Chevron Left
Back to Influencing People

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Influencing People by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
3,215 ratings
639 reviews

About the Course

This course will improve your ability to influence people in situations where you cannot use formal authority. You will learn about effective ways to build, develop, and sustain a power base in your organization. You will also learn influence tactics that enable you to be more persuasive and influential in working with your superiors, peers, and even subordinates. In addition, you will learn how to build and maintain high-quality relationships to further maximize your informal power and ability to influence others. Importantly, you will distinguish between influence and manipulation and learn how to protect yourself from the unwanted influence of others. The influence strategies you learn in this course will make you a more confident and influential leader, presenter, and decision-maker. You will more effective in pitching business ideas to your superiors, influencing customers, and building coalitions across stakeholders. This course will not only give you strategic guidance on how to develop and maintain your network for influence and power, but we will also equip you with specific tactics and strategies that are proven to work for gaining power and influencing people....

Top reviews

TA
Mar 24, 2019

A very useful course, presented in a very simple and structured way, using an easy English language with a lot of subtitles.\n\nYou shall like and get a huge benefit from the materials and the course.

MF
Jan 21, 2016

Really useful course! I learnt many new ways to influence others and protect myself from other people's influence.\n\nP.S The cover is a deal-breaker. I joined this course after watching the intro.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 633 Reviews for Influencing People

By WOOI L H

Apr 28, 2020

Easy for understanding and gives me a new perspective on how to deal with people and how to attract to positive influence rather than the negatives.

By Amita R

Jul 25, 2019

Very interesting course. learned a lot about people's behaviour and influence tactics used on daily basis on professional as well as personal life.

By Manoj M

Jan 7, 2016

A very good course to understand the various tactics involved in influencing people and how to protect ourselves from getting influenced by others.

By Bobirjan T

Dec 8, 2019

a very interesting and useful course. it has a lot of insights about how to identify, detect and develop a set of skills in relation to influence.

By Paul K

Sep 8, 2016

I've taken a bunch of Coursera Courses, and these were my favorite. Fun to watch and packed with useful stuff I wish I had known a long time ago.

By Chalee U

May 23, 2020

The lectures contain a lot of practical examples and research support evidences. Easy to understand for those who have no basics.

By Walid B

Sep 17, 2019

I really enjoyed the lectures and learnt many steps that I used to do or missed to do to influence others or others influence me.

By Mitesh G

Jan 6, 2016

Amazing!! And Surprising with Correct Information displayed in fun interactive and inspirational way. Keep up the GOOD work!! :)

By Jason M

Feb 6, 2017

Good course that helps provide a solid overview to help understand the importance of influence and how to effectively apply it.

By Juan P G

Feb 8, 2016

Really good and useful content. Instructors offer a lot of real life examples. I probably will pursue the whole specialization!

By Brenda W

Jul 14, 2017

Week 1 of completing the course and it's already helped me in the workplace! Good material, great videos. Highly recommended.

By Bertrand K

Nov 28, 2016

Probably the best mooc of the specialization. Some really nice insight about psychology in the workplace. Highly recommended.

By Angelica Z V

Nov 6, 2020

Very engaging classes, interesting studies and cases and great tips for influencing other in both our personal or work life.

By Tram H

Feb 6, 2017

After a year of learning this course, I still remember & able to use some of the techniques in my work.

Thanks and well done.

By Carlos A G L

Sep 13, 2016

Excellent Course!, full of useful and actionable information. Excellent Instructors and explanations. Pure gold!. Thank you.

By Dyana A

Jan 22, 2016

Great course, because it gives you tools to be successful in whatever you do at whatever level you are at your organization.

By Anna L

Aug 31, 2017

I found this course to be extremely helpful. I will definitely be using the information I learned in my work. Thank you!

By 魏清君

Apr 20, 2016

Great course! The course structure is clear and straightforward. The content is rich and also inspires me to think a lot.

By José J C

Oct 9, 2016

Excellent course.

Good examples, tips and tricks.

No matter how experienced are you, this course definitively adds value.

By Guillermo R M

Apr 7, 2016

Very good! I have found clear and concise concepts, very valuable. Very useful for using in all kind of relationships.

By Viken

Nov 17, 2020

i get to learn many things from this course which will help me finding and managing more influencers around the world

By Concepción V S M U

Jun 18, 2020

Great structure, content and teachers. Assignments are well rounded and focus on evaluating the course content always

By Faris Q

Nov 15, 2016

Very beneficial for both personal and professional life. It provides useful techniques and methods to be influential.

By Dinmukhamed J

Jun 28, 2016

Very helpful course on self-development! Thank you very much for everyone who participated in creating this course!!!

By Efrain M B C

Jun 27, 2018

Excelente curso, aprendí bastantes técnicas que me permiten ser mas asertivo en mi relación laboral y con clientes.