Chevron Left
Back to A Brief History of Human Spaceflight

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Brief History of Human Spaceflight by University of Houston System

4.3
249 ratings
75 reviews

About the Course

This course provides a view of the history of spaceflight, from early writings telling of human's fascination of space through the early Russian and American space stations. Developed as an interesting and entertaining slice of space history that is accessible to anyone with an interest in human spaceflight...

Top reviews

PH

Dec 01, 2015

Great summary and overview of manned spaceflight in the 60s and 70s. Plenty of archival footage and rarely seen recordings from both the U S and Soviet space programs.

DM

Nov 29, 2016

Really enjoying this course hope you will do more courses on the Space program i.e. Space shuttles etc, and rocket science/maths would be good as well..

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 74 Reviews for A Brief History of Human Spaceflight

By Debjyoti

Jun 06, 2016

Awesome!

By Pete H

Dec 01, 2015

Great summary and overview of manned spaceflight in the 60s and 70s. Plenty of archival footage and rarely seen recordings from both the U S and Soviet space programs.

By Andrei H

Mar 24, 2017

Very good.

By David W

Oct 19, 2015

Great course offered by a great institution! Well put together. Very exciting footage, which covers the Space Race between the USA and the Soviet Union, and which really drags you in. If you like Space and related topics, do this one.

By Joel P

Jul 08, 2017

Very interesting course. In addition, I learned some facts of the space race unknown by me until this time.

By Kiran T

Dec 20, 2015

It was really good course, got to know lot of new things. I am glad that I took this course.

By Tona M

Jan 28, 2018

The course is brief as advertised, but does offer a comprehensive overview of the history of human spaceflight. Early Rocketry, Sputnik, Vostok, Voshod, Mercury, Gemini, Apollo, Soyuz, Mir, and Skylab are all featured. From early Congreve rockets with their almost total lack of guidance through Apollo-Soyuz and on to Mir and Skylab, each program, and each mission, is treated in terms of its goals and how it advanced human knowledge of technology and techniques of space flight. For those of us who lived through the early days of humanity's struggle with the unknowns of orbital and lunar space, the course is a good reminder of the history we witnessed as well as a source of information we missed at the time. For those too young to know those times, it offers a glimpse into the fears and challenges of early spaceflight, and narrates them in terms of the geopolitics of the time. Highly recommended for anyone with an interest in space.!

By Deleted A

Apr 16, 2018

The course is a gem, but it lacks the second part, like the disasters and so on. Special gratitude for chronicles in different languages.

By Yuxin X

Nov 10, 2015

A

By sandra g

Aug 11, 2016

TRÈS INTÉRESSANT. ON APPREND TOUJOURS DES CHOSES

By John W B

Jan 16, 2017

I

By Ying L

Mar 07, 2018

An absolutely great course! As a huge space fan I enjoy every minute in this course (including the quiz)! So many interesting materials, especially the historical videos about USA/USSR missions which I find very fascinating. Highly recommend.

By Alexander M W

Feb 03, 2016

An excellent course with great material.

By Prashant

Oct 14, 2015

Loved this course, I am about half way through it. I am an history bluff and this course managed to hold my interest. The course is mostly made of interesting video clips of spaceflight with narration. I thought I had seen most videos of space flight but I got to see some rare clips of the soviet space program and learn some very interesting chapters of the race to conquer space that I was unaware of.

There was an earlier review complaining of the links in the videos - but I got a message from the instructor that supplemental materials were initially missing and have now been added to the course. The links are available in the pdf after each chapter with some nicely done prezi presentations.

Overall a very well made course that hooked me on to space flight, some chapters of this should be required viewing in high school/college courses.

By Nadia T

Sep 23, 2016

Really interesting!

By 胡锦龙

Jan 30, 2016

great

By Rebecca J

Mar 14, 2017

Great course and good material to review! I enjoyed learning about the early years of spaceflight. Thank you for putting this together!

By Jyoti R

Nov 03, 2018

It was a great learning experience. A very useful course for Space Educators and non Space professionals. Would like to recommend that Chinese achievements in human spaceflight should also be made part of this course.

By Luca Z

May 15, 2019

Amusing and entertaing!

By Isabel M

May 14, 2019

an amazing and interesting look into the history of spaceflight!

By SHABEERMON M

Sep 26, 2019

great course

By Art P

Nov 06, 2019

Great overview of manned spaceflight

By Romane J

Nov 28, 2019

Very interesting, a lot of informations, very precise.

By Ishan R

Dec 02, 2019

quite an informative course

By John K H

Oct 30, 2015

Fascinating overview but was hoping for a bit more depth. Did learn new things though, particulalry about the not so well publicised Apollo missions and the early Russian efforts. A couple of quiz questions were marking right answers as wrong but course team got them sorted fairly quickly