden

4.7
1,271 ratings
327 reviews

About the Course

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

Top reviews

DC

Sep 24, 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

DP

Jan 03, 2017

Excellent! Really enjoyed and learnt a lot. I did not expect such a great content and professionalism in a free course. I am definitely purchasing for the title.\n\nThanks to all the team! Great job!

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 320 Reviews for Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

By Jinn L

Sep 26, 2019

Well organised, insightful and digestible introductory course.

By Brendan T

Oct 01, 2019

Great course with lots of interesting content for anyone interested in linguistics. My only complaint is that some of the questions (especially the ones in the videos) are a bit poorly worded and can be confusing. Overall though, well worth the time spent, and a big thanks to Dr. Oostendorp, Marten, Inge, the language informants and everyone at Universiteit Leiden & Meertens instituut that made this possible.

By Donè P

Oct 03, 2019

I absolutely loved this course. I learned so much from the lecturer and the students.

By Ángel M

Oct 03, 2019

A great and complete introduction to the exciting world of linguistics, with emphasis on language diversity and endangered languages. Highly recommended.

By Yulia S

Sep 16, 2019

Very interesting, well structured and orginized course.

By Agholor C C

Oct 09, 2019

This course indeed has helped to repackage my profile.

By Antonella C

Nov 23, 2018

Very interesting and passionating course even for people who are new to linguistic.

By Xiaoyun Y

Mar 13, 2019

It is a great course including details and all aspects of linguistics. It satisfies my curiosity!

By Ralitsa N

Oct 14, 2018

The course is interesting and offers a theoretical basis together with real language examples, that is a good combination when trying to put some of the theory in practice. The interviews with researchers also offer different perspective into interesting topics. What I consider not quite well accomplished are the tests: some offer incorrect answers to questions that already have been pointed out, as mentioned by the staff, in previous editions. Not having them corrected rests credibility to the entire course material. The final test includes some questions that although having relationship with a particular module, are hardly something relevant to take away from this course (e.g. in what sentence did a language informant repeat a nasal sound as a result of a speech error). If we consider tests as a learning tool, as they should be, the way they are designed should be more careful and meaningful to the learner. Despite the parts that to me need improvement, I want to thank to everybody involved in preparing and offering this MOOC, as I know from personal experience how challenging this can be.

By Aryn H

Aug 20, 2018

This was a very interesting course and introduced me to a lot of interesting concepts and expanded my understanding of the concept of linguistics. I felt some areas could have been explored a bit deeper but overall I enjoyed the course very much.

By Kathleen K

May 15, 2016

Material is excellent and very interesting. Test questions can be confusing and poorly phrased.

By Soroosh A

Jul 09, 2018

This course does a decent job of covering the main pillars of linguistics and puts the theories into practice by giving us a chance to apply our learnings of each module to real-life languages, and it even includes native speakers of those languages.If you're new to linguistics or want to brush up on your previous learnings, this course is definitely a great supplementary resource.

By Siddharth S

Nov 08, 2016

The course was very interesting and well laid out. The only problems I faced were technical issues during quizzes and forum posts, but the course content itself is excellent and a good starting point for exploring linguistics and human languages.

By Yaroslava F

Jun 23, 2017

This was an interesting but challenging course. What I would recommend as an improvements is that the quizzes included comments for wrong answers and suggestions what material to re-read or listen.

By Ruben A M d C

Jan 28, 2017

Interesting content, but still a bit buggy...

By Gustavo C d M

Jun 26, 2016

VERY good content and classes! Some questions in the quizzes are confusing, and there was the trouble with the required reading for Week 3. The first Honors assignment is confusing - specially its very last input question.

By Mustapha K

May 14, 2017

Thank you for your great effort making this course possible for people from all over the world.

By Rizky A D

Nov 06, 2016

101 linguistics

By Wang x

Feb 09, 2017

great course!

By Mel

Jun 25, 2018

A comprehensive introductory course to the study of linguistics. Would be even better if it covers more applied linguistics topics.

By Jia W

Jun 21, 2016

some problems in quiz part are confusing... but nice course in general

By Elisabet S

Nov 11, 2016

Sometimes it was hard to understand the concept the professor was trying to make, because some grammatical forms were wrong and therefore the whole concept misleading. Otherwise very interesting course and thank you!

By Dorothy H

Sep 26, 2016

The interview with Chomsky a real treat.

By Daniele C R

Oct 09, 2016

Very nice work on the various fields of Linguistics, high level interviews, but rather laborious and time consuming quizzes.

By Zhibiao Z

Apr 07, 2017

It's fantastic to have a brief look into the intriguing Linguistics. There's so much to learn. But some of the readings and test might be too difficult and improper for a beginner.