Chevron Left
Back to Information Systems Auditing, Controls and Assurance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Information Systems Auditing, Controls and Assurance by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.7
stars
3,434 ratings

About the Course

The course is awarded The Best Free Online Courses of All Time, and Best Online Courses of the Year (2021 Edition) by Class Central (http://www.classcentral.com). --- Information systems (IS) are important assets to business organizations and are ubiquitous in our daily lives. With the latest IS technologies emerging, such as Big Data, FinTech, Virtual Banks, there are more concerns from the public on how organizations maintain systems’ integrity, such as data privacy, information security, the compliance to the government regulations. Management in organizations also need to be assured that systems work the way they expected. IS auditors play a crucial role in handling these issues. In the course “Information Systems Auditing, Controls and Assurance”, you will explore risks of information systems, and how to mitigate the risks by proper IS Controls. You will also get familiar with the IS Audit procedures and how they are applied during the IS development throughout the Systems Development Life Cycle (SDLC). Finally, you will get to observe how we can make the system changes more manageable using formal IS Management practices, such as Change Management Controls and Emergency Changes. The conversations between the course instructor - Prof. Percy Dias, and the IS auditing practitioner will give you a concrete idea on how IS auditors perform their duties, the qualities to become IS auditors and future prospects of IS auditing industry. This course is suitable for students and graduates from Information Systems, Information Technology and Computer Science, and IT practitioners who are interested to get into the IS auditing field. It is also a good starting point for learners who would like to pursue further studies for IS audit certifications – such as Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)....

Top reviews

YY

Feb 10, 2023

This course really helped me gain knowledge regarding IS audits, controls and assurance. Professors explanation was good and easily understandable. Guest interview made me acquire practical knowledge.

TA

Jul 24, 2022

Pro. Diaz has taught and enlightened me about system audit a lot, most of this information was very new to me. I felt fortunate to have a mentor like him, and like to enroll in more courses with him.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 934 Reviews for Information Systems Auditing, Controls and Assurance

By Dharmender S R

Mar 27, 2024

"Information Systems Auditing, Controls, and Assurance" is a helpful guide for understanding how to check and protect information systems. It explains things like internal controls, risk assessment, and security measures with clear examples and case studies. The book is easy to follow, making it suitable for students and professionals. It also covers new technologies and their impact on auditing, keeping readers up to date. Overall, it's a valuable resource for anyone wanting to learn about auditing information systems.

By Tony B V B

Apr 6, 2023

"El curso es interesante y muy informativo. Proporciona herramientas y conocimientos esenciales para llevar a cabo una auditoría con éxito. Es una opción muy recomendable para aquellas personas que quieran aprender a auditar de manera efectiva y obtener resultados positivos." "The course is interesting and very informative. It provides essential tools and knowledge to carry out a successful audit. It is a highly recommended option for those who want to learn how to audit effectively and achieve positive results."

By Brayden C

Jan 9, 2023

Information systems (IS) are valuable assets to businesses and are present in our daily lives.

With the latest IS technologies such as Big Data, FinTech, and Virtual Banks emerging, the public is becoming more concerned about how firms maintain system integrity, such as data privacy, information security, and compliance with government requirements. Organizational management must also be confident that systems perform as planned. IT auditors play a critical role in dealing with these concerns.

By Vijay K B

Apr 19, 2023

it was really helpful for me I've achieved many important tips in this course program, I have understood data validation and the many kinds of checks like sequence check, limit check, limit check, range check, validity check, completeness check, duplicate and many more tips that were really useful for me and help full for my future education and acknowledgment and here I want to thanks from Hong kong university that enrolled me to this program and I could earn the knowledge

By Tuyishime B

Sep 11, 2021

The course was very helpful, easy to learn but requires to give enough time,

It was a perfect match with my background education, it was just like unbelievable to be with Prof. Dias, good ideas, well prepared explanation and the last part about fintech was absolutely fantastic.

Behind every successful business, there is a strong IT Auditor/Advisor, stated by me @thx to Prof. Dias@Information Systems Auditing, Controls and Assurance.

By Sharada N

Oct 8, 2020

Very well explained on IS Audit by Prof. Dias. What I loved about the course is it has given me a better understanding about the purpose of undertaking IS Audit. Not only exams are aligned to real life scenarios, but they give insights about various concepts and terminologies for better understanding of all tasks done relating to IS audit. Be it different controls or change management.

Thank you, professor for all the insights.

By Prathamesh S K

Jun 17, 2022

The course is a brilliant starter course for someone who wants to know what is IT/IS Auditing and understand the basics/foundation of the terms that are used in the same. It also has description on SDLC, which could have been reduced and instead can put more on Controls and Audits examples. But overall its a great course and can be definitely opted if you want to get into Information Systems Auditing and Assurance.

By WAHIB H

Nov 12, 2021

Well-run course. Allows you to understand the basic principles of IS auditing. Very useful. Very well put together, clear course. Relevant exercises. Good distribution of points. Interesting, on the other hand a little too much material. Very well presented, PowerPoint helps to assimilate the material. Before class I was not particularly motivated and I found myself really enjoying the course.

