Chevron Left
Back to Financing and Investing in Infrastructure

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financing and Investing in Infrastructure by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
1,430 ratings
409 reviews

About the Course

Learn how debt and equity can be used to finance infrastructure investments and how investors approach infrastructure investments! According to the OECD, the global infrastructure investment requirement by 2030 for transport, electricity generation, transmission & distribution, and water & telecommunications totals to 71 trillion dollars. This figure represents about 3.5% of the annual World GDP from 2007 to 2030. The European Commission estimated, that by 2020, Europe will need between 1.5 - 2 trillion Euros in infrastructure investments. Between 2011 and 2020, about 500 billion Euros will be required for the implementation of the Trans-European Transport Network (TEN-T) program, 400 billion Euros for Energy distribution networks and smart grids, 200 billion Euros on Energy transmission networks and storage, and 500 billion Euros for the upgrade and construction of new power plants. An additional 38 - 58 billion Euros and 181 - 268 billion Euros in capital investment will be needed to achieve the targets set by the European Commission for broadband diffusion. Traditionally investments in infrastructure were financed using public sources. However, severe budget constraints and inefficient management of infrastructure by public entities have led to an increased involvement of private investors in the business. The course focuses on how private investors approach infrastructure projects from the standpoint of equity, debt, and hybrid instruments. The course concentrates on the practical aspects of project finance: the most frequently used financial techniques for infrastructure investments. The repeated use of real life examples and case studies will allow students to link the theoretical background to actual business practices. In the end of the course, students will be capable of analyzing a complex transaction, identifying the key elements of a deal, and suggesting proper solutions for deal structuring from a financial advisor's perspective. Course Format The course will consist of lecture videos, readings, and talks given by guest speakers. Although we do hope you will attend the entire course, it is possible to just focus on single topics. Suggested Readings The course is designed to be self-contained, there are no obligatory readings that must be acquired outside of the course. For students interested in additional study material, you may refer to: • Gatti Stefano, "Project Finance in theory and practice", Academic Press, 2nd edition, 2012....

Top reviews

SA
Dec 27, 2020

very useful course I learned a lot of things related to project finance, the instructor was good as well. I just wanted to know if there is a list of the meaning of the key words used in the course.

TG
Aug 19, 2020

I enjoyed the course. The material is well explained, good details and examples. Gives a good base of Project finance with focus on the insfrustructur phases and the relevant risks and solutions.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 402 Reviews for Financing and Investing in Infrastructure

By Riccardo R

Oct 29, 2019

Very good introduction to project finance. I would have enjoyed more detailed and complex exercises with a walkthrough on how to complete them.

Also, after the submissions of the tests, it would have been greatly useful to have a full explanation of why an answer was wrong.

By Yoshua H S

Mar 2, 2020

I pleased to this course because they have cleared explanation and simple logoc about financing and investing in finance. I just ask to update the case and give some advice about career by learnt from this course. Encourage every people to study this!

By Jamie D

Nov 19, 2020

Overall a good course and I would recommend. Since the weekly tests require you to do calculations, examples should be worked through for students e.g. calculating the LLCR. Some of the English translations were off and could be phrased better.

By Marie S K

Apr 17, 2020

Great course - I learnt a lot about project Finance. However, sometimes I am confused about the way the Professor explains topics in his use of English. Nevertheless, interesting course and fantastic way to start understanding project finance.

By Nicolas P

Apr 21, 2021

The course touches base on all key aspects of project finance for infrastructure projects. Additional chapters could be added about: risk mitigation instruments, ESG and sustainable finance frameworks, risk premium calculation, ...

By CHANDAN S

May 28, 2017

The course provides a structured and detailed orientation to project financing in infrastructure sector. The accompanied materials, quizzes, exercises help your understand and retain the basic concepts of Infrastructure financing

By Dimitris G

Nov 11, 2018

The course is simply fantastic. I gave 4 stars because it was focusing a lot on theory and the quizzes had more theoretical rather than practical exercises. But overall incredibly helpful and Professor Gatti is really good!

By Wambui W

Dec 23, 2017

The course was well structured and informative, with great case studies supplementing the information. The answers to a few of the exam questions however contradicted the course material and should be reviewed for accuracy.

By Harshil P

May 4, 2020

Overall the course was very good although some of the concepts were not 100% clear and some of the question tests were also not clear. There is small room for improvement but overall enjoyed the course and learnt alot!

By AJAY K A

Jul 9, 2020

The course is very well designed and includes latest trends in project financing. However, I would suggest to include the impact of latest trends in construction sector like BIM, Lean etc on the project financing.

By Daniel B T

Jan 26, 2019

Good course to get an initial knowledge of SPV´s and Project Finance. Too much theory about concepts and terminology. Maybe a more practical approach would make it more engaging, but still very interesting though.

By David L

Oct 28, 2018

This was a very interesting course with thoughtful materials and good pacing. There were a few glitches and some of the quizzes were strange. But I would recommend it to others interested in the topic.

By 李典霖

Feb 10, 2018

a very basic introduction to the project financing. In real world, it is much more complexing than it is presented here. Anyway, this course help me to have a whole picture about project financing.

By Vineet M

Aug 24, 2020

Concepts of project finance are explained very clearly. Focus on debt syndication and loan amortization methods is specially helpful. The course content can be updated as it is slightly old.

By pierre r

Jun 10, 2018

Manque parfois d'explication des QCM,, des vidéos plus dynamiques, pas seulement avec le professeur, mais sinon très très bon MOOC, j'ai vraiment appris beaucoup de chose. MERCI PROFESSEUR!!

By mario a v

Jul 8, 2017

Great explanations, making the concepts easy to understand and to apply. Great course to initiate with basics of Project Finance. Congratulations to Bocconi University for this course.

By sutan a m

May 17, 2019

Great material, I learned so much from the examples. Some of the reading materials are clear although some you may encounter some misspellings which may make you confused.

By Nicolas L M

Mar 6, 2017

Clear and useful.

More real study cases would have been a plus.

As the analyses of failures investments.

PFI mechanisms and impacts are not integrated. That's is missing.

By Mozharov I

Mar 18, 2017

The course offers a broad overview of project finance issues. While the materials' (video, slides) quality is outstanding, I wish the tests would be more challenging.

By Allison P

Nov 11, 2020

i have learnt a lot of things about project in fiance, especially the difference btw corporate and project finance. great foundation for the next steps

By Akshay B

Jun 11, 2017

A very good course about all the knowledge of Project Finance. Also the mentor is great and the style and presentation of the lectures are very good.

By Ayan D

Nov 18, 2019

Very well structured and smooth delivery to understand all the aspects and intricacies of Project Financing and investment in infrastructure.

By James S

Jan 15, 2021

Overall a very informative course. Sometimes the English was quite confusing . This was a problem especially on some of the quiz questions.

By Alberto N

Jun 1, 2020

Very well structured and precise. Good examples.

There are some minor typos and mistakes in the slides and the videos subtitles.

By Felipe Z

Apr 3, 2020

The lectures are very effectively communicated. It would be great to have more (complex) numerical exercises for practice.