Chevron Left
Back to Innovation Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Innovation Management by Erasmus University Rotterdam

4.7
stars
1,995 ratings

About the Course

What is innovation management? How do firms bring in new business models and get new products and services to the market? Go on a nine-week journey through innovation management concepts, theories of idea generation, selection, strategy formulation and implementation in this MOOC in Innovation Management. In it, you will also learn the tools for implementing innovation projects yourself. Guided by world-class academics, you will develop an innovative mindset and expertise in how firms successfully create new ideas for marketing new products. The syllabus also includes sessions about innovation strategy, idea management and social networks. During this course, you will learn how to: • use the main innovation management terminology and concepts • explain the adoption life cycle and innovation adoption at the individual level • define creativity and explain how creativity can be stimulated • recognise and describe three types of idea management systems • explain what an innovation strategy is and why it is important • describe what a product portfolio is • explain how innovation projects should be selected and managed • explain the importance of teams, team structures and networks for innovation. Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University (RSM) is one of Europe’s leading business schools, and ranked among the top three for research. RSM’s primary focus is on developing business leaders with international careers who carry their innovative mindset into a sustainable future. Go to www.rsm.nl for more information. This nine-week MOOC in Innovation Management is taught in English. There is no fee to participate in the programme....

Top reviews

AH

Jun 13, 2020

Um dos melhores cursos que já tive online. Boas explicações, bom exemplos, bons professores e bons temas. A sugerir e partilhar. Muito benéfico para quem quer entrar no mundo da inovação e da criação.

BP

May 13, 2020

Well organised and with a lot of commitment from the faculty. I would like to see deeper discussions on most of the topic. It felt like the faculty was trying to oversimplify ideas. Thank you

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 543 Reviews for Innovation Management

By Anna C

Jan 11, 2021

The only thing which prevented from full understanding sometimes was the accent of the speakers. It's hard to listen to guy from Italy and Turkey (i think). Subtitles can't help as well, because it's kind of Google listening and not the real text which the speaker pronounces. Please, pay attention. Thanks

By Deepanjana V

May 24, 2022

Some of the English pronumciations were difficult to understand.

Too many peer-reviewed assignments were given to review, without which could not complete the course. Not more than a maximum 3 peer reviewed assignments should be given to the course taker.

Rest it was an enriched course.

By Douglas S

Jun 14, 2022

I thought it was good but perhaps could have been condensed by a week or maybe some of the videos combined. If one has worked in a gated new product introduction process before some material is redundant. Company funding and risk aversion should also be covered in the course.

By Hugo A V M

May 12, 2020

The course is great!

The only problem is the realtion between slides and lectures. Sometimes the lecture has 10 minutes, and the presentation has 4 slides. It's never possible to review using only the presentations. Many times, the main concepts are not in the slides.

By Enrico T

Feb 26, 2023

I have found the first part of the course to be too focused only on the videos and presentations, while I think that more discussions or activities would have been helpful.

However, I have really appreciated the last weeks, as well as the peer-reviewed assignments.

By Karen C

Oct 27, 2020

I enjoyed a lot learning about Innovation Management. I liked the practical examples and the interviews shared, but I feel that some themes were a bit "weak" and not as clear as the other ones. Some of the instructors were a bit hard to follow on the explanations.

By MonaPierrette M

Oct 9, 2020

The content of the course is good. I liked best the chapter on creativity.

The slides are very very clear.

The mini test in the middle of the course are good.

But it would be good to do a more general exam with an essay and review with some professionals from RSM.

By GAA

Oct 20, 2020

In general, it was brief and to the point in terms of getting a general idea on innovation terms and methods. Additional papers to read can be suggested for each topic, more examples would help a lot. Thanks for the effort to put forward this course.

By Shin-Ing C

Sep 8, 2016

A great introduction to many important concepts in the field.

Not going deep enough into the assumptions of these concepts, why they are the dominant concepts, and what other alternative frameworks/perspectives there are. Too business-school like.

By LUO B

Oct 21, 2019

This is a very good introduction to innovation management. You will get an overview. It could be better if it provide more relevant further readings or cases, e.g. roadmapping has been mentioned several times but yet not very well elaborated.

By Christian M

May 18, 2020

Pretty interesting course, teaching the fundamentals of Innovation Management. Having some background in business administration or practical work eperience can help, but basically the course is suitable for students and professionals alike.

By Design R I a D a U

Mar 4, 2018

I really enjoy the course, which was a introduction the concept innovation and creativity management. It was technical but not feasible. Same for the amount of time I needed to invest.''Thanks to the University of Rotterdam and Coursera!

By Javier V

Nov 23, 2020

Overall an enjoyable course to take. A few english errors throughout the assignments given, which should not be there being a course approved by a university - but these are minor. A good class for a first class on innovation management.

By Dinh T N

Feb 24, 2022

Most of the course content are great, easy to understand and many example for reference.

But still need to improve some part of course content.

In General, it's a good course for Innovation Project Manager or Innovation Consultant.

By Sabrina I

Oct 20, 2020

Some speakers spoke poor English, so you sometimes had to listen to something several times before it was clear what exactly was being said. Perhaps to improve the course, include speakers who speak English clearly and well.

By George G

Nov 12, 2021

Thorough presentation and examination of innovation of change within management structure. Peer-to-peer analysis complemented boardroom exercises. Challenge was learning a new "language", the language of change management.

By Manu P

Sep 17, 2017

I have really enjoyed the learning and assignments in the course. It covers wide range for topics related to innovation and its managements. It was useful for me and I am already applying many of them on my day to day job.

By Faith U

Sep 5, 2022

It was so exciting to take this course. Shout out to all the lecturers that took each week. It was impactful. I look forward to taking more courses with coursera. I am so happy to have come across this course.

By mohammadreza h m

Apr 19, 2022

It was a really well structured, right to the point and practical course which I really enjoyed. It also kinda wrap up my 2 yeras of works at an innovation center puls adding some new insight for me.

By Thomas J

Sep 14, 2017

A lot of useful information and good interviews and presentations. I hoped for a little bit more practical tips, how to apply an innovation management system in an company. But sure, very helpful.

By Akor A

Jul 12, 2017

I loved the course. The ideas and concepts were explained using good examples. However, it was sometimes not easy to follow the lecturer because of the different accents. Otherwise, a great course

By Tamires B N O

Jun 13, 2022

Very useful approach of innovation systems and management, but I miss more examples of framework and "how to". Afterwards is a good course and it worths for learning innovation systems.

By Suhashini P

Jul 19, 2020

Good Course. My sincere thanks to all the professors. I had a great time learning the interesting concepts, reviews, related videos and interviews. Thanks again! Hope to study more.

By Jeanine

Oct 15, 2020

I think it was a very useful course. For me, week 5 was kind of unclear and the note making system did not work correctly. The entire subtitle of the video was one note.

By Varun K

Jul 4, 2017

Really concise and to the point. Bridges the gap between basic definitions and advanced concepts well. Week 4 and Week 5 need a better layout/ slightly clearer diction.