Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Statements: Company Performance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Statements: Company Performance by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
223 ratings
43 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a basic understanding of financial statements with an emphasis on the income statement. Building on the foundation formed in the first course, you will learn about the third of our three measurement questions and how the income statement helps to answer this final measurement question. Returning to the real business people introduced in the first course, this second course describes the basic content of income statement in a simple yet relevant context. The course ends by summarizing many of the lessons learned in both courses to leave you with a lasting impression about what financial statements are and how accounting can work for you. We all know that accounting is “the language of business”; let’s make learning this language engaging, and perhaps even fun! Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Describe the purpose of an income statement. • Define the basic components of an income statement. • Recognize and understand the meaning of several items typically presented on an income statement. • Explain the broader purpose of financial statements and the role of accounting in producing the financial statements. • Read and, to some extent, interpret real-world income statements. If you enjoy this business course and are interested in an MBA, consider applying to the iMBA, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price offered by the University of Illinois. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

TB

Feb 27, 2017

Great set of courses for a beginner in the accounting field. Informative and well taught. Thanks to Kevin Jackson for making potentially complicated subject matter simple and easy to relate to.

MK

Aug 17, 2017

Outstanding course. The instructor does an excellent job of simplifying complex ideas to make your learning and understanding more meaningful and easy to grasp.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 42 Reviews for Understanding Financial Statements: Company Performance

By Himanshu

Jan 25, 2019

Less video content, well explained with real life examples , best course to learn the basic of financial statements.

By Stella A

Dec 30, 2018

Very good course

By Miriam S

Jul 14, 2017

Love this course, I learned to read and analyze a Financial Statement, thanks

By Katherine H

Aug 02, 2016

Enjoyed this course thoroughly. Very good instructor, good content, well-designed.

By Carlo J

Nov 13, 2018

learned a lot from this! thank you.

By Trevor B

Feb 27, 2017

Great set of courses for a beginner in the accounting field. Informative and well taught. Thanks to Kevin Jackson for making potentially complicated subject matter simple and easy to relate to.

By Michael K

Aug 17, 2017

Outstanding course. The instructor does an excellent job of simplifying complex ideas to make your learning and understanding more meaningful and easy to grasp.

By Hailey S

Aug 10, 2016

This course is much better put together than the one on company position (balance sheet). It's still not terribly in-depth, but as an overview for those unfamiliar with accounting, it has quite a bit of good information.

By Cristobal S

Mar 28, 2017

The course explains in very simple ways the essentials for understanding how companies actually perform, although it would be helpful if they used more examples to explain the ratios.

By Latoya H

Apr 26, 2017

Great Course!

By Hao S N

Feb 07, 2018

The course provides a lot of useful and informative reading materials. However, somehow I feel the lectures are not well connected with those readings. Plus we don't have any maths problems to practice the theory we learn.

By Victor V S

May 30, 2017

It is a great course about accounting!

By Belal K

Jan 24, 2017

it was a great experience.

By Sonia M

Apr 10, 2019

Awesome class! Well presented and at a very easy to follow pace!

By Adham M R A

Mar 23, 2017

its a great course

By Sabina N

Jun 01, 2016

It is explained in very simple language that it is impossible not to learn. Thank you!!!

By Dax C

Jun 19, 2017

I would have hated this course but the mentor Mr. Jackson just did the course so well, he should be the one making all the courses that you have under this module. I learned a lot from him and I am able to directly relate his reasoning, his real life considerations to the business i am handling right now, and more than understanding the concepts, I am now inspired to learn more!

By Mustafa a

Sep 25, 2017

Mr, Kevin

still amazing us with his course and new info

By Ashenafi N

Nov 03, 2017

Great course for those who need to understand financial statements.

By Marsha H

Nov 22, 2017

Great course!

By Kerry P

Sep 09, 2017

Really enjoyed the format of this course...

By Hesham E

Oct 11, 2016

Greaaaaaaat

By Gretchen F

Jan 26, 2017

Another great course. Excellent instructor...engaging, clear, and easy to understand!

By Mohammed N H B

Jun 08, 2017

G

By Mohamed A

Feb 05, 2017

thanks a lot for everything