Chevron Left
Back to Inclusive Leadership: The Power of Workplace Diversity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Inclusive Leadership: The Power of Workplace Diversity by University of Colorado System

4.9
stars
1,462 ratings
485 reviews

About the Course

Do you want to promote diversity and inclusion? This course will empower and equip you to develop inclusive cultures where everyone feels valued and respected. You will learn how highly inclusive leaders from around the world use processes of social influence to interact effectively with individuals from a wide variety of backgrounds. You will deepen your understanding of the benefits of diversity. And, you will explore a wealth of perspectives and practices to help you to reap those benefits. This course is for current or aspiring leaders in ANY type of workplace, in ANY leadership role - a CEO of a corporation, a head of a department, a manager of a workgroup, a team leader, a chair of a committee, you name it! Course highlights include studying signature traits of inclusive leadership (based on global research), strengthening self-awareness, developing your communication skills, and improving your ability to help others feel a strong sense of belonging. Course content covers traditional and timely topics -- from listening, feedback, and collaboration, to privilege, implicit bias, microaggressions, and micro-affirmations. The instructor for this course is nationally recognized educator, leader, and public speaker, Dr. Brenda J. Allen (Communication Professor Emerita). Dr. Allen is a retired Chief Diversity Officer who offers highly-rated workshops, consultations, and presentations on topics such as inclusive leadership, racial equity, strategic planning, respect in the workplace, and diversity recruitment/retention practices. She has a proven ability for explaining complex and sensitive topics in non-threatening ways. She clearly explains concepts and offers compelling real-life examples - including her own experiences....

Top reviews

EM
Apr 23, 2021

Even though I am not a leader or have not been a leader, this course has contributed to me a lot. I am sure that I shall be able to use all the information I learned in this course, in my social life.

RH
Apr 19, 2021

It's a very interesting course and relevant to workplace diversity to create a competitive advantage for any organization. Personally, I feel enlightened and equipped to be a highly inclusive leader.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 504 Reviews for Inclusive Leadership: The Power of Workplace Diversity

By Laurie E G

Nov 25, 2020

I really enjoyed this learning experience and feel I learned alot. I experience a few issues that prevent me from giving this course five stars. First, I could not access many of the Forbes and Harvard Business Review articles, as I read over my limit and would have thus needed to pay for subscriptions to access course material. Second, I did not feel valued or respected when I took time to write substantive responses for quizzes and activities and simply got an automated "correct" answer. That was kind of invalidating. I also found the discussion board to lack substance. Many folks seemed to offer short, surface level responses. I wonder how more actual engagement between participants and instructor and participants and participants might have boosted my learning. Overall, however, a very helpful course. I am super glad I took it and appreciate Brenda Allen taking time to develop and deliver this course! Again, I learned so much that I know I will apply to administration at my university.

By Nastya S

Apr 15, 2021

My expectations were broken. I'm sad to say that this modern trend of aggressive minorities and ubiquitous acceptance of everything and everyone has influenced significantly a scientific field as well. I do hope that common sense will one day win over all this nonsense that is skillfully hidden under smart words and definitions. Rather then good brainwash, this course is not suitable for anything at all.

By robert M

Oct 7, 2020

Brenda J Allen was fantastic. Having sat through hundreds of presentations/ online classes she definitely rises above the rest. I leave smarter, much more open minded and more self aware that I have a lot of self work to do.

By Roger T A H

Apr 20, 2021

It's a very interesting course and relevant to workplace diversity to create a competitive advantage for any organization. Personally, I feel enlightened and equipped to be a highly inclusive leader.

By Michelle M

Jan 24, 2021

The teacher was amazing and I appreciated hearing her own personal stories throughout her life. I have already recommended this course to coworkers and two people have signed up.

By Sudipa C

May 10, 2021

Excellent course for increasing your knowledge towards understanding about personal prejudice and bias how it impacts the way we look towards others and falter in practising inclusivity in totality.

By Pascal U E

Oct 7, 2020

This is a truly great course that all leaders should take!

By Regina A

Feb 3, 2021

I have only taken one other course through Coursera. This course was hands down the better course. I enjoyed the videos and the personal examples were great! I feel like I really learned a lot and got way more than my money's worth.

By Ana M

Dec 18, 2020

A must for anyone! One of the best courses I have ever taken. Brenda Allen delivers in a compelling, passionate yet objective way. Well structured with solid reference materials. Insighful and enjoyable.

By Jennifer R A

Apr 17, 2021

I truly enjoyed the class, I learned a lot from it. I discovered myself in having implicit behavior and what I needed to improve on or engage in. I will apply these methods in the workplace. Thank you.

By Emre M

Apr 24, 2021

Even though I am not a leader or have not been a leader, this course has contributed to me a lot. I am sure that I shall be able to use all the information I learned in this course, in my social life.

By Antonello C

Jan 17, 2021

An incredibly insightful course. I've really enjoyed both the video content and the material linked as additional resources. I've learnt a lot and taken plenty of notes for the future.

By Astrid M

Jan 11, 2021

Excellent course! Insightful, well structured and very good delivered by Prof. Allen. She is an extraordinary teacher. Altogether, a very rewarding learning experience.

By Gloria V

Feb 24, 2021

Great course. Loved the instructor. She was very clear and precise in all of her communication. I left with a clear understanding as per the instructors sylibus.

By Ceez R

Nov 28, 2020

Great resource for cultivating inclusive leadership amongst each of us, regardless of position or title.

By Shantha S

Oct 27, 2020

Excellent course with Lots of Example. I felt worth spending time for the sam

By Christinette F D

Feb 18, 2021

This course should be a requirement for ANY leader in the 21st century!

By Wenen Y

Oct 3, 2020

great

By Uyanga S B

Mar 12, 2021

Dr. Brenda J. Allen's course was easy to follow and insightful in actionable ways. I found that the course reading materials were informative and complimented the video lectures. The course provided many resources to help you start your journey as an inclusive leader. I must say that I feel absolutely changed as a person and a leader after taking this course. Thank you, Dr. Allen, for this life-changing course.

By Dave v d H

Dec 20, 2020

One of the best courses i have ever followed. Professor Allen is amazing. She explains everything clearly by using good examples. Furthermore, this course is definitely an added value for leaders but also people who are interested in diversity and inclusive leadership.

By Dwanna C

Mar 11, 2021

This course was outstanding. It covered a lot of ground and provided such unique insight. I have never taken anything like this before and it's about time! I was excited to learn more every day! All human resource people should take this course! Wow, it was awesome!

By Lewis B

Dec 16, 2020

Excellent course and instructor. Dr. Brenda Allen did an excellent job of relaying the information and helping everyone learn hidden biases and ways to improve. This should be a course that anyone working should attend but especially those in leadership positions.

By Leslie F

Mar 16, 2021

The delivery was spot on. I was always engaged in the topic (partly because of my own interests) as it was always giving information that I wanted to learn more about. Thank you Brenda Allen. This has given me the impetus to increase my knowledge in this area.

By Kalyanaraman V

Apr 16, 2021

I have just started this course.. and already this is just amazing... what a great way to build this crucial aspect of diversity and inclusion... great sessions, looking forward to the rest of the course... Cheers to the coursera team and Brenda J Allen...

By Lisa H

Nov 5, 2020

Dr. Allen was awesome in her presentations. I have a lot more to learn about myself and others and I feel like I'm on the way to discovering some much more as I develop my skills in inclusive leadership. Thank you Dr. Dr. Allen.