Chevron Left
Back to Inferential Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Inferential Statistics by Duke University

4.8
stars
2,645 ratings

About the Course

This course covers commonly used statistical inference methods for numerical and categorical data. You will learn how to set up and perform hypothesis tests, interpret p-values, and report the results of your analysis in a way that is interpretable for clients or the public. Using numerous data examples, you will learn to report estimates of quantities in a way that expresses the uncertainty of the quantity of interest. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The course introduces practical tools for performing data analysis and explores the fundamental concepts necessary to interpret and report results for both categorical and numerical data...

Top reviews

MN

Feb 28, 2017

Great course. If you put in a little effort, you will come out with a lot of new knowledge. I recommend using the book after you have seen the movies. It gives a deeper picture of how it works. Great!

ZC

Aug 23, 2017

This course by Professor Çetinkaya-Rundel is awesome because it is taught in a very clear and vivid way. Lab section and forum are so dope that I love them so much! Definitely strong recommendation!!!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 466 Reviews for Inferential Statistics

By Chin J L

Mar 22, 2018

The subjects are presented very clearly and the lectures very enjoyable to watch. Although I have a basic knowledge on the subject this course improved my understanding on the subject.

By Bhuvaneshwari K

May 26, 2024

This course equips students with the knowledge and skills needed to collect, analyze, and interpret data effectively, making it a valuable tool in many fields of study and professions.

By Anna P

Apr 14, 2021

Professor has her unique way to explain the concept through various real life examples. I really enjoy the course the whole time. Can't wait to move on to the next course asap. Thanks!

By Wang Y

Oct 18, 2016

I learnt a lot about inferential statistics from this course. It help me to understand better why I used one inferential method instead of another, and the assumptions and conditions.

By Andrea C C B

Dec 30, 2020

This is a great course, the examples are very interesting and understandable. I liked the final project had a real dataframe that allowed the practice of concepts on a real scenario

By MJ O

Aug 31, 2016

This course is really well prepared. The material is very clear and good resources are provided for further learning. The quizzes and labs are always relevant to the course content.

By Anthony W

Nov 1, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and found the professors lectures better structured and clearer. I also like (and needed) the variety of datasets she used for instruction. Thank you!!

By Gary H

Sep 25, 2017

This was hard; The Statistics part became harder and harder and the R part seemed to not keep up with it. You need to learn more R on your own, which is a challenge - there are man

By David H

Jun 26, 2017

What I learned best is not the formula, but the approach to test the conditions, the discussion of source of potential bias, the selection of inferential statistics methods.

By Peeyush J

Jan 27, 2018

Very good course for understanding the basic concept of statistical inference. Effective teaching by providing suitable examples, test and assignment. Thanks faculty !!!

By Scott K

Sep 9, 2020

Very thorough course, and at the same time not overwhelming. The combination of the text, the videos and the practical use in R, reinforces the learning in a great way.

By Deleted A

Aug 1, 2018

Un curso de inferencia muy completo. La instructora explica de forma muy clara todos los conceptos, incluyendo ejemplos interesantes de las Ciencias Sociales y la Salud.

By Giulia T

Nov 12, 2019

Nice follow up from the previous course in the specialisation. The teacher is clear and the main concepts are reminded throughout the course and explained in good depth

By Yogesh A D

Aug 7, 2016

The best course for beginners in Inferential Statistics. The concepts are explained very clearly. Each and every statement made in the lectures are clearly justified.

By Havana D A A

May 17, 2021

I loved this course. Now, many statistics concepts make sense to me. I've never learned very well when and how to use the correct hypothesis test before this course.

By Guannan G

Nov 15, 2016

The course is very good to acquire a basic knowledge of statistics, however, the final exam is not very easy to standardize to show the master of the materials.

By Maksym B

Nov 21, 2016

Great course with great lectures! I liked the quizzes. But the most I liked an exam. The exam assignment was very interesting and peer grading was very useful!

By Masakazu N

Mar 13, 2022

This course expands the gateway to inferential statistics.

I would like to thank the professor who created this material and the lecturer who gave the lecture.

By Brandon F

Oct 1, 2017

Great foundational class in stats analysis -- would like more time spent on ANOVA and some of the non-T test related analyses as these felt a bit brushed over

By Federico C

Jun 13, 2016

Great course. Very clear and informative. There are lots of examples that are interesting and easy to understand. The assignments make it absolutely worth it.

By 海鹏 李

Dec 10, 2018

This cours helps me a lot to understand the mechanism under the numbers and statistic, I really recommend u to follow it if you wanna to be a data scientist!

By BATUYONG, J (

Aug 4, 2020

i'm going back to this course. pandemic keeps me from learning, data analysis courses will give me that last skill on a list of things that make me useful.

By Yaw O

Jan 2, 2017

Great introduction to inferential statistics. Its helped me understand the course well. The lectures were great and the assignments wonderful. Thanks a lot

By Andrew L

May 23, 2017

An accessible, thorough introduction to the core skills needed to understand the most common tools in inferential statistics and how to apply them with R.

By Lotachukwu I

Jul 7, 2020

This course is awesome (Course 1 & 2 have been great so far). You get better at using R while also learning Inferential Statistics. Would 100% recommend.