Chevron Left
Back to Influencing People

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Influencing People by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
3,212 ratings
637 reviews

About the Course

This course will improve your ability to influence people in situations where you cannot use formal authority. You will learn about effective ways to build, develop, and sustain a power base in your organization. You will also learn influence tactics that enable you to be more persuasive and influential in working with your superiors, peers, and even subordinates. In addition, you will learn how to build and maintain high-quality relationships to further maximize your informal power and ability to influence others. Importantly, you will distinguish between influence and manipulation and learn how to protect yourself from the unwanted influence of others. The influence strategies you learn in this course will make you a more confident and influential leader, presenter, and decision-maker. You will more effective in pitching business ideas to your superiors, influencing customers, and building coalitions across stakeholders. This course will not only give you strategic guidance on how to develop and maintain your network for influence and power, but we will also equip you with specific tactics and strategies that are proven to work for gaining power and influencing people....

Top reviews

TA
Mar 24, 2019

A very useful course, presented in a very simple and structured way, using an easy English language with a lot of subtitles.\n\nYou shall like and get a huge benefit from the materials and the course.

MF
Jan 21, 2016

Really useful course! I learnt many new ways to influence others and protect myself from other people's influence.\n\nP.S The cover is a deal-breaker. I joined this course after watching the intro.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 633 Reviews for Influencing People

By Parthasarathi G

Apr 9, 2018

This is my first course in Coursera. Though I will not be able to compare, it is certainly a good learning. Assignment part may be of little complex to allow deeper thought process.

By Thomas M S

Jan 18, 2016

You could ignore this course and probably get stuck in your current job or you could risk a few evenings for a career boost. (And you'll know what I did here, after the course ;-) )

By Shannon M

Oct 8, 2018

I enjoyed taking this class. There are many actionable insights that can be applied to work right away. Thanks to University of Michigan for making these courses free for Alumni!

By LOUKAS P

Oct 8, 2017

Excellent course and instructors! Offers very good bases, summarizes all the important issues and gives the stimuli to anyone who wants to look for the subject at a greater depth

By Luis S

Apr 23, 2020

By far one of the best courses I have taken in Coursera and the University of Michigan does not stop surprising me with the quality of the teaching staff and special invitee.

By Thomas C

Jun 24, 2016

Really informative and provides some great advice on connecting with people (something I have frequently struggled with). A very enjoyable course.

By Liangjie S

Aug 31, 2016

It's pretty awesome that I've learned quite many great thought from this lesson. So that I am able to think and apply in my current job. Thanks!

By Adityakumar S

Aug 26, 2020

We learnt a lot with this modules. All faculties taught well which is clearly understandable.

This will help to us to build additional calibers.

By Anil M

Jul 23, 2019

Well Managed Classes or Session. Proper content especially the details provided. Great Instructors and felt like regular classroom sessions.

By Muhammad I A T

Jun 5, 2016

It is a wonderful course for professionals working in different settings. It sharpens interpersonal skills and makes a person better leader.

By Andrew R

May 23, 2016

Phenomenal course which backs up virtually all of their claims with actual scientific evidence. Definitely useful and highly recommended.

By Bisujaksha V

Mar 3, 2018

Very good course, it really explains strategies on how to influence others and also how to protect ourself from other unwanted influence.

By Murali K P

Jun 6, 2016

Very useful information that is delivered in a succinct way. I highly recommend this course for any one working on corporate environment.

By Aarti v

Apr 4, 2020

i loved this course as this gave me understanding how to influence people around and even to protect our-self from unwanted influence.

By João L A A S

Jan 18, 2016

Very good, the spelling is clear and easy to understand, even for who doesn't speak and/or listen in English and the content is awesome.

By LIM K H

Apr 30, 2020

Great course and I'm glad to learn extra knowledge during this quarantine period, it is never to late to learn and improve yourself 🔥

By Ana R P

Sep 16, 2018

Such informative course, very interesting. The student had learn a lot, thank you so much to my instructor for instructing Ana Pelayo.

By Tingting L

Dec 11, 2017

I think this cours is very useful.

I got the structural understanding of power and how to influence others in a good way.

ready to use!

By Angela T M

Sep 5, 2017

This was an excellent course. The professors were very engaging and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this influencing course.

By Marwa M A A E N

Jan 24, 2016

Intresting to know what's happining around you all the time and how to practically deal with it. i recommed this course to all people.

By BEY G K

Apr 28, 2020

This is a very interested and useful course. The course is clearly explanation on the tactics how we influence people. GREAT course,

By Joc C T

Sep 22, 2017

This is an excellent course. The lecturers are very knowledgeable and experienced. Also, the videos are well curated and developed.

By Dina K

Aug 4, 2017

Very, very interesting! I love the Stanford prison experiment part. I watched the movie little after

to learn about the subject more.

By Adelia A

Nov 2, 2020

Thank you so much coursera for giving me the chance to this course that was made for me, so i can learn a lot of things i never know

By Alerik E C R

Oct 28, 2020

A great course on how to influence people ethically and effectively. It also taught how to protect yourself from unwanted influence.