Chevron Left
Back to Influencing People

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Influencing People by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
3,770 ratings

About the Course

This course will improve your ability to influence people in situations where you cannot use formal authority. You will learn about effective ways to build, develop, and sustain a power base in your organization. You will also learn influence tactics that enable you to be more persuasive and influential in working with your superiors, peers, and even subordinates. In addition, you will learn how to build and maintain high-quality relationships to further maximize your informal power and ability to influence others. Importantly, you will distinguish between influence and manipulation and learn how to protect yourself from the unwanted influence of others. The influence strategies you learn in this course will make you a more confident and influential leader, presenter, and decision-maker. You will more effective in pitching business ideas to your superiors, influencing customers, and building coalitions across stakeholders. This course will not only give you strategic guidance on how to develop and maintain your network for influence and power, but we will also equip you with specific tactics and strategies that are proven to work for gaining power and influencing people....

Top reviews

TA

Mar 24, 2019

A very useful course, presented in a very simple and structured way, using an easy English language with a lot of subtitles.

You shall like and get a huge benefit from the materials and the course.

MF

Jan 21, 2016

Really useful course! I learnt many new ways to influence others and protect myself from other people's influence.

P.S The cover is a deal-breaker. I joined this course after watching the intro.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 754 Reviews for Influencing People

By Aisha M A

Dec 10, 2022

thanks

By Cinthya N C F

May 20, 2022

GOOD!

By Niranjan B

May 8, 2022

good

By Deleted A

Jun 11, 2022

By Magdalini S

May 12, 2021

Vey good course overall with really important and useful information. The only drawback that I can think (and for me is important) regards the 2 assignments. The instructions that were given where the exact same as the questions that you had to answer, so if we weren't actually given any clarifications. When I asked for clarifications in the forum, nobody answered including other students and course stuff. The course is online and active, so I believe that our questions need to be answered by somebody, especially when they concern information about the assignments.

By Karen S

Apr 15, 2022

It's good but week 4 needs more work. There is no research based literature to support any of this. The boundary between influence and manipulation is not clear. The suggested tactics are too much manipulation based. That's exactly how it is done so that what somebody wants gets accepted and approved and not what should be really done for the higher good of all. That's how so much gets messed up in business & the tax payer can pay for the clean-up of the mess.

By Danielle T

Apr 25, 2021

I enjoyed this course very much and the information learned is very useful. The only change I would make is to switch up the format of the course. Instead of having all of the content be delivered in videos, I would like more articles, etc.

By Matthew L

Dec 10, 2021

It's a good course, but some of the submissions i've read seems to be lazy or missing the point. I think better examples could help them that SALES to a large group of people does not equal influencing

By Oliver M

Jul 1, 2021

A helpful and insightful course which provides the student with a number of effective tools to improve their power and influence in the workplace.

By Hetal J

Dec 5, 2022

This course provides information on various tactics one can use to influence with some practical examples

By KAOUKABI O

Feb 25, 2022

Coursera helped me more and more to develop my knowledge and I am happy to be a member of Coursera :)

By Gaurab M

Dec 29, 2021

Content is very good. Videos can be made a little more animated & visually engaging.

By PARVIN A

Feb 11, 2021

I had an interesting experiment and realized some important moments. Thanks!

By Sandy A B

Jan 26, 2021

Very nice and interesting course, I highly recommend it

By Shiakh A A

Mar 8, 2022

Highly recommended

By Pritesh N M

Jan 22, 2021

It was good course

By Saumya C

Mar 30, 2022

very informative

By Ana M d C R

Aug 23, 2021

Ana Maria

By Rodrigue N

Oct 31, 2022

Bon

By MANEA M A

Jul 19, 2021

GOOD

By Shoeb

Mar 16, 2021

Good

By Simona D C

Aug 13, 2021

4,5

By Abdulmohsen A

Sep 26, 2021

.

By Alberto A

Jan 23, 2022

good but basic, not ideal for professionals