Chevron Left
Back to Hypothesis Testing in Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Hypothesis Testing in Public Health by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
481 ratings
116 reviews

About the Course

Biostatistics is an essential skill for every public health researcher because it provides a set of precise methods for extracting meaningful conclusions from data. In this second course of the Biostatistics in Public Health Specialization, you'll learn to evaluate sample variability and apply statistical hypothesis testing methods. Along the way, you'll perform calculations and interpret real-world data from the published scientific literature. Topics include sample statistics, the central limit theorem, confidence intervals, hypothesis testing, and p values....

Top reviews

SF
May 21, 2020

You have to use outside sources and practice questions to really understand the material. This course makes you think and demands that you know the information. It was a great class. Thank you.

DK
Jul 18, 2020

excellant descriptions, good examples and challenging practice sessions. Better if some more were added about ANOVA also. If it is considered as advanced , then it is ok. Good experience

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 117 Reviews for Hypothesis Testing in Public Health

By Samuel T

Apr 29, 2019

I had zero understanding about Hypotheses Testing, most of the time confused about the subject till I took this course. I am happy to say I am confident in my understanding and application of it. Thank you Sir for this course

By Earl L

Apr 25, 2021

Another excellent course by Dr. John. He's a very talented and passionate teacher and clearly explains biostatistics in an informative and clear method. Thank you, Dr. John! I'm looking forward to taking more of your courses.

By Banat K C

May 1, 2020

It was an absolute pleasure to undertake this course! It gave an amazing insight not only into the course material, but into the uncertainty surrounding certain ideas - really making me think. Thank you for this opportunity!

By Dr G K

Jul 19, 2020

The way in which standard errors and confident intervals are explained is perfect and very effective. Examples adequately described the teaching content. Teacher was calm and maintained good steady flow.. Great course.

By rob v m

Aug 8, 2021

Excellent course on comparing populations in terms of means, proportions and time to event observations in understanding the t-test, z test, chi square test and log rank test without a mathematical background.

By Ronald A

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent in building on the previous course and in explaining the underlying logic of hypothesis testing. This approach has helped me tremendously in grasping the mechanics of the specific tests covered.

By amoulay

Jul 8, 2021

Excellent course, excellent teaching. Prof McGready knows his stuff and also knows how to teach it. The projects exercices are fun to work on and see how statistics is used in research.

By Petra M

Jul 24, 2021

Great course and John is an excellent teacher. The content of the course is clear, understandable and very useful for everybody who wants to read and undestand medical research papers.

By Kevin A C

Aug 24, 2021

The really great thing of this course is the professor! Outstanding! I just wish there were at least some recommended lectures/resources to calculate some of the exercises ourselves.

By elena z

Apr 24, 2020

Very educational course. It helped me a lot to reinforce the forgotten concepts.

Curso muy didáctico, súper claro. Me ayudó muchisimo a reforzar conceptos que tenía olvidados.

By Vamini R

Dec 31, 2020

I was able to review all of the concepts I learned previously in biostatistics. This is an excellent refresher course. Professor McGready is quite articulate and knowledgeable.

By Abigail B

Apr 6, 2020

Great overview of basic hypothesis testing for means, proportions, and survival curves. Only additional thing that would be nice was a deeper review of the code involved in R.

By Jethro M

Dec 9, 2020

Very good refreshment and well explained. I need to more practical exercises to produce the results. Survival analysis curves are new to me I need to read more

By Nancy Z

Apr 10, 2019

Excellent course, very well explained and the scientific articles used were a superb way to boost my confidence that I can do this, meaning stats. Thank you!

By Wilman h S a

Sep 15, 2020

Gran pedagogía y excelente profesor el Dr. John, entendí todo a pesar de no hablar ni un céntimo de ingles, Valió la pena el tiempo invertido!!!, Gracias

By Luna Z

Aug 3, 2020

The professor is really responsible and does an excellent job at explaining the concepts, but could have covered more about ANOVA, Fisher's etc.

By John W

Jul 25, 2020

Professor John McGready facilitates learning, disproving the idea that statistics are difficult or impossible to learn. Excellent course.

By Hamza G K

Oct 2, 2020

This was a very well structured course, so many of those examples do make things a lot more easier to understand. Absolutely loved it!

By Rashidul H

Sep 15, 2019

Simply the best course ever illustrated so far!! Instructor Dr. John is an awesome motivator and true passionate instructor!

By Konstantin G

Mar 24, 2019

Great breadth of information that is applicable to anyone who has ever needed or wanted insights from their data sets.

By Adnan A

Apr 23, 2020

I love the way how the Instructor builds on previous course. very simple and conceptual explanation of the concepts.

By Muhammad A

Jul 18, 2020

It's a great course regarding hypothesis testing. You will see a lot of examples that will make you get the topic.

By Muhammad F b M R

May 30, 2020

Very good teaching by the instructor. Great course to get intuitions behind the statistical analysis. Thank you.

By Divya G

Apr 13, 2019

It was a great course i thank our guide he teaches so well. thank you so much for wonderful learning experience.

By Christos K

Apr 6, 2020

Fantastic course! It hepls you understand key concepts of biostatistics, which are essential in medicine today.