By Linda C

Jan 31, 2021

The information System (IS) Auditing, Control and Assurance course has provided me a better understanding about the role of IS auditor. This short course equips me with basic knowledge on IS Audit: role of IS auditor, risks in IS, how to mitigate risks by proper IS control, how to maintain and improve system’s integrity, efficacy and effectiveness to achieve the organisation's goals.

By Jeorge R L

Sep 13, 2020

This course serves as an appropriate primer to someone who wants to learn about IS audit. I have learned a lot from this course. The topics are well discussed by Prof. Dias, with detailed explanations and very good examples that even a person without an IT background can understand. I would to thank The Hongkong University for putting this one up. More power also to Prof Dias! =)

By KOPPULA R

May 23, 2024

Overall, based on the questions provided, the course seems to offer valuable insights into IS auditing, system development, change management, and system maintenance practices. It covers essential concepts and challenges faced in the field, making it relevant and beneficial for individuals working or interested in the IT auditing and system development domains.

By Syed Z

Jan 3, 2021

It's an excellent beginner level course. Looking forward to more advanced level course in IS auditing. It will be great to have a course with some case studies of a few industries, taking the students through the whole audit process from start to finish which includes the current technologies used in auditing, generating audit reports and recommendations, etc.

By Amanpreet s

Aug 16, 2020

A really great course to kickstart your career in the field of IS/IT Auditing. Even for learning and just for the sake of up-skilling, this course is highly recommended. Request you to please put in Sarbanes Oxley Compliance with IS/IT Auditing to provide the learners gain better insights about the SOX Compliance and IS Auditing. Overall, a great experience.

By A G

Jan 21, 2023

I enjoyed this course indeed. Easy to understand and start to use it. I wish IT Audit course

had more units, to go in real details. the course structure is great and

simple to understand and actually remember it. Defiantly recommend for ppl who is working in cybersecurity field and targeting IT Auditor as a clients. You will learn about their pain points )

By kamndalira I P

Aug 23, 2020

It is one of its kind. Thanks to Professor Dias for elaborate examples and straight forward explanation of technical IS Audit jargon. As an Internal Auditor the course is very relevant to my career and profession. Thanks to Coursera for making it possible for some of us from the other globe to learn from world class professors like Garvin Percy DIAS.

By Nikkiboy D

Mar 12, 2022

IS auditing, control assurance topic is a very interesting topic because I learn about the fundamental and basic knowledge about this topic that I can use to unlock my new skills and gain knowledge that can be use as an opportunity for an additional credentials in my curicculum vitae to have a better company with a competitive job offferz

By Vida N L P

Sep 3, 2021

This course is concise and has effectively discussed important points in the basics of IS audit. The time I invested here has definitely improved my skills and gave me different perspectives in IS auditing and gave me new insights on how I can improve my current auditing practices in a financial institution. Thank you again Sir!

By Hazel J M

Jan 25, 2023

The course is informative and is very good for beginners who wants to pursue a career in IS auditing. All the topics are explained well and necessary examples are also presented well. The interview with an experienced IS auditor gives additional insights about IS audit. I would definitely recommend this course to my colleagues.

By Sandip B M

Jul 18, 2022

It is an insightful learning course to enhance the IS Audits, helps to understand the IS Audit terminologies. The course is build from a perspective that it is not mandatory to have IT knowledge as such, that means the course is designed in such a way that it helps to understand all the diversity of audiences.

By Kerrin N

Feb 8, 2024

This was an excellent intro to IS Auditing, Controls, and Assurance. Professor is an excellent teacher. I greatly appreciated the way the course was laid out and his teaching/communication style. I would definitely recommend this course if you are looking to gain a basic overview understanding of the topic.

By Daniel K A A

May 12, 2020

In my view, I think this course is a very good starting point for IS auditors. The modules that i have gone through will go a long way to equip me in undertaking some assurance audits on my company's information technology systems and softwares as well as recommend some critical controls to be implemented.

By Hemant K A

Nov 19, 2021

it is a good course. it is very helpful for me. thank to coursera for the opportunity. i am a student with a good knowledge but i haven't degree or diploma and also i belongs to a middle class family so i dont have enough money to pay for such courses.. plz help me to get success in future .. thank you

By Mattia V

May 15, 2022

A great introductory course to IS Auditing. Prof. Dias is extremely clear and tackles the main concepts effectively. In my opinion, it should be considered as an introduction to the IT world from a management perspective: a great starting point to start a more in-depth study. Absolutely recommended!

By Alfred K

Jan 17, 2023

This is a great precursor to CISA. As an experienced DBA, I am thrilled to have this introduction that will usher me to a possible world of Audit, IS Audit. I was never bored and totally engaged enough to want to complete. Definately recommend. Prof Dias very audible, quizzes very realistic.

By Mohankumar

Dec 3, 2020

Thank you very much for this course. I can able to understand learn the risk and controls that are involved in the Information System and also able to build the capability to check all the process as an IS Auditor. Now, I'm a beginner in IS Audit, Control and Assurance. Thank you Prof DIAS.