Chevron Left
Back to Industrial Biotechnology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Industrial Biotechnology by University of Manchester

4.7
stars
2,882 ratings

About the Course

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

Top reviews

MK

Mar 5, 2021

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

JC

Apr 28, 2020

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 666 Reviews for Industrial Biotechnology

By Michael N

Mar 8, 2019

it was pretty good. I learned a lot. Im from Dominican Republic and i didnt know how wonderful and widely is this area of industrial biotechnology. it makes me wanna know more about all of this

By Sherif A K E G

Dec 15, 2021

it is hard to grasp the material, the instructors are very fast and not emphasizing the important key points.

By Lahiru P H

Sep 26, 2021

The course was super awesome... Thank you for offering me a financial aid and for issuing the certificate without any discrimination.... Thanks a lot COURSERA and THE UNIVERSTY of MANCHESTER... I love its content and I'm sure that one won't regret to spare time on this !!!

By Datta D G

Nov 21, 2021

The course is not in-depth, it will give you a good idea about the actual practice used in the field of industrial biotechnology but you will not learn to apply those practices. The course is like a solid overview upon industrial biotechnology without practical application. I would not blame anyone for this since its online course and having practical hand on skills like genome editing, DNA editing, process scale up is quite impossible. In the end I felt like the course in more oriented towards the pharmaceutical sector instead I was hoping to learn more about biofuels. Anyways, I am happy I did this course. I got to learn so many new things. Hope so I don't have any issue with certifications.

By Wael G E

Jan 28, 2020

a very nice course for a beginner like me to start understanding the wonderful world of biotechnology in industry. I would like to improve in this course is to offer a certificate of achievement.

By Atul B

Oct 12, 2021

Some of the concepts were probably much more suited to an experienced practitioner as opposed to someone seeking introduction to principles of biotechnology

By Anas M s s y I

Apr 30, 2020

the first week was so of point but the other weeks are grate

and the other star for not having a certificate :(

By Shivani N L

Apr 15, 2020

It could've been more interactive and the notes in the ppt's more short and sweet .

By Sebastian S

Apr 1, 2020

Usable as a very general overview, detailed insight lacking.

By BEATRIZ L P

Apr 6, 2020

Great course, however you must offer a certificate

By Shreemaya R

Dec 15, 2019

This was a very interesting course. It showcased a variety of techniques that are currently being applied in the field of biotechnology. This course provided a wide variety of industrial applications of biotechnology being applied in various sectors.

By Oladimeji T

Jul 27, 2022

I finished this course in May 2022 and gained admission to study Biotechnology and Enterprise at the University of Manchester in July 2022! The course really helped shaped my interest and prepare my application materials. Great content!

By Aura A T G

May 10, 2021

Es un curso muy completo que te introduce a diversas áreas emocionantes de la biotecnología. Da ejemplos concretos y complementa bien tu conocimiento si estudias una carrera relacionada a estos temas. Definitivamente lo recomiendo :D

By Moiz K

Mar 6, 2021

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

By Shivaji B M

Jul 13, 2020

such a excellent platform, educators are so well they explained each and every concept in very simplified way.I am very happy to gain a lots of knowledge abot actual industrial biotechnology

By Anu A

Jul 27, 2022

It was an amazing experience to learn more about bio-technology especially being someone who is new to the course.

By Heidy X F G

Apr 16, 2021

Me gustó bastante la temática que trataron en el curso, algo bastante interesante y aplicable para mi profesión.

By Amal A

Oct 8, 2021

Very informative. Got to learn a lot as a high school student, but I had to do some extra research and reading on the respective topics for better understanding.

By Deepak Y

Apr 12, 2020

Helpfull

By Wong K H

May 16, 2018

Highly useful. But I wish there was an explanation for terms

By Vedika N

Feb 2, 2020

i really like the course and it was quite informative

By Sonali k

May 16, 2020

This course was very helpful and provide lot of information

By Amit D

Sep 11, 2021

Did not receive any certificate at the end, which was quite unexpected..After taking the assignments, there must be a recognition at least.

By Angelo R

May 8, 2021

The course certificate needs to fix, instead of Manchester it says Man and the rest is missing.

By Maily S G A

Sep 13, 2020

Certificate problems. The university logo does not fully load on the certifcate.