Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Statements: Company Performance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Statements: Company Performance by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
655 ratings
172 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a basic understanding of financial statements with an emphasis on the income statement. Building on the foundation formed in the first course, you will learn about the third of our three measurement questions and how the income statement helps to answer this final measurement question. Returning to the real business people introduced in the first course, this second course describes the basic content of income statement in a simple yet relevant context. The course ends by summarizing many of the lessons learned in both courses to leave you with a lasting impression about what financial statements are and how accounting can work for you. We all know that accounting is “the language of business”; let’s make learning this language engaging, and perhaps even fun! Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Describe the purpose of an income statement. • Define the basic components of an income statement. • Recognize and understand the meaning of several items typically presented on an income statement. • Explain the broader purpose of financial statements and the role of accounting in producing the financial statements. • Read and, to some extent, interpret real-world income statements. If you enjoy this business course and are interested in an MBA, consider applying to the iMBA, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price offered by the University of Illinois. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

TB
Feb 26, 2017

Great set of courses for a beginner in the accounting field. Informative and well taught. Thanks to Kevin Jackson for making potentially complicated subject matter simple and easy to relate to.

SZ
Apr 28, 2020

Subject and content was good and very easy to understand. Videos given was a brilliant ideas to explain more about the topic. I also love how Coursera give me the certificate of completion.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 171 Reviews for Understanding Financial Statements: Company Performance

By CHONG K F

Apr 17, 2020

I’m a Banker from Malaysia. Good knowledge and can be guidance for my daily work. Tq.

By Lee J R

Apr 30, 2020

Everything is well presented with a story line for us to understand it.

By MUHAMMED S

Jul 2, 2020

Learned about how to evaluate company statements

By MAGNATA, A (

Oct 1, 2019

It was a great learning experience. This course provided the necessary foundation for students to have a better understanding what will they encounter in a more advance lecture.

By Munshi A M

Apr 26, 2020

Very good course to learn about a company's performance by understanding it's financial statements. Recommended for the commerce or business related students.

By Nguyễn H T

Jun 7, 2016

A lazy reviewer gave me the score of 0 and left me this comment: "I am not able to give any score, I tried very hard to understand the matter but it was difficult for me. I have to score it just for me to check the other student's work. Please don't consider my scoring here." I studied hard and received this poor evauation. I screamed for help many times but no one replied to my request. The quality of the course is superb and my experience is completely ruined by a shitty score which does not reflect my work.

By ALEXANDRE J D S

Aug 27, 2020

Regarding praise, know that I usually praise when I really like the result: and believe me, these classes were very good. I have been a student of MOOC Coursera for a long time. Whenever I can I evaluate the courses with immense sincerity. You can see the great explanation and the care you took with the explanations and reviews. And that can only mean one thing: you need to improve this course even more, with more content for studies and inclusion of articles and indication of technical books, this is the suggestion.

By Sonam k

Oct 29, 2020

Thanks for this great course , this course gave me very insightful information , from which i was not familiar before. it is very useful for me now and for my future prospect. so i am very glad and i would like to thanks Mr. Kevin E. Jackson sir or providing great insight information in very easiest way.

By Ajanta G

Sep 17, 2020

It was a fantastic course whuch taught me how to write a report on a company's performance based on analysis of it's financial statements and also taught me to to do peer review.

By Adwait A

Sep 7, 2020

A perfectly designed, crisp course, covers basics as well as some really technical terms, perfect for MBA freshers without commerce background. Kudos!

By sooraj k

Aug 5, 2020

The course was very useful for knowledge enhancement. The subject was taken in depth that too in a simple way.

By Abdiaziiz A F

Dec 19, 2020

This course will help me advance my career and the lecturer was absolutely amazing and skillful. Thank you!

By DRACULAN, K A (

Oct 30, 2020

The course was informative and very easy to understand. Thank you so much Professor Kevin Jackson!

By ISKANDAR B A

Apr 28, 2020

This course relevant to me and earn more skill in evaluate and analysis company performance.

By TAN J C

Apr 20, 2020

Well structured course with convenience learning material to enhance financial career path.

By Sabina N

Jun 1, 2016

It is explained in very simple language that it is impossible not to learn. Thank you!!!

By Gretchen F

Jan 26, 2017

Another great course. Excellent instructor...engaging, clear, and easy to understand!

By ANAS B M F

Apr 18, 2020

This course is really helpful for every level to apply it during real-time situation

By SAJIB S

Oct 21, 2020

This course is the most important of life.. I was all financial statement making...

By CHEA C T

Apr 28, 2020

IT IS A GOOD PLATFORM FOR ME TO GAIN MORE KNOWLEDGE AND IMPROVE OUR WORKING SKILLS.

By Katherine H

Aug 2, 2016

Enjoyed this course thoroughly. Very good instructor, good content, well-designed.

By MOHAMAD H B A

Apr 18, 2020

The course teach me on how to read and analyse financial statement of company

By Miriam S

Jul 14, 2017

Love this course, I learned to read and analyze a Financial Statement, thanks

By MAISARAH B M

Apr 20, 2020

A good course, enable me to learn and understand the Financial Statement.

By PHUAH K Y

Apr 24, 2020

Good Course. Easy to understand. Example given was easy to understanding